Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Like Tree28Likes

Old 01-25-2015, 09:00 PM   #7261
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nv529

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chr1s View Post
So I've been running the car for a few months and I thought would post my thoughts on avid vs stock chassis.

I ran the stock chassis for about about 2-3 months, then ran the avid for about 1.5 months. Got the car setup about as good as i could with both chassis and here's what I found.

I've found that the stock chassis allows me to carry more corner speed, accelerates faster, lands better, and has more traction(which I attribute to flex).

The avid chassis seems to mellow out the steering, and overall makes the car easier to drive but it's slower on primary track I run on. Where the avid chassis seemed to show promise was on a high grip bumpy surface where you need something that's very consistent.

I would not say this chassis is a must buy, and it might make you slower if you don't run on super high grip. I'm back to the stock chassis simply because my lap times are faster.
I found the same results. No matter what I changed, I couldn't get the same response/feel and lap times as the stock ccarbon chassis. I ended up taking the avid chassis off after 2 weeks of testing.
nv529 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2015, 09:27 PM   #7262
Tech Addict
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

I ordered some Serpent sway bars and bent/cut them to fit my car yesterday. Had our first actual race at a new indoor carpet track today and it was a disaster. The car was traction rolling like crazy compared to practice last week where I ran the stock black sway bars.