R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Like Tree4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-06-2014, 09:18 AM   #5881
Tech Regular
 
xxfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orangeville Ontario
Posts: 424
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Casper View Post
We are fully aware of how spoiled we are to have such nice weather and all the great facilities we have here to race. We pay for it in housing prices though! That looks like a cool place to keep playing even if it is smaller scale stuff. Those are a ton of fun as well. You guys run Mini-8's on that track at all?
BRP sc18's.. great little pan cars that are bullet proof
xxfile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 09:59 AM   #5882
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 39
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoogieLee View Post
Any Losi 2.0 owners here that came from the Tekno?
Why did you switch and how has the Losi been compared to the Tekno?

I'm really on the fence with my Tekno right now... I had a Losi 1.0 and I would kill to have it back. The Tekno does not work for me and half the time I feel like I did when I started 3 years ago with my Slash... and the truck looks like it too.

thanks
I have both. The Tekno does turn sharper at low speed but going back and forth I definitely prefer the Losi at this point.
JS70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 06:09 PM   #5883
Tech Master
 
DoogieLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lake Alfred, FL
Posts: 1,361
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcgod View Post
I ran the 1.0 from when it came out until the tekno was available. Sold it and bought a tekno and raced it for 6 months. Tried every setup I could find, and it never felt as good to me as my hopped up 1.0
Eventually I found a decent setup of my own but the truck was good one day and crap the next. Coming from a 1.0 that I ran the same setup everywhere it got old. Also getting beat by guys that were slower than me with my 1.0 sucked and was frustrating. I tried everything, eb48 chassis, took weight off, just never felt comfortable with it for my driving style. Got a 2.0 when it came out and wished I had kept my 1.0. Didn't like the stock setup at all. Changed front springs and camber link locations and it felt at least as good as my 1.0. Now I run the Dunford setup from Casper rc website and love the truck. Better than my 1.0 and I'm super happy now. The truck is consistent and works everywhere. If you liked your 1.0 you'll love this truck.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSCFlash View Post
As what the other guys said, I could NOT get the Tekno to handle good. I had no support or help with setups, I was on an island. Now I run with a bunch of guys that run the 2.0 and we all help each other. Running the newer setup that Casper and Ryan run and the truck handles great everywhere. I picked up a second per lap with the 2.0 merely because I can drive it much harder with much more confidence.
Exactly what I needed to hear... thank you fellas for the imput.

I feel bout the same way... I have 0 confidence driving my truck now. Sometimes when I set it down, its on the money... other times, im out in left field... and its the same track!!!
My 1.0 was an OG that I went through the whole shock towers/diff pins debacle with. By the time I was done with it, I ran Dunfords last setup on it and took the front sway bar off and it didnt matter if I was high bite indoors, or loose, sandy outdoors, as long as I had the proper tires, I knew what the truck would do.
Thats half the battle there, just knowing that you're truck was good and you had confidence in it.
Looks like i'm coming back to the Losi...

Tekno SCT410 for sale or trade for Losi!!

Forgot to mention... RCGod, you sent me your Tekno setup and I tried it... I was like " how in the hell does he drive this?!?" Like I said... its goes from the penthouse to the $#ithouse... quick!!
__________________
Kevin 'Doogie' Lee
--------------------------
\m/ SCTE 3.0*XB8e\m/
Qualifiers are just organized practice...
DoogieLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 07:20 PM   #5884
Tech Elite
 
rcgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 3,045
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Sorry Doogie, that setup worked really good for me most of the time, but like you said sometimes the track would change just a little and it would go to crap. Lol. That truck frustrated the heck out of me. I would go out round 1 and set a good time and tq and round 2 it was undriveable. I have an idea what the problem is and it would be an easy fix but I won't go into it. No need to dwell on it now that I have a 2.0. :-)
__________________
Dialed RC Hobbies
rcgod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 07:26 PM   #5885
Tech Master
 
DoogieLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lake Alfred, FL
Posts: 1,361
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Yep... It was better than stock, but like you said, practice and round one it would be great, and I was feeling good about it.
Round 2 and the mains, it was a cracked out dog chasing its tail!
__________________
Kevin 'Doogie' Lee
--------------------------
\m/ SCTE 3.0*XB8e\m/
Qualifiers are just organized practice...
DoogieLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 09:02 AM   #5886
Tech Apprentice
 
Tom-sct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Middletown,CT.
Posts: 88
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Indoors set up

Hello guys.
Does anyone know where I can get the set up sheets for a indoor clay track ?
I didn't see any on. Losi site. I am looking to get dialed in a little better for indoors.

