Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Battey Woes -  Anyone help >

Battey Woes - Anyone help

Battey Woes - Anyone help

Old 12-14-2011, 11:43 PM
Tech Rookie

Angry Battey Woes - Anyone help

I am a complete newbee to RC cars. I brought a Turnigy Hardcase Lipo Battery | 7.4v | 6000 | 25C of an online retailer here in New Zealand.

I told the vendor that I was a newbee. He recommended this battery and also that I buy a ICharger 30amp unit from hima as well. I found the same charger on the internet brand new for almost half the cost but thought that I had better buy the battey from him.

I charged it as per his instructions using the balanced charger lead and temp probe. There was no issue charging it within a little over an hour at a 6amp charge rate on the lipo setting of the charger.

Everything was fine. The battery was fantastic. I ran it in the bugggy until I noticed the performance starting to decline. The vendor had told me not to run them totally flat.

After the first use I noticed a gray powder has 'splattered' over the hard case. Looked as if it had fizzed out of the battery but nothing too serious.

Since then I have charged it a total of 6 times. On the last outing after I had finished I noticed that the hard case seam had split. There was no other explanation other than the battery had swelled and forced the case open from within.

Anyway I contacted the vendor who right from the outset started accusing me of abusing the battery and told me the only way for the battery to swell was due to my neglect.

I explained to him the exact usage of the battery and tried to convince him that I had not abused it in any way. I asked him what constituted abuse but in return got a whole swag of vague technical gargon that was not in any way specific to real world use.