Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Helion Dominus SC10 - New to RCs

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2011, 06:10 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Helion Dominus SC10 - New to RCs

I'm brand new to RCs, and actually bought the Helion Dominus for my 6 year old son. I have a few questions I hope some of you experts can help w/:

1. Where's a good place to learn the basics on electric RC Cars/Trucks/Buggeys?

2. I think stock, this truck will be fine for my 6 year old, but if I want to get a better battery, or a better charger, what would you suggest? What specs does one look for for these items?

3. If down the road I want to add power / speed to this truck, what upgrades do you suggest? I hear upgrading the power system to a brushless motor would do the trick? Does a stronger battery help too? What is an affordable brushless motor system for this truck? What specs do I look for to make sure it'll fit?

4. What are some basic, cheap upgrades you all would suggest a month or so down the road?

Thank you in advance for your help.
Old 01-02-2012, 09:33 PM
Tech Initiate

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Helion Dominus

I might be able to help you out. Some good places for help is obviously Hobbytown for technical help, but for driving I built a track in a dirt field and I usually set up cones in my street. A good magazine or iPhone app is RC Car Action that has good tips.

As far as batteries, you want NiMh or NiCd for a brushed setup, becasue lipo can either smoke a brushed motor or it will drain the lipo so bad it ruins the lipo without a low-voltage cuttoff. You want the perfect balance between mAh, which is basically how long a battery lasts, and cells or voltage, which is power. So I would recommend a 7-cell NiMh battery with 5000 mAh. The bigger the battery,the bigger the price, so you get what you pay for.