Community
Wiki Posts
Search

SC10 4x4 extended chassis

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2012, 12:16 AM
Tech Rookie

Lightbulb SC10 4x4 extended chassis

So I was searching to see if anyone made an extended chassis for the 4x4 and have not found any. I've seen ones for buggies, but not short course trucks. I work in the engineering field and have many contacts for injection molding, so I am planning on designing my own kit to sell (length TBD). The kit would include the extended chassis plate, belt, belt covers, foam piece for battery, and any other needed components.

I have two questions:
1) Is anyone interested in one or looking for the same thing (this will determine if I go through with it)
2) Does anyone know the max wheelbase for shortcourse truck allowed in ROAR/IFMAR (if there are any). I looked through the rules and saw specifications for buggy and trucks, but nothing specifically stated short course. I figured if I'm going to make one, I'll make it ROAR/IFMAR legal.

If I do end up starting an operation to have these manufactured, I would like to start making others. Are there any parts for racing that you know alot of people are looking for/wanting?

Thanks
Old 03-15-2012, 01:20 PM
Tech Legend

Trader Rating: 294 (100%+)

I think something people would want right now would be higher rate springs. Not sure if you can make that, but it something desired.

You could also do a machined chassis in stock length that is made to better accept a stick pack down the center. that is one of the hot mods for people who chose to use stick packs.

Someone also mentioned a machined front chassis, heck, maybe all three pieces.
Old 03-15-2012, 02:13 PM
Tech Initiate

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Wheel base (Both) Minimum 320mm (12.59 in) :: Maximum 335mm (13.19 in)

Overall Length Minimum 540mm (21.25 in) :: Maximum 568mm (22.36 in)
Overall Length (Expert Open 4x4) Minimum 511mm (20.10 in) :: Maximum 568mm (22.36 in)