R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Like Tree45Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-29-2013, 12:09 AM   #2521
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 767
Trader Rating: 9 (91%+)
Default

Just curious, who here religiously clean and re-grease all 22 of the bearings every few weeks?

I'm so used to my past cars where the bearings are greased, having bearings with light oil now sounds like a chore I might not be able to deal with.
leongkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 12:14 AM   #2522
Tech Elite
 
Odin544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

Not me. I will run them until they feel gritty and then replace them. But I do keep my cars pretty clean to begin with.
__________________
Xray - ORCA - Avid RC - MaxFX Paint
TriCitiesRC.com
Odin544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 04:44 PM   #2523
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 156
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Im thinking about getting one, can any one tell me is it possable to jam a tekin rx8 in one of these bad boys.
billsharp34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 04:52 PM   #2524
Tech Elite
 
seth556's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 2,201
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by leongkc View Post
Just curious, who here religiously clean and re-grease all 22 of the bearings every few weeks?

I'm so used to my past cars where the bearings are greased, having bearings with light oil now sounds like a chore I might not be able to deal with.
I ran the stock bearings for a while, then just replaced them with AVID bearings and have been good since. When one gets gritty, spend $1 and get a new one.
seth556 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 04:52 PM   #2525
Tech Addict
 
Rampokker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Hawkes Bay, New Zealand
Posts: 613
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by billsharp34 View Post
Im thinking about getting one, can any one tell me is it possable to jam a tekin rx8 in one of these bad boys.
I'd have to say, NO. Can't see where you'd mount an RX8.
__________________
XRAY XB8 - Keep Off 21-4
XRAY XT9 - Elite 8 Off
XRAY XB4 - Tekin RS Pro / Fantom 6.5
Rampokker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 05:13 PM   #2526
Tech Master
 
BentKa's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by billsharp34 View Post
Im thinking about getting one, can any one tell me is it possable to jam a tekin rx8 in one of these bad boys.
Even if you could jam it in there you still wouldn't be able to fit the body.

Besides running a RX8 in one of these is beyond overkill

Bent
__________________
Xray XB4 | Xray XB2 | Xray XT2 | Xray XB8 | Xray XB8E | Xray T4 | Xray X12
Factory Team driver for:
XRAY | ORCA | JConcepts | Futaba | FX-Engines | Hudy | G-Force | Maxima Fuel
Hiro Seiko | DubiDesign | Maugrafix | YeahRacing | rcMart | LapMonitor | IB Prostart
Follow Malin on Facebook for race reports and setup tips
BentKa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 08:57 PM   #2527
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 34
Default

Rx8 may be overkill but if it fits it is cheaper than a RS pro if you can even find them.
sls7474 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 10:00 PM   #2528
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 156
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

thank you i no its over kill but i race 1/8th scale and i have a spare rx8 and would like to use it its all about saving money here
billsharp34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 10:31 PM   #2529
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: So.Cal.
Posts: 45
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

RX8 is going to be really big for this car, maybe if you use a low profile servo and put the rx on the motor side of the chassis. probably too tall to fit.
Cravin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 12:13 AM   #2530
Tech Elite
 
Odin544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

It might fit if you were to cut the plastic cage that protects the fan off. A new case isn't expensive. But it would still be tight. I have a shorty servo in mine. I will measure and see if the footprint is too big or not.
__________________
Xray - ORCA - Avid RC - MaxFX Paint
TriCitiesRC.com
Odin544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 12:30 AM   #2531
Tech Elite
 
Odin544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

If you cut the wire retainer off the chassis it should fit with the rx in its intended location depending on which rx you are running. With the Futaba R614FS I think it will fit fine. Height would be the only thing in question. Oh, and then there is wiring everything
__________________
Xray - ORCA - Avid RC - MaxFX Paint
TriCitiesRC.com
Odin544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 05:29 AM   #2532
Tech Addict
 
RX313BT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Adelaide, Australia.
Posts: 576
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gdw1963 View Post
We keep stripping the bevel gear and if not noticed (heard) in time the differential gear. The front seems to have the most problems. I set the slipper accordingly the supplemental sheets and it slips as it should (I have it's set at around 6.2mm). Motor wise i use a 5.5t motor with a 17t pinion. Mesh is setup properly and minimal.

Don't know exactly when is happens, but I think after hitting the brakes very hard, after a verry long straight.

I'm certainly not the only one, I know at least 4 or 5 people with the same problem. I also know that shimming is not the way, but as support from XRay don't answer my thread on their own forum I have no other option.

The car drives like crazy, but this keeps the fun away! I'll start with a shim behind the bevel gear (0.1mm) en on the outgoing bearings (0.1mm). This makes the mesh smaller but stil there is some play.

What are your opinions about this?
Three of us have had the same issue and myself I have stripped two now, I have cut down an 8th buggy diff shim and slid it in next to the bearing in the diff housing and diff cover to remove some of the gear mesh play, the mesh still feels a little loose but after the shiming and backing off the brakes a little so far so good.

Cheers
Scott
__________________
Adelaide RC Team Driver
WWW.ADELAIDERC.COM.AU
Xray XB9 & XT8.5, Proline, Nitro-X Fuel.
Xray XB4, Nosram, Proline.
TLR22,TLR22T Model Flight.
RX313BT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 06:44 AM   #2533
Tech Master
 
locked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,758
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I stripped a set of internals once in the rear diff before putting on the 35T v2 diff halves, but haven't stripped any since then. If I end up stripping them again, I'll probably just put in the steel internal gears from an XRAY NT1 diff. I believe they are a direct fit.
locked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 10:37 AM   #2534
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Helmond, The Netherlands
Posts: 34
Default

It good to know that i'm not alone, although i don't have any problems with the internal gears. It's only the bevel gear (I stripped one 35T diff gear though), the mesh shouldn't be that thight because higher temperatures in the diff will make the mesh tighter. That said and the comments on the XRAY forum leads me to the conclusion that they have some homework to do. Funny that they don't want to comment on it, but meanwhile the bevel gear is probably the most sold and sought after part for the XB4.

Well hope they find a proper solution... And more I hope that my ordered XB9E is problem free in the driveline....
gdw1963 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 10:55 AM   #2535
Tech Elite
 
asc6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Meridian Idaho
Posts: 3,386
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

wow, stripping a 35t ? that is such a coarse mesh I'm surprised. Even with a tight slipper that is unexpected. Keep in mind the v2 bevel gear and the v2 housing have slightly different dimensions so whether you shim or not depends on which gear and housing you are using. Also in regards to the internal NT1 metal gears they are also slightly thicker than the composite gears so again, whether or not you shim and how much depends on your exact combo. I'm still running v1 composite in the front shimmed and non shimmed metal gears in the rear, all with V1 housings.
__________________
"you reach the limit, you touch the limit, then you pass the limit, now there is a new limit"
Ayrton Senna
asc6000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EP buggies thread sim600 Malaysian R/C Racers 3586 03-30-2016 11:53 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:52 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net