R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Like Tree4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-16-2013, 05:24 PM   #5446
Tech Master
 
TCCustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Central Michigan
Posts: 1,512
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenexcelon View Post
To be clear, specifically the automatic switching.
ok, Eddomak has ya covered on that but if you want some good info here is the HW thread
__________________
1/10 Traxxas Summit Blue
Axial AX10 Scorpion * Viper VSC 240/55t combo * Hitec HS-7954SH
TCCustoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 05:41 PM   #5447
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Gray, TN
Posts: 87
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Appreciate all the help guys. One more question... Would it be beneficial to go with the Castle then or is it really not an advantage that matters?

Thanks again!

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddomak View Post
The SCT Pro automatically switches from sensored to sensorless mode in the event there is a problem detecting the sensor signal (eg broken wire, loose plug etc), and it is instantaneous.

It doesn't support what Castle calls SMART Sense, which is starting up in sensored mode at low speeds, then switching to sensorless mode for high speeds, then switching back again.
kenexcelon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 06:32 PM   #5448
Tech Elite
 
rcgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 3,045
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenexcelon View Post
Appreciate all the help guys. One more question... Would it be beneficial to go with the Castle then or is it really not an advantage that matters?

Thanks again!
The SCT pro is the way to go. I'm assuming you're talking about the mamba max pro? If so the only advantage it has over the Hobbywing is it can run on 6s. Every other category the hw is better.
__________________
Dialed RC Hobbies
rcgod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 06:59 PM   #5449
Tech Addict
 
eddomak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 531
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenexcelon View Post
Appreciate all the help guys. One more question... Would it be beneficial to go with the Castle then or is it really not an advantage that matters?

Thanks again!
Even though I have a soft spot for the Castle Creations Mamba Max Pro, I wouldn't recommend it for this application, mainly because it's BEC is too weak for the high torque servos you will be running. This often (not always) results in brown-outs, steering & ESC glitches, loss of signal etc. After that frustration then you'll want to install a capacitor or an external BEC - more wiring and soldering etc. The MMP on factory settings also tends to not give you not as much thrust up front, then gives you plenty all of a sudden. You can customise your own throttle curve using the software, but that will involve experimentation. This is my personal experience, and also shared by one of my mates on the RTR that I am helping with - we swap cars regularly at the track.

The SCT Pro is generally smoother out of the box. The BEC is strong (no more capacitor or external BEC). The fine-grained tuning options are fewer than the MMP, but then again I haven't needed them. It's chunkier and heavier, but nothing to worry about unless you want an ESC that you can re-use in a 1:10 buggy or other applications.

The other neat feature about the SCT Pro is that you plug the program box straight into the ESC at the fan port - there is no need to get into the receiver box and unplug the ESC plug from there and put in into the program card (like most other ESCs).

If you are intent on buying an MMP, then you can probably save yourself some money by going with the Losi re-branded one that is in the SCTE RTR (part #LOSB9504). They are often around $10-$20 cheaper.

Hope this helps.
Cheers!
__________________
Losi SCTE 1.0 - BCE Chassis, Hobbywing SCT Pro, Hobbywing XERUN 3656SD 4000KV, Hitech HS-7955TG
TLR 22T - Orion R10 Pro, Turnigy 10.5T 3250KV
Axial SCX10 Honcho | Traxxas Mini Summit VXL | Losi Micro Desert Truck | Tamiya Boomerang
Airtronics/Sanwa MT-4 | Flysky GT3B - Custom firmware
eddomak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 07:04 PM   #5450
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Gray, TN
Posts: 87
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Thanks tons guys. I'll be ordering a SCT-Pro combo soon and sell the motor or use it later to ugprade my Traxxas Slash to get more bashing fun out of it.

Appreciate everyone's feedback!

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddomak View Post
Even though I have a soft spot for the Castle Creations Mamba Max Pro, I wouldn't recommend it for this application, mainly because it's BEC is too weak for the high torque servos you will be running. This often (not always) results in brown-outs, steering & ESC glitches, loss of signal etc. After that frustration then you'll want to install a capacitor or an external BEC - more wiring and soldering etc. The MMP on factory settings also tends to not give you not as much thrust up front, then gives you plenty all of a sudden. You can customise your own throttle curve using the software, but that will involve experimentation. This is my personal experience, and also shared by one of my mates on the RTR that I am helping with - we swap cars regularly at the track.

The SCT Pro is generally smoother out of the box. The BEC is strong (no more capacitor or external BEC). The fine-grained tuning options are fewer than the MMP, but then again I haven't needed them. It's chunkier and heavier, but nothing to worry about unless you want an ESC that you can re-use in a 1:10 buggy or other applications.

The other neat feature about the SCT Pro is that you plug the program box straight into the ESC at the fan port - there is no need to get into the receiver box and unplug the ESC plug from there and put in into the program card (like most other ESCs).

If you are intent on buying an MMP, then you can probably save yourself some money by going with the Losi re-branded one that is in the SCTE RTR (part #LOSB9504). They are often around $10-$20 cheaper.

Hope this helps.
Cheers!
kenexcelon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 03:59 AM   #5451
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 211
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenexcelon View Post
Thanks tons guys. I'll be ordering a SCT-Pro combo soon and sell the motor or use it later to ugprade my Traxxas Slash to get more bashing fun out of it.

