R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Like Tree52Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-04-2013, 09:53 AM   #2221
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: So Cal
Posts: 44
Default

Yeah, That makes sense re: noise... I did use all the correct weight oils and Hudy graphite diff grease on the diffs... When I lift it off the ground and pull the throttle it's incredibly fast... The tires actually started to come unglued... but as soon as I set it on the ground and pull the throttle, its a dog...
__________________
Tekno EB48.2// Viper VTX8// Viper 1900kv//
Thereallion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 11:28 AM   #2222
Tech Elite
 
Odin544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thereallion View Post
Yeah, That makes sense re: noise... I did use all the correct weight oils and Hudy graphite diff grease on the diffs... When I lift it off the ground and pull the throttle it's incredibly fast... The tires actually started to come unglued... but as soon as I set it on the ground and pull the throttle, its a dog...
You mentioned you had an Orion RS pro. I assume you meant Tekin RS Pro? If you move the motor so the pinion is not in contact with the spur gear does the car roll freely? If you are running the RS Pro what are your esc settings?

I run a Tekin RS Pro and Gen2 6.5. I'm running a 21 tooth pinion. So your gearing shouldn't be that far off. But that is dictated by track size. I run on a large outdoor 1/8 scale track. That would be way too much motor on a smaller indoor track like asc6000 runs on.
__________________
Xray - ORCA - Avid RC - MaxFX Paint
TriCitiesRC.com
Odin544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 11:59 AM   #2223
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: So Cal
Posts: 44
Default

Sorry, It's a Team Orion Vortex R10 Pro Brushless ESC (160A, 2-3S). I will try to to roll it when I get home...
__________________
Tekno EB48.2// Viper VTX8// Viper 1900kv//
Thereallion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 12:39 PM   #2224
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NY
Posts: 302
Trader Rating: 31 (97%+)
Default

Hey All,

Just a couple quick questions as I start my build:
- do most use a low profile servo? or does the standard fit ok?
- does the V2 upgrade come along with the new kits now?
- any solutions to what I read about leaking shocks?
also any set up tips would be very helpful:
I will be running on a mid size indoor clay track with med. bite
i'm using a LRP Flow with a tekin Gen 2 7.5

Thanks in advance
Jay
__________________
Jason Collins
Losi 22 3.0 & 22-4
Friday night @ Island Raceway & Hobby
Jay rb5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 02:56 PM   #2225
Tech Elite
 
asc6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Meridian Idaho
Posts: 3,386
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay rb5 View Post
Hey All,

Just a couple quick questions as I start my build:
- do most use a low profile servo? or does the standard fit ok?
- does the V2 upgrade come along with the new kits now?
- any solutions to what I read about leaking shocks?
also any set up tips would be very helpful:
I will be running on a mid size indoor clay track with med. bite
i'm using a LRP Flow with a tekin Gen 2 7.5

Thanks in advance
Jay
standard servos fit fine, depends on the size of your esc/bec/rx etc (I used a full sized servo and moved it backward and still have plenty of room). The kits by now I think would have the upgrades, I'm still running 2 month old stock pieces. The shocks need to seat in, or add o-rings. Box setup is a good start. or the link to petit setups I posted earlier. Get it, run it, love it.
__________________
"you reach the limit, you touch the limit, then you pass the limit, now there is a new limit"
Ayrton Senna
asc6000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 03:05 PM   #2226
Tech Elite
 
asc6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Meridian Idaho
Posts: 3,386
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Odin544 View Post
That would be way too much motor on a smaller indoor track like asc6000 runs on.
Our track is 65x75, I like a little less motor, always have. When racing of course, when running for fun (on a track) I love to power up and air it out. This car especially seems to like it.
__________________
"you reach the limit, you touch the limit, then you pass the limit, now there is a new limit"
Ayrton Senna
asc6000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 06:29 PM   #2227
Tech Elite
 
nerdling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 2,847
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asc6000 View Post
The shocks need to seat in, or add o-rings.
Where do you add the o-rings? I'm getting a lot of discharge between the cap and the body. This rebuild I've done the shocks up extra tight, if this does not work I'm thinking of trying the diagrams from the T4 Shocks.
__________________
--XRAY--NOSRAM--PROTOFORM--MUCHMORE--
www.teamxray.com -- www.hudy.net -- www.hobbyexpress.com.au
nerdling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 06:52 PM   #2228
Tech Elite
 
