Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Need help starting my HPI Savage

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2004, 06:14 PM
Tech Rookie

Unhappy Need help starting my HPI Savage

Hey there i'm completely new to the Nitro/gas powered Rc world. I purchased a HPI savage with a .26 picco engine and a pullstart. I can't get this thing to run properly. I really need some complete step by step instructions if that is not too much to ask for.
1. It took me about 30 tries to first start the engine. And i had to mess with the high adjustment screw.
2. Once I finally got it started it sounded like it was reving faster and faster until i cut off the fuel, because truck started moving forward.
3. Now my igniter ran out and i had to recharge it overnight.
4. New day i tried to get it started again... 30 tries... finally! it started up and i got happy... once again there was no smoke. But only 20 seconds later the engine died out on me, and it got flooded.
I've read up and you're supposed to tilt the truck at a 90 degree angle and the fuel is supposed to come out once you pull the pullstart... didnt happen to me. It is still hard to pull the pullstart. Finally after 10 tries i get it to clear up... "seller of the truck stated that it starts after the first pull.".. after 20+pulls i finally gave up... i don't want to go to the hobby shop since they want $50 an HOUR min of 1 hour to diagnose the prob, i really hope you guys can help.
I also read up that the high end screw is supposed to be tightened all the way in and the 4 turns out for the factory setting... i did that now... What is the setting for the low end??? what about the idle setting... since i think its way to high.
I don't know why it takes me this many tries to start it... maybe i'm going something wrong... here is what i do ...
1. Turn receiver on
2. put gas all the way up to the carb with no bubbles.
3. Put the glow plug ingnitor on
4. Pull the starter fast and short (4 inches)