Appreciate everyone's feedback!
I have a month-old Tekin RX8 Gen 2 with a Tekin 4300 HD motor all wired and ready to go if you may be interested (PM me if you are interested). This will save a great deal of money, and will get you the same electronics Casper and Ryan use.
__________________
TLR 8IGHT-E 4.0 -Tekin RX8 Gen2 / Tekin T8 Gen2 1900
TLR 22 3.0s -Tekin electronics--one for mod and one for stock!

Last edited by BSCFlash; 10-17-2013 at 06:55 AM.
BSCFlash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 05:13 PM   #5452
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Gray, TN
Posts: 87
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BSCFlash View Post
I have a month-old Tekin RX8 Gen 2 with a Tekin 4300 HD motor all wired and ready to go if you may be interested (PM me if you are interested). This will save a great deal of money, and will get you the same electronics Casper and Ryan use.
PM sent BSCFlash...
kenexcelon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 09:14 PM   #5453
Tech Prophet
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,705
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Great new product for you guys to try for all your metal to metal interfaces.

http://casper-rc.com/Extreme_Grease.htm

Check it out
__________________
TLR/Losi Team Driver
TLR/Losi | Tekin | DE Racing | Spektrum | Exotek | JBRL | Kolor Koncepts | OC/RC |Sticky Kicks | Imagine It Graphics | Casper-RC.com
TLR 22 4.0 SR, TLR 22SCT 3.0, TLR 22-4 2.0, TLR Ten-SCTE 3.0, Spektrum DX6R

WWW.CASPER-RC.COM TLR and Tekin setups
Casper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 09:31 PM   #5454
Tech Adept
 
Jokermayhem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Buffalo, New York
Posts: 247
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hey Casper can you help me understand my gearing question I asked a few pages back? The Losi manual says if I'm running a 9.5T motor...which I am (Tekin Gen 2 with Gen 2 RS speedo) why the 23/78 gearing is so much different than your gearing with the 9.5T motor?
__________________
" If ur not first ur last!!! "
Jokermayhem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 10:31 PM   #5455
Tech Prophet
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,705
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jokermayhem View Post
Hey Casper can you help me understand my gearing question I asked a few pages back? The Losi manual says if I'm running a 9.5T motor...which I am (Tekin Gen 2 with Gen 2 RS speedo) why the 23/78 gearing is so much different than your gearing with the 9.5T motor?
Wrong thread but I answered it on the 22 thread.
__________________
TLR/Losi Team Driver
TLR/Losi | Tekin | DE Racing | Spektrum | Exotek | JBRL | Kolor Koncepts | OC/RC |Sticky Kicks | Imagine It Graphics | Casper-RC.com
TLR 22 4.0 SR, TLR 22SCT 3.0, TLR 22-4 2.0, TLR Ten-SCTE 3.0, Spektrum DX6R

WWW.CASPER-RC.COM TLR and Tekin setups
Casper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 06:53 AM   #5456
Tech Master
 
wittyname's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Hampton Roads
Posts: 1,886
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenexcelon View Post
Thanks tons guys. I'll be ordering a SCT-Pro combo soon and sell the motor or use it later to ugprade my Traxxas Slash to get more bashing fun out of it.

Appreciate everyone's feedback!
I dont know why you wouldnt run that brand new HW 4700 motor that comes with your new comobo , and keep that used 540 motor for something down the road. The sct pro combo has been the best money I have spent on my scte to date. I had a max pro and a pro 4 , and a Viper copperhead system, then the HW . I should have bought it from the start.
__________________
Josh W.

Don't forget ... Have fun , talk sh*$ with your buddies, and have fun.

I race so I can have people flip my car over ....
wittyname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 07:25 AM   #5457
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 72
Default

Hello,


I know this might have been asked before, but the thread is about 365 pages long...


Did someone figure a way to install the bottom shock caps without using a pair of vise grip pliers???

Mine were very hard to screw....
Maxime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 08:55 AM   #5458
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 51
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxime View Post
Hello,


I know this might have been asked before, but the thread is about 365 pages long...


Did someone figure a way to install the bottom shock caps without using a pair of vise grip pliers???

Mine were very hard to screw....
Contact Horizon Hobby and have them send you the new style caps for free - no questions asked. They are great to work with.

Horizon Hobby, Inc.
4105 Fieldstone Road
Champaign, IL 61822

Main Phone: (217) 352-1913
Toll-Free: (800) 338-4639
Support Phone: (877) 504-0233
Sales Phone: (800) 338-4639
Fax: (217) 355-1552
ctuinstra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 09:50 AM   #5459
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 72
Default

Thank you for the reply. Do you know if the bottom caps that comes with the kit that includes plastic shock tops, spring retainers, shock bottom eyelets etc. contains the new or old caps? I just bought this parts bag from the LHS and would like to make sure I'm not going to install the same defective caps...


I sent a message to Horizon.
Maxime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 11:13 AM   #5460
Tech Regular
 
Purdue Engineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 407
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Most likely they are the same tight ones. If you call Horizon they will send you a pack that has just the four new caps.
I did the same thing. I called Horizon before they new about this problem and they sent me that pack with the plastic top caps and plastic retaining rings and spring perches. They were also the small caps.
They have it figured out now so you will just get the four good bottom caps.
Purdue Engineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:23 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net