R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Like Tree4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-13-2013, 03:13 PM   #4906
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 842
Trader Rating: 37 (97%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hacker07 View Post
The issue may be the age of your Orion ESC. That esc may have older software which then faults to the sensorless mode. You have to hook it all up with their box and update the software on the esc to their 4 pole software. Then you should be good.

I do have the 4 pole firmware and have tried re downloading the firmware and everything. Still have the same issue. I use the smc 5600 70c packs and I know a bunch of other people that use the same packs without issues but they use the rx8. But I will try to see what I can do.. Anymore suggestions? Also It ran fine with a scx4 5.5t motor I used to have. I didnt have the one second loss of acceleration issue that im having now..
__________________
TLR 22 2.0
TLR 8IGHT E 3.0
charlesandstuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 03:15 PM   #4907
Tech Apprentice
 
glock man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hacker07 View Post
The issue may be the age of your Orion ESC. That esc may have older software which then faults to the sensorless mode. You have to hook it all up with their box and update the software on the esc to their 4 pole software. Then you should be good.
Hi Ryan,
I actually have the latest software installed. I can try reinstalling software but It still cuts out. I had one of your team mates drive my truck and he didn't have any problems with the power being cut.
glock man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 03:21 PM   #4908
Tech Apprentice
 
glock man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 79
Default

Hacker, when you were running the orion pro did you use drag brake in the speedo? Reason I ask is because my truck wants to nose dive right off a jump.
glock man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 03:26 PM   #4909
Tech Apprentice
 
glock man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hacker07 View Post
That is due to the esc and motor and what you are doing with the throttle, not the setup really. When you run drag brake, you HAVE to stay on the throttle or it will nose dive. Throttle and brake are how you manipulate a truck in the air. So you can stay on throttle or you can turn off drag brake.

Also, go to casper-rc.com and get the latest setup, it is even better.
I figured the drag brake was causing me to dive so quick but Could having to many vents in the Body also cause the truck to dive when air born? I should of drove it with out cutting the body first.
glock man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 03:31 PM   #4910
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,695
Trader Rating: 120 (100%+)
Default

In My experience my truck jumps better with the vent holes cut out and I have all of them cut out. Yes, your truck can nose dive with drag break but you can move the battery back to help with this or learn to drive it differently.
__________________
B6D
B64D
Tekno EB410
JoeC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 03:35 PM   #4911
Tech Prophet
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,732
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by glock man View Post
I figured the drag brake was causing me to dive so quick but Could having to many vents in the Body also cause the truck to dive when air born? I should of drove it with out cutting the body first.
this truck is not hugely effected by cutouts in the body and as JoeC stated they tyically help more then the hurt. Drag break will have a huge effect on flight for a 4wd car though.
__________________
TLR/Losi Team Driver
TLR/Losi | Tekin | DE Racing | Spektrum | Exotek | JBRL | Kolor Koncepts | OC/RC |Sticky Kicks | Imagine It Graphics | Casper-RC.com
TLR 22 4.0 SR, TLR 22T 3.0 (laydown), TLR 22-4 2.0, Spektrum DX6R

WWW.CASPER-RC.COM TLR and Tekin setups
Casper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 03:39 PM   #4912
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,527
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by charlesandstuff View Post
I do have the 4 pole firmware and have tried re downloading the firmware and everything. Still have the same issue. I use the smc 5600 70c packs and I know a bunch of other people that use the same packs without issues but they use the rx8. But I will try to see what I can do.. Anymore suggestions? Also It ran fine with a scx4 5.5t motor I used to have. I didnt have the one second loss of acceleration issue that im having now..
Well, I hate to say it but the RX8 is a very good esc and as well and you can easily sell your R10. In the meantime, unplug the sensor wire in your R10. When the R10 defaults to sensorless mode, it actually cuts the power down. So, if it is going to be there anyways, as might as well have the extra power. The other option is to try to change out the sensor board on the 4600 and see if you get one that makes your orion happy. I worked with them on the 4 pole software and they never opened things up enough to make all motors happy.
__________________
-Ryan Dunford
Horizon Hobby Spektrum Product Manager
TLR--Spektrum--Horizon Hobby--Tekin--Venom--Pro-Line--Sticky Kicks--Bradley FLD--ImagineIt Graphics--Casper-RC.com
TLR 22 3.0, TLR 22T 2.0, TLR 22SCT 2.0, TLR TEN-SCTE 2.0, TLR 8ight-E 4.0, DX6R
hacker07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 03:40 PM   #4913
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,527
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeC View Post
In My experience my truck jumps better with the vent holes cut out and I have all of them cut out. Yes, your truck can nose dive with drag break but you can move the battery back to help with this or learn to drive it differently.
Moving the battery back will drastically alter how your car works everywhere.
__________________
-Ryan Dunford
Horizon Hobby Spektrum Product Manager
TLR--Spektrum--Horizon Hobby--Tekin--Venom--Pro-Line--Sticky Kicks--Bradley FLD--ImagineIt Graphics--Casper-RC.com
TLR 22 3.0, TLR 22T 2.0, TLR 22SCT 2.0, TLR TEN-SCTE 2.0, TLR 8ight-E 4.0, DX6R
hacker07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 03:58 PM   #4914
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 54
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank L View Post
Using kyosho 4mm locknuts here and they work well. Still looking for a steel serrated lock nut. The alum ones loosen up over time.

