R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Like Tree4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-28-2013, 04:24 PM   #2671
Tech Elite
 
BashemSmashem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,624
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

And your motor wires are not plugged in all the way ....... Looks nice though .....
__________________
Have you been ripped off by Brushless Hobbies ? If so go to BBB.org and file a complaint !
BashemSmashem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 04:37 PM   #2672
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando / Maitland, FL
Posts: 1,770
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to agarabaghi
Default

Nah with the nuts the right way it won't secure my battery properly.... I put a small dap of lock tite to keep it secure
agarabaghi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 05:01 PM   #2673
Tech Apprentice
 
CanadianNascar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Space
Posts: 85
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Is anyone else using loctite on the battery hold downs ?
__________________
http://www.dorc.ca/
CanadianNascar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 05:02 PM   #2674
Tech Elite
 
goehm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 2,744
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BashemSmashem View Post
And your motor wires are not plugged in all the way ....... Looks nice though .....
Believe the prongs are longer than the female end of the bullet plug. Not an ideal situation, but nothing a little heat shrink can't fix.
__________________
--GO!
Come visit G's RC Raceway / Shippensburg, PA / www.GSRC.us
goehm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 05:12 PM   #2675
Tech Elite
 
goehm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 2,744
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wyotitan View Post
well i went rounds with horizon tech.. no one has ever had this problem??.. just the 2 in wyoming i guess. was also told by tech that they dont follow rc tech much as it just a bunch a.... funny if ya want 2 talk 2 the guy that designed it this is the place... with the 2 scte they built in the tech dep. at horizon they did strip the diff. ring gear bolts and had 2 dremal them out... so if you have had problems dont feel bad the techs at horizon do 2.... so is it us them or the truck ... also side note if ya like the 22s and expect the same quality ya could be ... the scte ten comes from a dif. manufacture.. and it shows...
There's a solution out for the diff screws, it's the HPI screws. I've built three cases, two of them were very hard to get the screws in - and oddly enough the one I built last night they went in great. In either case, it wasn't such a chore to get the job done.

It's not a perfect process, but just be aware that every kit is not perfect.

The reality is that you need a little mechanical skill to be successful and consistent in this hobby. Are you really having that much of a problem with building the diffs? Or just venting?

By the way - a bolt has a nut on one end. A screw doesn't. The diff has no bolts.
http://engineerexplains.com/answr/Screw-vs-Bolt1.html
__________________
--GO!
Come visit G's RC Raceway / Shippensburg, PA / www.GSRC.us
goehm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 05:35 PM   #2676
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: PA
Posts: 132
Default

Well I got mine all built up between the last two nights. I had zero problems with the diff. screws. If no one said there was any issues with theres; I woulden't even mention that I had none! Just put a dab of the tan grease on each screw tip, and they just went right on in! LOL! The shock bottoms were a tad tight like expected. I just sprayed the threads with some (dry silicone lube.) Kinda uneventful; no big deal, no leakers, good to go! The only issue I DO HAVE is the front diff. case is rubbing in the one spot like so many others on here have mentioned! I did make sure the bearings were inserted fully!! I am undecided if I wanna pull it all apart and find out where it's hitting on the "so called high spot"; or just run the fuger!!!! and let it clear itself!....It's just the principal. Pisses me off!!!
arrtay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 05:46 PM   #2677
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando / Maitland, FL
Posts: 1,770
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to agarabaghi
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by goehm View Post
Believe the prongs are longer than the female end of the bullet plug. Not an ideal situation, but nothing a little heat shrink can't fix.
I like this guy. Any yup that is exactly it. But it works and no issues
agarabaghi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 05:51 PM   #2678
Tech Master
 
TCCustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Central Michigan
Posts: 1,512
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by arrtay View Post
The only issue I DO HAVE is the front diff. case is rubbing in the one spot like so many others on here have mentioned! I did make sure the bearings were inserted fully!! I am undecided if I wanna pull it all apart and find out where it's hitting on the "so called high spot"; or just run the fuger!!!! and let it clear itself!....It's just the principal. Pisses me off!!!
Take the diff out and set the outdrive in something and spin it and see if oyu have your screws tight to where the ring gear might not be down on the diff case or do as some and grind out the diff housing if its rubbing on that

Quote:
Originally Posted by agarabaghi View Post
I like this guy. Any yup that is exactly it. But it works and no issues
til they touch
__________________
1/10 Traxxas Summit Blue
Axial AX10 Scorpion * Viper VSC 240/55t combo * Hitec HS-7954SH
TCCustoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 05:52 PM   #2679
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: PA
Posts: 132
Default

O'yeah, and this is not my 1st, 2nd, or even 20th RC rodeo!! If it floats,flies,or drives RC been there...done that!! Haha!
arrtay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 10:04 PM   #2680
Tech Adept
 
ussprinceton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 158
Default

the stock wires soldered on the HobbyWing SCT Pro esc that came with it are 8" long. Are those long enough to reach across the 3656SD 4000kv motor, all mounted where they are supposed to be on the chassis?
ussprinceton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 10:33 PM   #2681
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ussprinceton View Post
the stock wires soldered on the HobbyWing SCT Pro esc that came with it are 8" long. Are those long enough to reach across the 3656SD 4000kv motor, all mounted where they are supposed to be on the chassis?
Yes and no. It's just long enough to use them but I would like them about .5" longer to have a little slack. Also a 200mm sensor wire isn't long enough. You will need at a minimum a 230mm sensor wire for the HW SCT PRO and 540 combo.
Maglin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 10:41 PM   #2682
Tech Master
 
Feint Motion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: So Cal IE
Posts: 1,346
Trader Rating: 24 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ussprinceton View Post
the stock wires soldered on the HobbyWing SCT Pro esc that came with it are 8" long. Are those long enough to reach across the 3656SD 4000kv motor, all mounted where they are supposed to be on the chassis?
I'd just solder some high quality wires on the SCT pro, I've have a few wires start to break, but again, I ran my truck on a 1/8th scale outdoor track.
Feint Motion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 04:42 AM   #2683
Tech Adept
 
ussprinceton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 158
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maglin View Post
Yes and no. It's just long enough to use them but I would like them about .5" longer to have a little slack. Also a 200mm sensor wire isn't long enough. You will need at a minimum a 230mm sensor wire for the HW SCT PRO and 540 combo.
is this sensor cable on eBay any good? http://www.ebay.com/itm/Speedzone-27...item43b9f8145d
ussprinceton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 04:45 AM   #2684
Tech Adept
 
ussprinceton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 158
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Feint Motion View Post
I'd just solder some high quality wires on the SCT pro, I've have a few wires start to break, but again, I ran my truck on a 1/8th scale outdoor track.
are these wires on eBay considered high quality? http://www.ebay.com/itm/171012392966...84.m1438.l2649
ussprinceton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 05:27 AM   #2685
Tech Master
 
Feint Motion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: So Cal IE
Posts: 1,346
Trader Rating: 24 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ussprinceton View Post
are these wires on eBay considered high quality? http://www.ebay.com/itm/171012392966...84.m1438.l2649
Not sure,Those should be good, since it flex wires. I use Deans Wet noodle
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...FY5_Qgodfi8AlQ
Novak wire super Flex wire is also good.
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...et-Black-Red-6
Feint Motion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:06 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net