Wiki Posts
Search

discharging lipos?

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-2011, 11:43 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default discharging lipos?

ive never discharged my cheap nimh packs because they were throw aways in my eyes with a lipo upgrade in the future. i now have 4 lipos and a charger and want to know if discharging is necessary and what benifits it has?

thanks, im new to electric rc
Old 03-29-2011, 12:45 PM
Tech Initiate

No No No, if you discharge they'll be gone. Just keep them at about 3.8V for cell for long term storage. you can keep them fully charged for about a week with no harm.

One important note, when you charge, make sure you charge in a rate no higher than what the battery can take. If you don't know, charge at 1C. This is the math:

mAh of the battery / 1000 = 1C.
So for a 5000 mAh battery - 5000/1000 = 5 - you charge at 5A for 1C. 10A for 2C and so on and on...

If you charge it at the rate higher than it can take, you are looking at a nice little fire.
Old 03-29-2011, 01:01 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)

Well, most of what he just said is true, but most lipo chargers have a discharge mode which brings them to a safe level for longer term storage.
Old 03-29-2011, 02:36 PM
Tech Apprentice

what about chargers that dont have balanacers built in?? What do you recommend for a balancer?
Old 03-30-2011, 12:06 AM
Tech Initiate

Originally Posted by lowroad
Well, most of what he just said is true, but most lipo chargers have a discharge mode which brings them to a safe level for longer term storage.
I use the very cheap and good Turnigy Accucel-6 50W 6A Balancer/Charger and there is a storage function built in. It's a fantastic charger, but a bit slow for large battery (only 6A).
Old 03-30-2011, 12:15 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)

Originally Posted by bymannan