R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Like Tree4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-14-2013, 07:16 PM   #661
Tech Elite
 
Grandturk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 3,485
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TCCustoms View Post
HA, unfair is @ 3:08 when he jumps the corner and lap traffic...u can even hear the crowd do the same as i did but atleast i could rewind it and look again as it was like "did my eyes deceived me" but that was just some CRAZY $hit right there. Tight line and no mistakes even with lap track for all his racing since he was never contested
Actually looked like a pretty good Main for 4wd SC on a tight indoor track. Not too much banging at all.
__________________
Your Product Name Here
Grandturk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 06:27 AM   #662
Tech Elite
 
Grandturk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 3,485
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

OK - I must be getting cabin fever or something for even considering a Titanium screw kit for the SCTE - but - who's installed the TLR Ti kit in their SCTE? Review of the screw quality, longevity, etc? Anyone?

I'm between ordering up a new set of Tonys Screws for my 2.0 build (which I used on my 1.0 and those were great screws vs the stock screws) and ordering the TLR TI kit.

I would imagine the only TI screws I wouldn't want to use would be the ones going through the chassis into the diffs as they get scraped up and worn down so I probably wouldn't bother there.
__________________
Your Product Name Here
Grandturk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 08:04 AM   #663
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,524
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grandturk View Post
OK - I must be getting cabin fever or something for even considering a Titanium screw kit for the SCTE - but - who's installed the TLR Ti kit in their SCTE? Review of the screw quality, longevity, etc? Anyone?

I'm between ordering up a new set of Tonys Screws for my 2.0 build (which I used on my 1.0 and those were great screws vs the stock screws) and ordering the TLR TI kit.

I would imagine the only TI screws I wouldn't want to use would be the ones going through the chassis into the diffs as they get scraped up and worn down so I probably wouldn't bother there.
Well, the only place I am sure you dont want to use titanium screws is on the torque rods...just not enough sheer strength.
__________________
-Ryan Dunford
Horizon Hobby Spektrum Product Manager
TLR--Spektrum--Horizon Hobby--Tekin--Venom--Pro-Line--Sticky Kicks--Bradley FLD--ImagineIt Graphics--Casper-RC.com
TLR 22 3.0, TLR 22T 2.0, TLR 22SCT 2.0, TLR TEN-SCTE 2.0, TLR 8ight-E 4.0, DX6R
hacker07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 08:49 AM   #664
Tech Elite
 
Grandturk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 3,485
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hacker07 View Post
Well, the only place I am sure you dont want to use titanium screws is on the torque rods...just not enough sheer strength.
Good point. Hadn't thought about those.
__________________
Your Product Name Here
Grandturk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 10:24 AM   #665
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 99
Default

I'm considering the titanium kit as well as I'll be saving some bucks by converting my SCTE 1 to 2. I have everything else already so I'd rather not buy a second set of electronics, etc unless I have too (still keeping an eye out for that new Pro4 motor though ).

Ryan I recall you spent quite a bit of time researching the manufacturer for the Ti screw kit. Can you comment on what grade of titanium was used?

Second time asking this one, what length sensor cable are we going to need for both 540 and 550 cans in the 2.0 default layout?

As always much appreciated!!!
__________________
| TLR SCTE 2.0 | TLR 8ight-E 3.0 | Associated TC5R |
RC-Rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 10:40 AM   #666
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,524
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC-Rick View Post
I'm considering the titanium kit as well as I'll be saving some bucks by converting my SCTE 1 to 2. I have everything else already so I'd rather not buy a second set of electronics, etc unless I have too (still keeping an eye out for that new Pro4 motor though ).

Ryan I recall you spent quite a bit of time researching the manufacturer for the Ti screw kit. Can you comment on what grade of titanium was used?

Second time asking this one, what length sensor cable are we going to need for both 540 and 550 cans in the 2.0 default layout?

As always much appreciated!!!
I think it was AL4V or soemthing like that, lol.

As for the sensor wire, I must have missed the question, like a 210-220mm sensor wire depending on the motor and esc.
__________________
-Ryan Dunford
Horizon Hobby Spektrum Product Manager
TLR--Spektrum--Horizon Hobby--Tekin--Venom--Pro-Line--Sticky Kicks--Bradley FLD--ImagineIt Graphics--Casper-RC.com
TLR 22 3.0, TLR 22T 2.0, TLR 22SCT 2.0, TLR TEN-SCTE 2.0, TLR 8ight-E 4.0, DX6R
hacker07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 12:26 PM   #667
Tech Regular
 
jayhawknavy02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 280
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Casper View Post
Only revised part I can think of that comes in the TLR kit for the 1.0 would be the towers.
Instead of the regular Aluminum caps, it would be better if they provided the Bleeder set instead.

TLR5062: Team Losi Racing Bleeder Shock Cap Set

__________________
RC8.2e, TEN-SCTE, Pro-Line Pro-2 Slash, Slash VXL 4x4, Stampede VXL 4x4 Truggy, Mini-Summit VXL 4x4, SCX10 Dingo
jayhawknavy02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 12:41 PM   #668
Tech Master
 
Dos Andos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 1,569
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grandturk View Post
OK - I must be getting cabin fever or something for even considering a Titanium screw kit for the SCTE - but - who's installed the TLR Ti kit in their SCTE? Review of the screw quality, longevity, etc? Anyone?

