R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Like Tree4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-08-2014, 05:03 AM   #6091
Tech Apprentice
 
Mclogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 96
Default

Well I've just found out that the kit I've picked up is one of the earlier ones...
The bottom shock caps were a pain... until I searched in this thread and found out about the shrinking issues with the earlier parts. So the M2.6 screws certainly are not updated on my kit... but it actually worked well when I screwed them in each hole before building the diff.
Can the new shock bottom caps be ordered somewhere? I live in switzerland...

I've also got a problem with the motor mount as I have got 2 Orion motors (4600kv 540 VST2 4 pole and 5,5t 550 VST2 2 pole) that don't fit because of the to small size of the hole in the mount... luckily I've got a 4,5T 550 Thunder Power that I can use... but I would like to be able to use all motors... is there any fix or update/tuning option for that?

Thanks
__________________
Yokomo B-Max4 III // B-Max2 MR
Yokomo YZ-2 << NOSRAM >>
Mclogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 05:29 AM   #6092
Tech Elite
 
rcgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 3,045
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mclogo View Post
Well I've just found out that the kit I've picked up is one of the earlier ones...
The bottom shock caps were a pain... until I searched in this thread and found out about the shrinking issues with the earlier parts. So the M2.6 screws certainly are not updated on my kit... but it actually worked well when I screwed them in each hole before building the diff.
Can the new shock bottom caps be ordered somewhere? I live in switzerland...

I've also got a problem with the motor mount as I have got 2 Orion motors (4600kv 540 VST2 4 pole and 5,5t 550 VST2 2 pole) that don't fit because of the to small size of the hole in the mount... luckily I've got a 4,5T 550 Thunder Power that I can use... but I would like to be able to use all motors... is there any fix or update/tuning option for that?

Thanks
Call Horizon Hobbies and they'll send you new updated shock caps.

Get the HPI diff screws they make changing the diffs easier and don't strip out since since they use a bigger hex tool. HPIZ449.

I had to open the mount up too to clear the set screw on my pinion. A dremel or drill works great.
__________________
Dialed RC Hobbies
rcgod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 06:15 AM   #6093
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 296
Default

Guys, I havent been on this thread in awile and was wondering if TLR makes the new coated shock shafts and hinge pins for the 2.0? Also will the new internals fit the SCTE 2.0 shocks? Thanks
Whitey_Wangster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 07:54 AM   #6094
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 51
Default

Are there any aluminum front spindles available for the 2.0? This is the third one we've broke in the cold weather (indoor). On top of that, the molding of the right side top king pin keeper is terrible on the new ones and strips out; I've gone through a couple of new ones just to get the allen screw in the top hole. The bottoms ones go right in without a problem.

Last edited by ctuinstra; 02-08-2014 at 07:55 AM. Reason: bad grammar
ctuinstra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 10:32 AM   #6095
Tech Apprentice
 
Mclogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 96
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcgod View Post
Call Horizon Hobbies and they'll send you new updated shock caps.

Get the HPI diff screws they make changing the diffs easier and don't strip out since since they use a bigger hex tool. HPIZ449.

I had to open the mount up too to clear the set screw on my pinion. A dremel or drill works great.
Thanks!

But HPIZ449 are 2.5x12mm... Is M2.6 2.5mm in diameter?
__________________
Yokomo B-Max4 III // B-Max2 MR
Yokomo YZ-2 << NOSRAM >>
Mclogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 02:29 PM   #6096
Tech Elite
 
JEFFs SC10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orlandooooo, Fl
Posts: 3,847
Trader Rating: 14 (94%+)
Default

broke my rear chassis brace today. Amazing what some super glue can do , I managed to run the rest of the day LOL.

MIP braces ordered.
__________________
XRAY 2017 T4
CRC Gen X SE- 17.5 GT
Xray X12-17' GT12
check out the new 12th scale GT class! https://www.facebook.com/groups/148391312353349/
support your local tracks- Beachline Raceway-386-Full Throttle Raceway
JEFFs SC10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 06:27 PM   #6097
Tech Regular
 
lowspark's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 287
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LosiRacer33 View Post
So I've been really spending a ton of time playing around with this setup on this truck. It never hooked up like the other trucks on the track. Always too much push into the turns and oversteer on the way out. I was running bar codes soft.

Today something happened. I layed down the shocks to Front 2-outside and Rear 2-outside. Front camber link 1 and rear at 2-b. Running diffs at 5k, 5k, 5k. 2mm shim for bump steer. Front shocks at 30, rears at 25. New sticky kicked Super Soft Proline IONs.

For the first time the truck was on rails! It finally clicked. As a newbie, the truck is so much easier to drive now! Had a threat day on the tight indoor hard packed track today!

