R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-05-2014, 07:49 PM   #586
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: OlyWA
Posts: 519
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

My RX8 and Pro 4 HD 3600kv (site says 3500?) will be here tomorrow. Is this too small of a kv rating on 2s for a 4wd SC?
__________________
vincit qui se vincit
gtxracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 04:17 AM   #587
Tech Elite
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 4,511
Trader Rating: 138 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gtxracer View Post
My RX8 and Pro 4 HD 3600kv (site says 3500?) will be here tomorrow. Is this too small of a kv rating on 2s for a 4wd SC?
Not at all. I race with a 3500kv in my 7 lb Rapture and have to back off the power on most tracks. You just have to gear it fairly high to find the power.
__________________
Chris Peterson drives for:
Tekin, Caster, Panther, DE, Bent Needle Paint

www.kriostasis.com
Home to the Rapture 4wd SCT, RC News, Racing Videos, and more!
Krio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 04:14 PM   #588
Tech Master
 
mojoman81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Chambersburg PA
Posts: 1,358
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

4300kv gearing for a slash 4x4 big track
__________________
Smc racing
teamtekin.com
G's RC Raceway
My awsome wife
mojoman81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 04:35 PM   #589
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: OlyWA
Posts: 519
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gtxracer View Post
My RX8 and Pro 4 HD 3600kv (site says 3500?) will be here tomorrow. Is this too small of a kv rating on 2s for a 4wd SC?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krio View Post
Not at all. I race with a 3500kv in my 7 lb Rapture and have to back off the power on most tracks. You just have to gear it fairly high to find the power.
Will it run 3s when I want to bump up? Limit the rpm with Hotwire?
__________________
vincit qui se vincit
gtxracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 04:57 PM   #590
Tech Elite
 
Hoese37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutchinson, MN
Posts: 3,072
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

The 3500 is the limit when running on 3S. Youll have to drop a couple teeth on the pinion. You cant limit RPM via Hotwire.
__________________
Tekno R/C
FTR 510 Raceway
Team FTR
Team Argus Engines USA
RW Mods
Hoese37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 05:03 PM   #591
Tech Master
 
mojoman81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Chambersburg PA
Posts: 1,358
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mojoman81 View Post
4300kv gearing for a slash 4x4 big track
?
__________________
Smc racing
teamtekin.com
G's RC Raceway
My awsome wife
mojoman81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 05:12 PM   #592
Tech Elite
 
Hoese37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutchinson, MN
Posts: 3,072
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mojoman81 View Post
4300kv gearing for a slash 4x4 big track
Start off with stock gearing. Run it for two laps then check temps.
__________________
Tekno R/C
FTR 510 Raceway
Team FTR
Team Argus Engines USA
RW Mods
Hoese37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 05:20 PM   #593
Tech Master
 
mojoman81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Chambersburg PA
Posts: 1,358
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoese37 View Post
Start off with stock gearing. Run it for two laps then check temps.
Im not trying to buy a bunch of pinions
__________________
Smc racing
teamtekin.com
G's RC Raceway
My awsome wife
mojoman81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 05:21 PM   #594
Tech Master
 
mojoman81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Chambersburg PA
Posts: 1,358
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

I ran my 5.5 trinity 550 at 17/50 , but it was a 2 pole 3750 kv .
__________________
Smc racing
teamtekin.com
G's RC Raceway
My awsome wife
mojoman81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 05:25 PM   #595
Tech Elite
 
Hoese37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutchinson, MN
Posts: 3,072
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone you run with have some you can try?
__________________
Tekno R/C
FTR 510 Raceway
Team FTR
Team Argus Engines USA
RW Mods
Hoese37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 05:29 PM   #596
Tech Master
 
mojoman81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Chambersburg PA
Posts: 1,358
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Not really the outdoor season hasn't started yet .
__________________
Smc racing
teamtekin.com
G's RC Raceway
My awsome wife
mojoman81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 05:34 PM   #597
Tech Elite
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 4,511
Trader Rating: 138 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gtxracer View Post
Will it run 3s when I want to bump up? Limit the rpm with Hotwire?
I don't think 3s is advised, but you would have to run on a 300 foot asphalt track to need more power.
__________________
Chris Peterson drives for:
Tekin, Caster, Panther, DE, Bent Needle Paint

www.kriostasis.com
Home to the Rapture 4wd SCT, RC News, Racing Videos, and more!
Krio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 06:43 AM   #598
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 8,574
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mojoman81 View Post
I ran my 5.5 trinity 550 at 17/50 , but it was a 2 pole 3750 kv .
Go up 2 teeth from there.
__________________
Something about winning attracts losers with opinions......

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,KoPropUSA,JConcepts,Avid RC,MIP,DE Racing,SikLidz
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 04:34 PM   #599
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 144
Default Gearing

So the thing to do with this motor is to use a larger pinion then what was used on the regular pro 4?
Roken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 05:02 PM   #600
Tech Champion
 
fq06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,494
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roken View Post
So the thing to do with this motor is to use a larger pinion then what was used on the regular pro 4?
By 2 teeth from what I've seen on the Tekno thread.
__________________
BCE SCT410 / Hobbywing 3656sd ~ RX8.2
DEX210 / Trinity 17.5 ~ RS.2
Westcoast Raceway (R.I.P.) | SMC | PowerLab
fq06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT -8. It is currently 08:19 AM.



SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0