Thanks
Tom
Tom-sct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 09:19 AM   #5887
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 211
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom-sct View Post
Hello guys.
Does anyone know where I can get the set up sheets for a indoor clay track ?
I didn't see any on. Losi site. I am looking to get dialed in a little better for indoors.

Thanks
Tom
Casper and Ryan run the "latest" setup found on Casper-RC.com. Many of us use it, too. It is MONEY!

http://casper-rc.com/TLR_Ten-SCTE.htm
__________________
TLR 8IGHT-E 4.0 -Tekin RX8 Gen2 / Tekin T8 Gen2 1900
TLR 22 3.0s -Tekin electronics--one for mod and one for stock!
BSCFlash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 10:14 AM   #5888
Tech Apprentice
 
Tom-sct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Middletown,CT.
Posts: 88
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by BSCFlash View Post
Casper and Ryan run the "latest" setup found on Casper-RC.com. Many of us use it, too. It is MONEY!

http://casper-rc.com/TLR_Ten-SCTE.htm



Thanks BscFlash.
Hopefully it will cut seconds off my lap time.

Tom
Tom-sct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 05:17 PM   #5889
Tech Elite
 
JEFFs SC10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orlandooooo, Fl
Posts: 3,783
Trader Rating: 14 (94%+)
Default

Doggie you'll like the 2.0. I bought a used one off a member here and it's money.
__________________
XRAY 2017 T4
CRC Gen X SE- 17.5 GT
Xray X12-17' GT12
support your local tracks- Beachline Raceway-386-Full Throttle Raceway
JEFFs SC10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 05:22 PM   #5890
Tech Elite
 
Grandturk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 3,485
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Can anyone comment on MIP puck durability running on outdoor, blown out 1/8 tracks?
__________________
Your Product Name Here
Grandturk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 05:40 PM   #5891
Tech Master
 
BmainStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: pullin in,ca.
Posts: 1,810
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drepus View Post
xxfile,that looks like fun!
Most of the guys on the west coast know what winter is like....thats why they moved there to race!
I have seen that white cold stuff on T.V Looks gross!!Gonna head out side to BBQ WITH A COLD BEER NOW

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoogieLee View Post
Yep... It was better than stock, but like you said, practice and round one it would be great, and I was feeling good about it.
Round 2 and the mains, it was a cracked out dog chasing its tail!
The 2.0 is a little lite feeling in the tail at first,I run 5-5-5 the way around for diffs.I like the shock set up from the 1.0 still,orange and black race springs with # 3 and 4 pistons.The bump steer mod on the new set up felt a little weird to me so I only used a 1 mm shim and I run a slight toe out.Truck feels as good as the 1.0 did and better.Now the only change I make even between tracks is Tires only!!!!It rocks!!!!!
__________________
Toy Car Playerz
West Coast
BmainStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 01:37 PM   #5892
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4
Default

Starting to build my 2.0 and have a Q.
I read in earlier posts to set the servo saver wind it all the way down and back it off 3/4 turn.
My Q is, Does this mean to wind the blue adjuster on the saver all the way down to the chassis and back it off OR does this mean wind it so the spring is fully compressed then back it off?

Thanks
Steve
Bainbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 02:14 PM   #5893
Tech Regular
 
drepus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 401
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bainbo View Post
Starting to build my 2.0 and have a Q.
I read in earlier posts to set the servo saver wind it all the way down and back it off 3/4 turn.
My Q is, Does this mean to wind the blue adjuster on the saver all the way down to the chassis and back it off OR does this mean wind it so the spring is fully compressed then back it off?

Thanks
Steve
Compress the spring all the way, then back it off 3/4 turn. Use some blue threadlock to make sure it holds the setting too.
__________________
Dave Henry
TLR/Losi Team Driver,Team Horizon,Spektrum,Dynamite,JR,Nitrotane,AKA,CRC,Pinnacle Hobby, racing since '86 (at least trying!)

drepus???? it's "superd" backwards since it was taken!
drepus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 05:16 PM   #5894
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drepus View Post
Compress the spring all the way, then back it off 3/4 turn. Use some blue threadlock to make sure it holds the setting too.
thanks
Bainbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 03:26 AM   #5895
Tech Apprentice
 
Tom-sct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Middletown,CT.
Posts: 88
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default droop screws

Hey guys.
A while ago in the summer I adjusted all my droop screwed all the way out for more travel.
I am now trying to set up for indoors using Ryan Unfolds set up sheet.
I can't get my truck low enough for th 24mms of sag .
His sheets has the limiter section blank.
where do I start with this setting ?
Or does he not use them either or is my problem elsewhere ?

Thanks.
Tom
Tom-sct is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:52 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net