Stoked. Had to share.
Tried this set-up today and will agree my truck felt like it was on rails. The bad news, I was running a second or so off my typical pace. Tried it for my 3 qualifiers to give it a fair shake. (16/6.01 2nd qual and 16/6.0 3rd qual) Changed back to my normal set-up for my main and ran 17/6.5
(fast guys are a lap ahead of me, thats ok).

My normal set-up is the Drake set up with a couple of minor tweeks.
25w oil f/r, blue/f silver/r, diffs 5/7/3, ride ht 25f/27r.
__________________
There is a very fine line between "hobby" and "mental illness".

Tekno SCT410.3 / Tekin RX8 Gen3 / Tekin Pro-4 HD 4300 / Savox 1268 servo / Spectrum DX5R
lowspark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 11:03 PM   #6098
Tech Prophet
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,705
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowspark View Post
Tried this set-up today and will agree my truck felt like it was on rails. The bad news, I was running a second or so off my typical pace. Tried it for my 3 qualifiers to give it a fair shake. (16/6.01 2nd qual and 16/6.0 3rd qual) Changed back to my normal set-up for my main and ran 17/6.5
(fast guys are a lap ahead of me, thats ok).

My normal set-up is the Drake set up with a couple of minor tweeks.
25w oil f/r, blue/f silver/r, diffs 5/7/3, ride ht 25f/27r.
"Drake setup" Where did you find that?
__________________
TLR/Losi Team Driver
TLR/Losi | Tekin | DE Racing | Spektrum | Exotek | JBRL | Kolor Koncepts | OC/RC |Sticky Kicks | Imagine It Graphics | Casper-RC.com
TLR 22 4.0 SR, TLR 22SCT 3.0, TLR 22-4 2.0, TLR Ten-SCTE 3.0, Spektrum DX6R

WWW.CASPER-RC.COM TLR and Tekin setups
Casper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 02:07 AM   #6099
Tech Apprentice
 
Mclogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 96
Default

A question regarding the springs:

Do the normal Losi buggy springs fit the shocks?
As I'll be racing the next 4 races indoor on carpet, I would like to be able to lower the ride height to 14mm... If not I would get a new set of tuning springs and cut one coil.

thanks!
__________________
Yokomo B-Max4 III // B-Max2 MR
Yokomo YZ-2 << NOSRAM >>
Mclogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 07:01 AM   #6100
Tech Elite
 
rcgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 3,045
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mclogo View Post
A question regarding the springs:

Do the normal Losi buggy springs fit the shocks?
As I'll be racing the next 4 races indoor on carpet, I would like to be able to lower the ride height to 14mm... If not I would get a new set of tuning springs and cut one coil.

thanks!
No they don't fit. The dia is too small. Best bet is try the MIP springs or cut down losi option springs.
__________________
Dialed RC Hobbies
rcgod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 08:09 AM   #6101
Tech Apprentice
 
Mclogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 96
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcgod View Post
No they don't fit. The dia is too small. Best bet is try the MIP springs or cut down losi option springs.
Thanks!
__________________
Yokomo B-Max4 III // B-Max2 MR
Yokomo YZ-2 << NOSRAM >>
Mclogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 01:51 PM   #6102
dtr
Tech Master
 
dtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: budapest, hungary
Posts: 1,495
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mclogo View Post
As I'll be racing the next 4 races indoor on carpet, I would like to be able to lower the ride height to 14mm... If not I would get a new set of tuning springs and cut one coil.
thanks!
You could start with green front springs in the rear. The snr shock towers with the raised shock mounting holes are also great for lowering ride height.
dtr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 03:02 PM   #6103
Tech Apprentice
 
Mclogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 96
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dtr View Post
You could start with green front springs in the rear. The snr shock towers with the raised shock mounting holes are also great for lowering ride height.
I guess green front will be a little hard on the rear with medium bite carpet (the first 3 of 4 races)... but I'll try first with standard setup before cutting the option kit springs. lets see...

Thanks for helping
__________________
Yokomo B-Max4 III // B-Max2 MR
Yokomo YZ-2 << NOSRAM >>
Mclogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 05:08 PM   #6104
Tech Regular
 
lowspark's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 287
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Casper View Post
"Drake setup" Where did you find that?
Sorry for the typo, meant the current Dunford set-up... ooooops
__________________
There is a very fine line between "hobby" and "mental illness".

Tekno SCT410.3 / Tekin RX8 Gen3 / Tekin Pro-4 HD 4300 / Savox 1268 servo / Spectrum DX5R
lowspark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 05:36 PM   #6105
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5
Default

I am almost finished building my kit but I have a question. Clear grease was included with the kit and is mentioned in the pictorial legend at the beginning of the manual but all I have to do is finish the shocks and I have not used it.

I just went through the manual again and can't find where it is supposed to be used.

What is it for?
rusty123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:00 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net