Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Tuned Pipe ?

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2005, 07:26 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Tuned Pipe ?

I am looking to buy a a new pipe for my swift buggy (dented the stock one). I mainly run on a short to medium size course with friends but would like to get into real racing soon . I like the jammin I-II pipes with the reinforced stinger.Can someone tell me will a high torqe pipe kill my bottom end speed and vice-versa. I am not sure how much difference there is between the two.
Old 02-17-2005, 08:56 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

from my understanding a shorter pipe is a torque pipe. better bottem end but top speed suffers a bit. better for short technical tracks where you need too get going fast. longer pipe means more top end but you lose a little on your get up and go. if you are new to 1/8th scale then it probably wouldnt make that much of a diff to you. as i am relatively new to the competitive 1/8th scale scene. in other words i am no where near as fast as some of the guys. i would reccomend something like the jammin pipe. it will fare better for you when the fast guys hit you when your trying to gwet out of the way. i should have got one of those as my 100 dollar rb pipe is now dented and had the stinger pushed flat against the pipe. still works but doesnt look as nice. also the reinforced stinger could save you a flame out and a losss of position and possible trophy or good finish
Old 02-17-2005, 09:04 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)

here is some general info I found on the net about tuned pipes.

Q. If 063 is for low end torque, and 086 is for the high end, clue me in on what the in-line restrictors that take the place of the coupler do-is this just a way to fine tune your pipe by lenght or hole diameter?