Odin544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nerdling View Post
Where do you add the o-rings? I'm getting a lot of discharge between the cap and the body. This rebuild I've done the shocks up extra tight, if this does not work I'm thinking of trying the diagrams from the T4 Shocks.
http://www.teamxray.com/xb4/download..._press_v02.pdf

see the second page.
__________________
Xray - ORCA - Avid RC - MaxFX Paint
TriCitiesRC.com
Odin544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 09:34 PM   #2229
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: So Cal
Posts: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Odin544 View Post
You mentioned you had an Orion RS pro. I assume you meant Tekin RS Pro? If you move the motor so the pinion is not in contact with the spur gear does the car roll freely? If you are running the RS Pro what are your esc settings?

I run a Tekin RS Pro and Gen2 6.5. I'm running a 21 tooth pinion. So your gearing shouldn't be that far off. But that is dictated by track size. I run on a large outdoor 1/8 scale track. That would be way too much motor on a smaller indoor track like asc6000 runs on.
When I move the pinion away from the spur the car rolls freely... I backed off considerably on the slipper clutch. I did it the way thats directed in the manual but i doesn't appear to be doing anything, in other words the spring seems to be the same distance as when I built it 5.5 mm.
__________________
Tekno EB48.2// Viper VTX8// Viper 1900kv//
Thereallion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 10:08 PM   #2230
Tech Elite
 
aloksatoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: N California
Posts: 3,099
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Will the kyosho/TLR/AE big bore pistons directly fit? I want to try out the 1.6 and 1.7 mm 2 hole pistons on many setup sheets. I really don't want to drill out my own ones would prefer factory. I think avid was about to release a set for the xb4 any ETA on that?
__________________
MP9 TKI3 | ZX6 | RB6 | MBX7r Eco
aloksatoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 10:56 PM   #2231
Tech Master
 
silvalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,545
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

The K pistons are too thick. Not sure about the others.
__________________
2013 QLD Champion Potato Sack Racer
silvalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 11:07 PM   #2232
Tech Elite
 
aloksatoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: N California
Posts: 3,099
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silvalis View Post
The K pistons are too thick. Not sure about the others.
Thanks. What about the tapered gheas
__________________
MP9 TKI3 | ZX6 | RB6 | MBX7r Eco
aloksatoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 11:16 PM   #2233
Tech Master
 
silvalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,545
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Not sure, never tried em. The Avid and K 5H BB pistons need to be about half a mm thinner so you can get the c-clip on. If the Gheas are the same thickness...
__________________
2013 QLD Champion Potato Sack Racer
silvalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 08:14 AM   #2234
Tech Elite
 
aloksatoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: N California
Posts: 3,099
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silvalis View Post
Not sure, never tried em. The Avid and K 5H BB pistons need to be about half a mm thinner so you can get the c-clip on. If the Gheas are the same thickness...
cool thanks guess I have to get the drill bits out on my piston tree from xray
__________________
MP9 TKI3 | ZX6 | RB6 | MBX7r Eco
aloksatoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 09:42 AM   #2235
Tech Master
 
locked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,758
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay rb5 View Post
Hey All,

Just a couple quick questions as I start my build:
- do most use a low profile servo? or does the standard fit ok?
- does the V2 upgrade come along with the new kits now?
- any solutions to what I read about leaking shocks?
also any set up tips would be very helpful:
I will be running on a mid size indoor clay track with med. bite
i'm using a LRP Flow with a tekin Gen 2 7.5

Thanks in advance
Jay
I'm using a Savox 1251MG low profile servo in my car. Works fine so far.

To Thereallion. I'm also running an Orion R10 ESC and a 6.5 motor (mine is a ReVtech) I believe I have a 21 tooth pinion on it as well. No issues with speed. If anything, it might be a tad too fast Anyway, maybe there's an issue with your sensor wire? Try a different one. If it's still an issue, try plugging into the other sensor port on the ESC. If it's still an issue, try another motor. Maybe you got a lemon. One of my 5.5 motors has the weakest rotor I've ever felt. I have an 8.5 that is much faster than that 5.5. I'd also try re-calibrating the ESC.
locked is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EP buggies thread sim600 Malaysian R/C Racers 3586 03-31-2016 12:53 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:13 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net