R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Like Tree4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-06-2013, 12:25 PM   #556
Tech Master
 
BmainStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: pullin in,ca.
Posts: 1,811
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Conti027 View Post
Are the lap times better then X?
Is Losi be better than X?
Everybody knows X is for women and children........
__________________
Toy Car Playerz
West Coast
BmainStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 12:29 PM   #557
Tech Prophet
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,664
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingdomRacer View Post
Why wasn't the difference made up in the towers? Just dont see the logic behind that, that's all.
Not sure what you mean by this. Why not lower the towers a little to get more droope? It is common for use ot add an take away small amounts of droop with the eyelets. Not sure why the towers would need to be raised or lowered?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gawith0413 View Post
Or get the AE ones. ASC91308
As Grand pointed out AE's will not work for the SCTE.
__________________
TLR/Losi Team Driver
TLR/Losi | Tekin | DE Racing | Spektrum | Exotek | JBRL | Kolor Koncepts | OC/RC |Sticky Kicks | Imagine It Graphics | Casper-RC.com
TLR 22 3.0, TLR 22SCT 2.0, TLR 22-4 2.0, TLR Ten-SCTE 3.0, Spektrum DX6R

WWW.CASPER-RC.COM TLR and Tekin setups
Casper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 01:32 PM   #558
Tech Elite
 
goehm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 2,745
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Casper View Post
Not sure what you mean by this. Why not lower the towers a little to get more droope? It is common for use ot add an take away small amounts of droop with the eyelets. Not sure why the towers would need to be raised or lowered?
I think he meant why not lower the towers instead of doing 2 turns out on the shock bottoms.

My guess is cost and part carryover between trucks. You can also screw/unscrew the bottoms to adjust length, but if you adjust via the tower you're pretty much locked in.
__________________
--GO!
Come visit G's RC Raceway / Shippensburg, PA / www.GSRC.us
goehm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 02:43 PM   #559
Tech Prophet
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,664
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by goehm View Post
I think he meant why not lower the towers instead of doing 2 turns out on the shock bottoms.

My guess is cost and part carryover between trucks. You can also screw/unscrew the bottoms to adjust length, but if you adjust via the tower you're pretty much locked in.
Yeah I guess that was kind of my point. Lowering the tower would limit uptravel as well.
__________________
TLR/Losi Team Driver
TLR/Losi | Tekin | DE Racing | Spektrum | Exotek | JBRL | Kolor Koncepts | OC/RC |Sticky Kicks | Imagine It Graphics | Casper-RC.com
TLR 22 3.0, TLR 22SCT 2.0, TLR 22-4 2.0, TLR Ten-SCTE 3.0, Spektrum DX6R

WWW.CASPER-RC.COM TLR and Tekin setups
Casper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 04:54 PM   #560
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,299
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

CASPER with the new tekin hd 4700 what pinion size are you running.
xxxtruck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 05:16 PM   #561
Tech Master
 
KingdomRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 1,482
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Yeah, I meant lowering the mounting point on the tower to compensate for the amount of loosening the shock ends.
Arrgghh, I probably still don't make sense
__________________
JESUS says, "Fix it B4 it Breaks, 'cuz a DNF is a SIN".

Alpha-RC.com/RcRenew.com/TritonRC.com
VPProUSA.com/UpGrade-RC.com/KalGard.com
Green-Gorilla.com
KingdomRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 05:17 PM   #562
Tech Elite
 
allan42r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: OSWEGO IL.
Posts: 2,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xxxtruck View Post
CASPER with the new tekin hd 4700 what pinion size are you running.
when is the hd available? might just have to try one out in a 2.0.
__________________
Pinky kisses better than mason's mom
allan42r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 05:34 PM   #563
Tech Master
 
TCCustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Central Michigan
Posts: 1,512
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

ok guys...ive had a few people asking me about what motor to use if they want to run 2s and then 3s but and wanted to know how to figure out what motor to use for their type of battery.
One wants to make a spare slash 4x4 into one of those jconcepts scalpel trucks and was trying to decide on a 7700kv motor or 2200kv motor and just wants to do fast running(speed runs type)
And the other said..."im thinking about getting the ex run tacon kit, in either 4000kv or 6000, not sure yet (my logic 6000 would be better, but i know nothing....) id like something that can handle 3s at some point."