I'm between ordering up a new set of Tonys Screws for my 2.0 build (which I used on my 1.0 and those were great screws vs the stock screws) and ordering the TLR TI kit.

I would imagine the only TI screws I wouldn't want to use would be the ones going through the chassis into the diffs as they get scraped up and worn down so I probably wouldn't bother there.
I've done the titanium screw kit on the SCTE and as much as I like TLR and their products I would defiantly not recommend them... The drivers you'd use for the stock screws don't fit the titanium screw very well. The sizes seem to be all over the place . You'll end up constantly stripping the heads. Spend your money on tires instead
__________________
"Andy T"
www.adelaiderc.com.au - Team Driver
[email protected]
www.modelflight.com.au
*ARCR* member
Dos Andos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 01:54 PM   #669
dtr
Tech Master
 
dtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: budapest, hungary
Posts: 1,494
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hacker07 View Post
We ar enot currently planning on releasing them like this, sorry.
Too bad, would have made converting much easier. Makes it more likely that I'll have to get the comlete 2.0 instead...

Quote:
Originally Posted by jayhawknavy02 View Post
Instead of the regular Aluminum caps, it would be better if they provided the Bleeder set instead.
I think the tlr kit was upgraded to the bleeder caps at least half a year ago.
dtr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 03:29 PM   #670
Tech Master
 
maddog9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,163
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zogart View Post
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JDVT_..._WEgOA&index=7

here is a link to Last weekend Rumble in the Rockies the Ten SCTE 2.0 will be the one lapping every one.
What setup is dustin using b/c thats looks very similiar to track surface i run on?
maddog9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 09:27 PM   #671
Tech Adept
 
yz167's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Alta Loma, CA
Posts: 168
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

It seemed like most people ran 540 4 pole motors on their 1.0s. I noticed on Dustin Evans 2.0 he ran the team orion 550. Is that what Dustin always runs in his Scte? I'm hoping to get the pro4hd also but it's not yet available What motor are you guys planning on running? I also found the orion 550 on team Orion's website that says its in stock but I could not find an option to buy it. On a side note I couldn't seem to find that motor anywhere else, I'm guessing its a new release also? I already had the pro4 4600 but it wasn't for me but I might have felt different if I had my rx8 that I have now at that time.
__________________
B6D / SC10.2 / SC8E
8ight EU / 22T 2.0
D413 / SC6
yz167 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 09:55 PM   #672
Tech Prophet
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,692
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yz167 View Post
It seemed like most people ran 540 4 pole motors on their 1.0s. I noticed on Dustin Evans 2.0 he ran the team orion 550. Is that what Dustin always runs in his Scte? I'm hoping to get the pro4hd also but it's not yet available What motor are you guys planning on running? I also found the orion 550 on team Orion's website that says its in stock but I could not find an option to buy it. On a side note I couldn't seem to find that motor anywhere else, I'm guessing its a new release also? I already had the pro4 4600 but it wasn't for me but I might have felt different if I had my rx8 that I have now at that time.
Dustin runs for Orion and all they have at this time is the 550 motors. Ryan and I are running pro-4 motors with RX8's and love it. The latest Tekin software is amazing.
__________________
TLR/Losi Team Driver
TLR/Losi | Tekin | DE Racing | Spektrum | Exotek | JBRL | Kolor Koncepts | OC/RC |Sticky Kicks | Imagine It Graphics | Casper-RC.com
TLR 22 3.0, TLR 22SCT 2.0, TLR 22-4 2.0, TLR Ten-SCTE 3.0, Spektrum DX6R

WWW.CASPER-RC.COM TLR and Tekin setups
Casper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 11:06 PM   #673
Tech Elite
 
Grandturk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 3,485
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yz167 View Post
It seemed like most people ran 540 4 pole motors on their 1.0s. I noticed on Dustin Evans 2.0 he ran the team orion 550. Is that what Dustin always runs in his Scte? I'm hoping to get the pro4hd also but it's not yet available What motor are you guys planning on running? I also found the orion 550 on team Orion's website that says its in stock but I could not find an option to buy it. On a side note I couldn't seem to find that motor anywhere else, I'm guessing its a new release also? I already had the pro4 4600 but it wasn't for me but I might have felt different if I had my rx8 that I have now at that time.
I think there's a different feel from the 4-pole 540's like the Tekin Pro4 and the long can 2 pole 550's. From a feel perspective, after trying both, I went back to the 550's.

If you can, try as many motors as you can and settle with the one that feels the best and delivers the power that you need.
__________________
Your Product Name Here
Grandturk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 06:55 AM   #674
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,484
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

Pro4 for me. Ya sure i could gear and heatsink the 550 till the cows come home, But ill take the Pro4 any day over a 550.
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 07:10 AM   #675
Tech Master
 
maddog9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,163
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

What droop are you guys running now
maddog9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:07 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net