R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Like Tree4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-01-2013, 10:23 AM   #3631
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Leominster,Ma.
Posts: 655
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RavensNightFury View Post
yeah i might get one the 4700 version ran really hot
If your 4700kv was geared 13-16 and ran hot the motor is not your problem. You need to go over your truck. I run this motor when geared 13-14 with a little timing. Which totally isn't needed but still does not get over 160.its when your geared 15-16 you wouldn't want or need timing.
__________________
* HobbyWing of N.A. * Nitrohouse *M.I.P.*Proline * Carl D. *
Losi57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 11:17 AM   #3632
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,524
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Losi57 View Post
If your 4700kv was geared 13-16 and ran hot the motor is not your problem. You need to go over your truck. I run this motor when geared 13-14 with a little timing. Which totally isn't needed but still does not get over 160.its when your geared 15-16 you wouldn't want or need timing.
While agree its always a good idea to go over your vehicle when you are having heat issues that you may or may not have had before, the difference in a drivers type can easily account for as much as 35-40 degrees as far as I have seen so something to keep in mind.
__________________
-Ryan Dunford
Horizon Hobby Spektrum Product Manager
TLR--Spektrum--Horizon Hobby--Tekin--Venom--Pro-Line--Sticky Kicks--Bradley FLD--ImagineIt Graphics--Casper-RC.com
TLR 22 3.0, TLR 22T 2.0, TLR 22SCT 2.0, TLR TEN-SCTE 2.0, TLR 8ight-E 4.0, DX6R
hacker07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 04:24 PM   #3633
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: PA
Posts: 132
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by billg1230 View Post
I will second this 100%! I have the HW 3656sd 4,000kv and it is a wonderful motor... Super smooth, powerful, and runs very cool...
I am going to have to completely agree also! I just switched to this motor and it is great! I had a Trinity 3800kv revtech in there...Cost close to a 150 bucks! I assumed I would get what I paid for; not the case It was a slow turd! So far the HW motor is better in every way!! Only like $76 bucks too!
arrtay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 06:09 AM   #3634
Tech Regular
 
xxfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orangeville Ontario
Posts: 424
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grandturk View Post
Why would you run both and switch between the two?
Our club has 6 racers all sct. We race back to back sct
While one is cooling i race the other. Usually 12 -16 packs / race day.
They both handle quite differently. 2.0 has more steering and is faster thanks to the pro 4 4600 and feels lighter in the front. Actually had to de-tune the 4600 to make it manageable on our loose outdoor track.
xxfile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 06:51 AM   #3635
Tech Elite
 
"Smiley"'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Cypress, Tx
Posts: 4,531
Trader Rating: 166 (98%+)
Default

Just a friendly reminder that Avid has the 1.3 2 Hole Piston for those of you who don't want to make your own.

http://avidrc.com/product/5/accessor...cessories.html
__________________
Vision Racing Products | Team Associated | AKA | Tekin | Sanwa | VP Powermaster Fuel | RC Concepts Engines | MIP | Avid | Boom RC Graphics | Paint By: "Smiley"

Vision Racing Products (VRP)- www.visionracingproducts.com
"Smiley" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 07:03 AM   #3636
Tech Regular
 
Cackswayn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Austin Tx.
Posts: 445
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by "Smiley" View Post
Just a friendly reminder that Avid has the 1.3 2 Hole Piston for those of you who don't want to make your own.

http://avidrc.com/product/5/accessor...cessories.html
4 in a pack?
Cackswayn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 07:07 AM   #3637
Tech Champion
 
XXXDad's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: West Palm Beach, Florida USA
Posts: 6,009
Trader Rating: 195 (100%+)
Exclamation I have them... :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by "Smiley" View Post
Just a friendly reminder that Avid has the 1.3 2 Hole Piston for those of you who don't want to make your own.

http://avidrc.com/product/5/accessor...cessories.html
I recommend them, got to use them this weekend in Coco Florida( Space Coast). Large indoor track , high grip with med size jumps.
I noticed it lands planted so you can get right back on the gas.
Was smooth over the bumps and kept my power down to the track.
Thanks for the great products Avid. I also use your pistons in my 22T (1.6 2 hole 12 mm) along with the Triad slipper. Nothing but good things to say about them! And yes 4 to a pack!
So guys pick up some 1.3 - 2 hole 12mm shock pistons for your TLR SCTE and use the latest setups to get yourself to the Front!
__________________
☆ Glenn Carlson ☆☆ WPB, Florida☆

