R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Like Tree4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-25-2013, 06:30 PM   #3556
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,231
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rifraf Send a message via Skype™ to rifraf
Default

has anyone noticed that using a TLR aluminum servo arm when you use the supplied nut and bolt through the the horn and servo link captured end that it has some slop? looks like the supplied screw is smaller in diameter than the hole in the captured in...Hope I didn't confuse anyone.lol.

Thanks for your help.
rifraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 06:38 PM   #3557
Tech Master
 
TCCustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Central Michigan
Posts: 1,512
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rifraf View Post
has anyone noticed that using a TLR aluminum servo arm when you use the supplied nut and bolt through the the horn and servo link captured end that it has some slop? looks like the supplied screw is smaller in diameter than the hole in the captured in...Hope I didn't confuse anyone.lol.

Thanks for your help.
hop on ebay and buy an extra screw kit removed from a vehicle...i do that with any RC i own so if i lose anything i always have spares

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Losi-TEN-SCT...item5d3b84461f

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Losi-Ten-SCT...item4d0bedc13b

http://www.ebay.com/itm/losi-scte-screws-hardware-/151033281559?pt=US_Radio_Control_Control_Line&hash =item232a48fc17
__________________
1/10 Traxxas Summit Blue
Axial AX10 Scorpion * Viper VSC 240/55t combo * Hitec HS-7954SH
TCCustoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 06:52 PM   #3558
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,231
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rifraf Send a message via Skype™ to rifraf
Default

Nosir,I have all the kit screws.Looks like the supplied 3mm screw is too small for the hole in the captured in on the steering link,like the hole in the rod end may be 5mm..this area has the steering slop i am referring to..
rifraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 09:14 PM   #3559
Tech Elite
 
ta_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,332
Trader Rating: 151 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rifraf View Post
Nosir,I have all the kit screws.Looks like the supplied 3mm screw is too small for the hole in the captured in on the steering link,like the hole in the rod end may be 5mm..this area has the steering slop i am referring to..
First off, there are no 3MM or 5MM screws on the SCTE - it uses American standard hardware (except in the diffs).

That said, it is possible you used a ball in the steering link meant for a 5-40 screw instead of the ones that are supposed to go in the steering link which (the balls) are meant for 4-40 screws.

The balls are the same outside diameter, so it is possible to fit the wrong ball in the steering link. But then you will find that when you use the 4-40 sized ball in the place where the 5-40 sided ball was supposed to go (because you got them mixed up), that the 5-40 screw won't fit through the ball.

This is all assuming you are talking about the link that connects the servo arm to the servo saver.
ta_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 09:28 PM   #3560
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,231
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rifraf Send a message via Skype™ to rifraf
Default

Thanks.. I did not build this truck.I will look for the for the smaller I.D.ball..
rifraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 03:44 AM   #3561
Tech Master
 
maddog9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,163
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

I was experiencing rear looseness before. I started from box stock and put 5000 in the rear diff, put 3.5 toe in the rear and red springs on the rear. Dropped a whole half second thanks to tuning advice from hacker and casper!
maddog9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 05:25 AM   #3562
Tech Elite
 
Grandturk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 3,485
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ta_man View Post
First off, there are no 3MM or 5MM screws on the SCTE - it uses American standard hardware (except in the diffs).
.
The diff screws are 1/16". If you use a 1.5mm you will strip out the screws... Which I suspect many with this problem are doing.
__________________
Your Product Name Here
Grandturk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 05:51 AM   #3563
Tech Regular
 
Purdue Engineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 407
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

The diff screws are 2.6m x 10m and use a 1/16 driver. Yeah, I don't understand those.
Purdue Engineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 07:53 AM   #3564
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,523
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drepus View Post
The post is 3mm so you could use a 3mm locknut and a large washer on the front for now and just undo the rear one to change the battery.
The battery mounts use a 5-40 thread, not a 3mm thread just to be clear so for the meantime, you can use a nut and washer but its a 5-40 one. I only ever remove one thumb screw myself which is the rear ward one. I always leave the front one on.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ta_man View Post
First off, there are no 3MM or 5MM screws on the SCTE - it uses American standard hardware (except in the diffs).

That said, it is possible you used a ball in the steering link meant for a 5-40 screw instead of the ones that are supposed to go in the steering link which (the balls) are meant for 4-40 screws.

The balls are the same outside diameter, so it is possible to fit the wrong ball in the steering link. But then you will find that when you use the 4-40 sized ball in the place where the 5-40 sided ball was supposed to go (because you got them mixed up), that the 5-40 screw won't fit through the ball.

This is all assuming you are talking about the link that connects the servo arm to the servo saver.
Maybe someone mixed up some screws. There is a 3mm screw that comes with the car but it is used to hold the servo horn in place on most metal gear servos. Thats all its for. The screw going through the servo horn and ball and held in place with a nut is a 4-40 screw.
__________________
-Ryan Dunford
Horizon Hobby Spektrum Product Manager
TLR--Spektrum--Horizon Hobby--Tekin--Venom--Pro-Line--Sticky Kicks--Bradley FLD--ImagineIt Graphics--Casper-RC.com
TLR 22 3.0, TLR 22T 2.0, TLR 22SCT 2.0, TLR TEN-SCTE 2.0, TLR 8ight-E 4.0, DX6R
hacker07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 08:44 AM   #3565
Tech Elite
 
Grandturk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 3,485
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone have a scan of the body post hole template that's included with the high performance body?
__________________
Your Product Name Here
Grandturk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 10:23 AM   #3566
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: houston
Posts: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grandturk View Post
Does anyone have a scan of the body post hole template that's included with the high performance body?
i can scan it when i get home........i didnt use it....but did make the mistake of not putting the tirese on before i made the holes..

the body needs to go pretty far forward to prevent tire rub when steering
bbond919 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 11:25 AM   #3567
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Langley, B.C.
Posts: 913
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maddog9 View Post
I was experiencing rear looseness before. I started from box stock and put 5000 in the rear diff, put 3.5 toe in the rear and red springs on the rear. Dropped a whole half second thanks to tuning advice from hacker and casper!

Thats odd, you would usually go thinner in the rear to get it to lock in.
SuperDaveNT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 11:43 AM   #3568
Tech Master
 
maddog9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,163
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperDaveNT View Post
Thats odd, you would usually go thinner in the rear to get it to lock in.
Thats what I initially thought too, but i gave it a try and it made a huge difference. I think the issue i had was spinning the rear tires on the initial punch out of the turns. But it calmed it down and allowed me to drive it nice and hard.
maddog9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 04:07 PM   #3569
Tech Master
 
BDRMBULLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: toronto CANADA
Posts: 1,490
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Stormer has pro 4 hd in stock ?:@)
__________________
SCTE, DESC 410, XRAY XB4, MBX6 ECO
I hate feeling bad about feeling good about that!
Hand D Flooring
BDRMBULLY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 04:18 PM   #3570
Tech Master
 
XRated SCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SanDiego
Posts: 1,065
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BDRMBULLY View Post
Stormer has pro 4 hd in stock ?:@)
There's a bunch on ebay as well but I don't need one YET lol
__________________
Tekno SCT410--RX8 g2/Pro4 HD4300--RP green
Associated FT T4.2--RS g2/Redline g2 17.5--RP blue
XRated SCT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:02 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net