Community
Wiki Posts
Search

need help with slash shocks

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2012, 05:23 PM
Tech Rookie

Default need help with slash shocks

i know that this is probably going to get deleted but i'm new to the hobby and i need some help.

i recently rebuilt the rear shocks on my slash (2wd base model) and drained the shock fluid and replaced with 30 wt. fluid and then put the shock back together. i installed them and pushed down to see how they were and they did not bounce back up. do i have to thin of a fluid? or is it time to upgrade to new shocks already?

i appreciate any help.

thanks!
Old 10-18-2012, 06:30 PM
Tech Rookie

Originally Posted by buckeyerocker
i know that this is probably going to get deleted but i'm new to the hobby and i need some help.

i recently rebuilt the rear shocks on my slash (2wd base model) and drained the shock fluid and replaced with 30 wt. fluid and then put the shock back together. i installed them and pushed down to see how they were and they did not bounce back up. do i have to thin of a fluid? or is it time to upgrade to new shocks already?

i appreciate any help.

thanks!

hey buckey the 30wt oil is fair for slash 2wd. when i started changing oil i found this video very helpful to your problem. hope it helps you out
Old 10-18-2012, 06:45 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)

I think previous post forgot to attach the video. however if the shocks don't reboud, you don't have enough oil in them and maybe didn't get the air bubbles bled out. Also did you check the seals that are in side the screw on cap on the bottom of the shock. If these are dried out, they may need some oil on them or replaced. If dry, they will drag the shock shaft and it will not push back smoothly and sometimes not all the way.
Old 10-18-2012, 07:54 PM
Tech Rookie