☆TLR 22B 3.0 MM ☆ 22T 2.0 MM ☆22B 2.0 MM ☆22-4 ☆ SCTE 2.0☆ ☆
XXXDad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 03:09 PM   #3638
Tech Apprentice
 
CanadianNascar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Space
Posts: 85
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

With the Pro 4 4600 what screw size did you use ?

The supplied (smaller) screws give a bad alignment for the motor wires.
I tried the next size up & will not fit through the motor mount holes.
__________________
http://www.dorc.ca/
CanadianNascar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 03:29 PM   #3639
Tech Prophet
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,692
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadianNascar View Post
With the Pro 4 4600 what screw size did you use ?

The supplied (smaller) screws give a bad alignment for the motor wires.
I tried the next size up & will not fit through the motor mount holes.
3mm. you can clock the front cap if you need to.

Most of us run it with the tabs pretty much stright up and works fine. You should not have to change anything to do that.
__________________
TLR/Losi Team Driver
TLR/Losi | Tekin | DE Racing | Spektrum | Exotek | JBRL | Kolor Koncepts | OC/RC |Sticky Kicks | Imagine It Graphics | Casper-RC.com
TLR 22 3.0, TLR 22SCT 2.0, TLR 22-4 2.0, TLR Ten-SCTE 3.0, Spektrum DX6R

WWW.CASPER-RC.COM TLR and Tekin setups
Casper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 04:47 PM   #3640
Tech Apprentice
 
CanadianNascar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Space
Posts: 85
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Casper View Post
3mm. you can clock the front cap if you need to.

Most of us run it with the tabs pretty much stright up and works fine. You should not have to change anything to do that.
Tabs are either too close to rear shaft, or too far to the passenger side.

Never thought of clocking the cap. Doh ! Thanks..
__________________
http://www.dorc.ca/
CanadianNascar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 06:13 PM   #3641
Tech Adept
 
roberto_1029's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Philadelpgia, PA
Posts: 198
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to roberto_1029
Default

Is there anywhere to buy the screw for the shock caps separate? I've googled it with no luck.
__________________
Losi 8ight-E 2.0--Traxxas slash 4x4 Ultimate (Scalpel Build) --TLR SCTE 2.0
TLR 22SCT--TLR 22T --Axial Wraith
roberto_1029 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 07:23 PM   #3642
Tech Adept
 
cttech455's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: ct
Posts: 181
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by "Smiley" View Post
Just a friendly reminder that Avid has the 1.3 2 Hole Piston for those of you who don't want to make your own.

http://avidrc.com/product/5/accessor...cessories.html
I picked a 4 pack of these up 2 weeks ago. Great quality.
cttech455 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 12:37 AM   #3643
Tech Apprentice
 
shaner222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: victoria bc
Posts: 76
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

2.0 awesome love my truck
placed third in amain with a completely untighten steering
matter of fact almost couldnt turn at all really slow to get wheels turned
the way it sat beat the tekno by 4 laps
__________________
losi 8ight-E- 3.0 rx8 /t8 1900
tlr ten scte 2.o rx8 4 pole 4600
tlr 22 2.0 tekin rs pro/gen2 6.5t
shaner222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 07:15 AM   #3644
Tech Elite
 
rcgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 3,045
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roberto_1029 View Post
Is there anywhere to buy the screw for the shock caps separate? I've googled it with no luck.
http://www.google.com/url?q=http://w...FI8nB-8kYAPrSQ

Maybe one of the TLR guys can confirm these are the right size.
__________________
Dialed RC Hobbies
rcgod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 07:28 AM   #3645
Tech Master
 
maddog9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,163
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcgod View Post
http://www.google.com/url?q=http://w...FI8nB-8kYAPrSQ

Maybe one of the TLR guys can confirm these are the right size.
I am not a TLR guy but those are the correct screws.
maddog9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:40 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net