Wanted to see if any of you know where i can send them online to do some research and think about their options...thank you guys!
__________________
1/10 Traxxas Summit Blue
Axial AX10 Scorpion * Viper VSC 240/55t combo * Hitec HS-7954SH
TCCustoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 05:46 PM   #564
Tech Prophet
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,664
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xxxtruck View Post
CASPER with the new tekin hd 4700 what pinion size are you running.
The HD motors are not out yet and I have not run one. I think the fast one is a 4300KV though. Not 100% positve on that. Either way without playing with one I can't give you an answer. Sorry.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingdomRacer View Post
Yeah, I meant lowering the mounting point on the tower to compensate for the amount of loosening the shock ends.
Arrgghh, I probably still don't make sense
Lowering the tower drops the shock and would limit the uptravel. Not something you always want. Not sure why unscrewing the eyelet a turn or two is such a big deal. It is easy to do and does not hurt anything. More then enough thread engagement still and this is a fine tuning adjustment.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TCCustoms View Post
ok guys...ive had a few people asking me about what motor to use if they want to run 2s and then 3s but and wanted to know how to figure out what motor to use for their type of battery.
One wants to make a spare slash 4x4 into one of those jconcepts scalpel trucks and was trying to decide on a 7700kv motor or 2200kv motor and just wants to do fast running(speed runs type)
And the other said..."im thinking about getting the ex run tacon kit, in either 4000kv or 6000, not sure yet (my logic 6000 would be better, but i know nothing....) id like something that can handle 3s at some point."

Wanted to see if any of you know where i can send them online to do some research and think about their options...thank you guys!
Be careful when talking about motors. You can run a lot more KV with a 2pole then you can with a 4 pole so make sure you compare apples to apples.
__________________
TLR/Losi Team Driver
TLR/Losi | Tekin | DE Racing | Spektrum | Exotek | JBRL | Kolor Koncepts | OC/RC |Sticky Kicks | Imagine It Graphics | Casper-RC.com
TLR 22 3.0, TLR 22SCT 2.0, TLR 22-4 2.0, TLR Ten-SCTE 3.0, Spektrum DX6R

WWW.CASPER-RC.COM TLR and Tekin setups
Casper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 06:00 PM   #565
Tech Master
 
TCCustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Central Michigan
Posts: 1,512
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Casper View Post
Be careful when talking about motors. You can run a lot more KV with a 2pole then you can with a 4 pole so make sure you compare apples to apples.
Correct...thats why i was wondering if anyone knew somewhere i could send them and let them do the research so when they fry their motor...its not my fault
__________________
1/10 Traxxas Summit Blue
Axial AX10 Scorpion * Viper VSC 240/55t combo * Hitec HS-7954SH
TCCustoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 07:29 PM   #566
Tech Master
 
BDRMBULLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: toronto CANADA
Posts: 1,490
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

I ran a mmm n 2200 castle in my sons old slash on 2s it was pretty fast, even faster on 3s obviously , beast even in long grass,
__________________
SCTE, DESC 410, XRAY XB4, MBX6 ECO
I hate feeling bad about feeling good about that!
Hand D Flooring
BDRMBULLY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 08:02 PM   #567
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,523
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by allan42r View Post
when is the hd available? might just have to try one out in a 2.0.
Last I heard, should be available around the same time or a little before the truck.
__________________
-Ryan Dunford
Horizon Hobby Spektrum Product Manager
TLR--Spektrum--Horizon Hobby--Tekin--Venom--Pro-Line--Sticky Kicks--Bradley FLD--ImagineIt Graphics--Casper-RC.com
TLR 22 3.0, TLR 22T 2.0, TLR 22SCT 2.0, TLR TEN-SCTE 2.0, TLR 8ight-E 4.0, DX6R
hacker07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 12:34 AM   #568
Tech Regular
 
KC10Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 298
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thecman26 View Post
Damn I get busy with school and am away for a week and I come back to find this! 37 pages of this!!!

Yep, I gotta have it!

Posted, one great 1.0 for sale...
Yeah. I just ran across this too. Was just about to buy a 1.0 for this spring!

KC10Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 01:44 AM   #569
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 230
Default

Is 2.0 towers compatible with 1.0 car?
Bigbearfin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 06:27 AM   #570
Tech Elite
 
goehm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 2,745
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigbearfin View Post
Is 2.0 towers compatible with 1.0 car?
Sure are. The new ones offer additional holes for camber adjustment, which is usable in both truck versions.
__________________
--GO!
Come visit G's RC Raceway / Shippensburg, PA / www.GSRC.us
goehm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:14 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net