I use the traxxas 4mm flanged surrated steel lock nuts
Jellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 05:17 PM   #4915
Tech Champion
 
XXXDad's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: West Palm Beach, Florida USA
Posts: 6,009
Trader Rating: 195 (100%+)
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by glock man View Post
Hacker, when you were running the orion pro did you use drag brake in the speedo? Reason I ask is because my truck wants to nose dive right off a jump.
Dont run drag... check the mesh of your sper gear. Make sure you have all the updated Orion 4 pole and re calibrate your Trigger.
__________________
☆ Glenn Carlson ☆☆ WPB, Florida☆

☆TLR 22B 3.0 MM ☆ 22T 2.0 MM ☆22B 2.0 MM ☆22-4 ☆ SCTE 2.0☆ ☆
XXXDad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 05:35 PM   #4916
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 842
Trader Rating: 37 (97%+)
Default

Well I double checked everything and tried like 4 different sensor wires just to rule it out and then I tried without a sensor wire and it has full power from a dead stop so maybe I just got unlucky and have a sensor board in the 4600 that the esc doesnt like or something. Even though it cogs I guess it will be better than not having any power from a dead stop. I have all the updated orion software too. Unless they just came out with new software in the past couple weeks.
__________________
TLR 22 2.0
TLR 8IGHT E 3.0
charlesandstuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 07:18 PM   #4917
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,695
Trader Rating: 120 (100%+)
Default

Hey Ryan can you please explain how the position of the battery in the 3 different positions offered effects the handling of the truck. I run mine in the rear with the setup I have and it seems to work really well. When I move it to the middle or front I seem to have a nose down issue when jumping but with it all the way back it jumps really well. Would appreciate your input. Thanks.
__________________
B6D
B64D
Tekno EB410
JoeC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 07:38 PM   #4918
Tech Apprentice
 
glock man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hacker07 View Post
Well, I hate to say it but the RX8 is a very good esc and as well and you can easily sell your R10. In the meantime, unplug the sensor wire in your R10. When the R10 defaults to sensorless mode, it actually cuts the power down. So, if it is going to be there anyways, as might as well have the extra power. The other option is to try to change out the sensor board on the 4600 and see if you get one that makes your orion happy. I worked with them on the 4 pole software and they never opened things up enough to make all motors happy.
I disabled the voltage cut off on my speedo and seems to be fixed. I cant say it is just yet. Ill keep running it and see what happens.
glock man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 08:47 PM   #4919
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 842
Trader Rating: 37 (97%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by glock man View Post
I disabled the voltage cut off on my speedo and seems to be fixed. I cant say it is just yet. Ill keep running it and see what happens.
So you fixed it by disabling the low voltage?
__________________
TLR 22 2.0
TLR 8IGHT E 3.0
charlesandstuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 09:00 PM   #4920
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 51
Default

I still think that disabling the LVC is a bad idea. That is telling you something, either the battery is not up to par or something else is going on. The LVC is there to save your battery and safety. I can see possibly turning it down, but not turning it off all together. Maybe try a different LIPO or even one with a higher C rating.
ctuinstra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:45 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net