Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Help me to choose! Please!!!

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2005, 09:25 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Help me to choose! Please!!!

I’m interested to get a buggy / truck and I’m a rookie.

To help you understand my needs I have to say that I don’t have much time to spend and I will not race to any official event besides for fun if I find others with the same RC here in Greece.
I will use it mostly summer or weekends outside my house. I don’t want to spend a lot for start but I would like also not to spend more later to fix a cheap build RC.

I’m looking to
1) Team Associated RC10GT
2) TRAXXAS nitro rustler 2.5
3) TRAXXAS Nitro Sport SE
4) TAMIYA RC GP RTR Nitro Thunder
5) KYOSHO Inferno MP-7.5 Sports RTR
6) Add your opinion.

Someone said me that some brands like Tamiya and Kyosho are low end in general with less adjustments and if I would like to involve more seriously at the future I should go to a brand that make mostly race category cars …. Also that if I get a good RC I will have cheaper parts and mostly I will use whatever part I like with no brand restrictions.
Is that correct? He said that kyosho makes also some good but he suggested to go to a more race specialized maker.( He said that for the lower cost category RTR).
I ‘m looking more seriously the 1/10 category because I want to keep the cost down but I’m not sure that it works that way.
I reading a lot about gears ,metallic ball bearings ,one vs two speed ,2WD vs 4WD and Pull Start or Non Pull Start Engine?
I also want someone to explain me what’s the difference between the trucks and the buggy’s except the exterior cover.

I’m lost …
Thanks
armaco

p.s.
Please if you willing to help and write me some kind words please explain me why…
I think that’s the better way for you to help and for me to learn.
Old 02-02-2005, 06:42 PM
TCR
Tech Addict

Default Re: Help me to choose! Please!!!

Originally posted by armaco
I’m interested to get a buggy / truck and I’m a rookie.

I’m looking to