R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Like Tree4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-11-2014, 07:46 PM   #6121
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 297
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitey_Wangster View Post
Guys, I havent been on this thread in awile and was wondering if TLR makes the new coated shock shafts and hinge pins for the 2.0? Also will the new internals fit the SCTE 2.0 shocks? Thanks
Anyone?
Whitey_Wangster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 10:14 PM   #6122
Tech Elite
 
rcgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 3,045
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LosiRacer33 View Post
Anyone know if bye MIP puck inserts will fit on the stock shafts? I want to take some play out of the driveline but am not ready to put down that coin to replace working parts.
No they don't.
__________________
Dialed RC Hobbies
rcgod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 12:14 AM   #6123
Tech Apprentice
 
Mclogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 96
Default

Thanks RCGod and uclabruins89

Quote:
Originally Posted by uclabruins89 View Post
I had tekno's on both the front and the rear. They are stronger, but also much more expensive than stock losi parts to replace. I just put the stock shafts back on the rear, left the Tekno's on the front.

I love the tekno's but 2 stub axles are $18.99 vs 9.99 for stock losi axles. Same thing with outdrives and shafts, twice the price for Tekno replacement parts. Now that i've learned to drive it better, I think the Losi's should hold up fine
It's not something uncommon to happen on carpet tracks, last race had a friend with a durango pop 2 driveshafts and one center shaft.
I'm just trying to get the strongest possible parts, that I can finish the mains
Btw, it was the right outside that broke, not even the front. Normally comes from accelerating hard after jumps(or during the landing).

Thanks for your help, I will get the full Tekno set.
__________________
Yokomo B-Max4 III // B-Max2 MR
Yokomo YZ-2 << NOSRAM >>

Last edited by Mclogo; 02-12-2014 at 01:45 AM.
Mclogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 04:26 PM   #6124
Tech Master
 
DoogieLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lake Alfred, FL
Posts: 1,361
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoogieLee View Post
Does anyone have a droop measurement for the Dunford setup?
I know it says " Full plus 2 turns" but I would like an actual mm measurement if possible.
Thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainHowdyt13 View Post
I'd like to know the answer to this too. Front and rear settings.

Anyone ?
__________________
Kevin 'Doogie' Lee
--------------------------
\m/ SCTE 3.0*XB8e\m/
Qualifiers are just organized practice...
DoogieLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 05:02 PM   #6125
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 20
Default Let's Do This!

Hi all
Just got my kit and stoked to start building. Started at post one and made it to 175 so I still have some catching up to do. picked up lot of great info and tips!. I am sure I will have lots of questions which I will for search first before asking. So here's my first couple of questions. When the setup states Bump Steer Up I understand that is having the ball ends up, this is for both ends correct?
Next from what I have read the setup in the manual is a good starting point for tracks with less grip and the Dunford one is for tracks with more traction? Just trying to figure out which set up to start with
Thanks in advance
Ken
Attached Thumbnails
Official TLR TEN-SCTE 2.0 Kit Thread-image.jpg  
PYRO689 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 08:24 PM   #6126
Tech Adept
 
nEoNidas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: So Cal Baby !!!!!
Posts: 185
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default Motor question .

I was wondering if the Tekin Pro 2 5800kv is too much motor, how does it compare to the Pro4 4600? Any tips are appreciated.
__________________
"Been out the game for a few years, need a point in the right direction."
nEoNidas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 08:43 PM   #6127
Tech Addict
 
Errokk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Mckenzie, TN
Posts: 659
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nEoNidas View Post
I was wondering if the Tekin Pro 2 5800kv is too much motor, how does it compare to the Pro4 4600? Any tips are appreciated.
The Pro2 will be fast by all means! That said, it'll fall short in the torque category and the performance in general will suffer. Get either the Pro4 HD 4300 or the Pro4 4600. Just my opinion, I have the 4300 HD myself.
__________________
Love racing! I just suck at driving...
Garage:
Ten SCTE, TLR22, Xb4
Errokk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 09:01 PM   #6128
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 234
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PYRO689 View Post
Hi all
Just got my kit and stoked to start building. Started at post one and made it to 175 so I still have some catching up to do. picked up lot of great info and tips!. I am sure I will have lots of questions which I will for search first before asking. So here's my first couple of questions. When the setup states Bump Steer Up I understand that is having the ball ends up, this is for both ends correct?
Next from what I have read the setup in the manual is a good starting point for tracks with less grip and the Dunford one is for tracks with more traction? Just trying to figure out which set up to start with
Thanks in advance
Ken
Ball down inside, ball up outside… Dunfords 7/1/13 setup works good for low traction too.
potatobed409 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 09:28 PM   #6129
Tech Master
 
BmainStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: pullin in,ca.
Posts: 1,812
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitey_Wangster View Post
Anyone?
the 2.0 comes with that!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoogieLee View Post
Anyone ?
Not sure it matters,snug up the ends till they stop then unscrew 2x complete turns and You will have it!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Errokk View Post
The Pro2 will be fast by all means! That said, it'll fall short in the torque category and the performance in general will suffer. Get either the Pro4 HD 4300 or the Pro4 4600. Just my opinion, I have the 4300 HD myself.
4600 for sure the 4300 is over kill !!!!!!!!!not needed anywhere!!!unless you are Dunford LOL
__________________
Toy Car Playerz
West Coast
BmainStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 10:03 PM   #6130
Tech Prophet
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,738
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nEoNidas View Post
I was wondering if the Tekin Pro 2 5800kv is too much motor, how does it compare to the Pro4 4600? Any tips are appreciated.
Pro-2 motors don't have the torque needed for a 4wd and will not perform properly.
__________________
TLR/Losi Team Driver
TLR/Losi | Tekin | DE Racing | Spektrum | Exotek | JBRL | Kolor Koncepts | OC/RC |Sticky Kicks | Imagine It Graphics | Casper-RC.com
TLR 22 4.0 SR, TLR 22T 3.0 (laydown), TLR 22-4 2.0, Spektrum DX6R

WWW.CASPER-RC.COM TLR and Tekin setups
Casper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 10:07 PM   #6131
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 265
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I have the pro4hd 4300 and love it, have it paired with an Orion R10 for awhile and it was so sweet, now have the rx8 gen2 and still love it.

I believe the pro4hd motors are not ROAR legal (550 4 poles not legal i thought)... i could be wrong but i thought only 540 4 poles or 550 2 poles were allowed.

Just food for thought
__________________
SDRC
Associated
TLR
Tekno
uclabruins89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 10:24 PM   #6132
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NY
Posts: 533
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BmainStar View Post
4600 for sure the 4300 is over kill !!!!!!!!!
I'm confused by this. It's just a 300 kv difference isn't it? Just trying to learn. I run a 4000kv because that's what a fast guy was running when I got into offroad last year. I just run 1-2 teeth more than the 4600 guys usually. Maybe I'm doing it all wrong.
Tommygun1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 06:01 AM   #6133
Moderator
 
bds81175's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Litchfield, Minnesota
Posts: 2,744
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

You're not doing it wrong. The Pro4 4600 is a 540 size motor (shorter length) while the HD series are 550. I believe the 540 4 pole or 550 2 pole are the only legal motors for ROAR events. I've used 4000kV Tekin Pro4's and 4300kV Tekin Pro4 HD's and I would have to agree with BMain....the HD's are overkill in most hands on most tracks. From what I have seen, in this class most people are going to go faster by going slower. I'm actually considering going to a 550 2 pole to smooth out the power delivery.
__________________
Current Racers: AE B6D, Tekno SCT410, Tekno EB48.3
Full Throttle R/C Raceway www.ftrcr.com, Psycho Dog Racing Team, Team Holy Rollers - Greatest RC race team on the planet. Well, at least the team with the best sponsor.
Tekno RC
bds81175 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 08:24 AM   #6134
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 211
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bds81175 View Post
You're not doing it wrong. The Pro4 4600 is a 540 size motor (shorter length) while the HD series are 550. I believe the 540 4 pole or 550 2 pole are the only legal motors for ROAR events. I've used 4000kV Tekin Pro4's and 4300kV Tekin Pro4 HD's and I would have to agree with BMain....the HD's are overkill in most hands on most tracks. From what I have seen, in this class most people are going to go faster by going slower. I'm actually considering going to a 550 2 pole to smooth out the power delivery.
+1
__________________
TLR 8IGHT-E 4.0 -Tekin RX8 Gen2 / Tekin T8 Gen2 1900
TLR 22 3.0s -Tekin electronics--one for mod and one for stock!
BSCFlash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 09:55 AM   #6135
Tech Master
 
BlackStarRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Miramar, Florida
Posts: 1,786
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BSCFlash View Post
+1
Quick question: how do you like the 4.5t on you're scte vs the other motor?
__________________
☆ Daryl Boston | TeamBlackStarRacing |
☆ TLR | Hot Bodies | Hobbywing | Savox | MT4S | AKA | Avid |
☆ TLR 22 2.0 MM | HB D413 | Schumacher K1|
☆ Coral Springs RC Track | Mills Pond RC Track | South Florida|
BlackStarRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:59 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net