Wiki Posts
Search

Call this a "Feasability Study" for opening a new track

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-2012, 10:19 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Lightbulb Call this a "Feasability Study" for opening a new track

Hey, everyone. My name is Rev. Damon Singleton, "thefasterpastor," and my son and I have been racing both electric offroad and electric oval for 4 years now. A little over a year ago I accepted the call to a church in Wellington, KS and moved my family the 80 miles from our previous home, which also happens to be where the closest race track is.

I will try to keep this as brief as possible while getting my point across as well. My son and I love RC racing but due to our move, we no longer have the luxury of the racetrack being a five minute drive from our home. We have been the beneficiaries of the camaraderie, goodwill, and gratious assistance that is so characteristic of RC racers and over the last year or two have been fortunate enough to "graduate" on to being able to pay some of that assistance forward. I love to see the men at the track without children match up with the children at the track without fathers. It comes second nature to so many RC racers.

My situation is that I am working toward opening an RC racetrack in our new town. While part of my motivation is selfish (not having to drive 80 miles one way to race), what I am really after in this endeavor is the mentoring of kids and teenagers that takes place every time a track is open for business.

Here is my question for all of you experienced racers: What do I need to know to open a track?