R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-01-2011, 02:35 PM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
sst4nbr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: CT
Posts: 819
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to sst4nbr1
Default Do the Speed Passion speed controlers have a flashing led when in no boost mode

As the descriptions says,, im going to be running a no boost class,, and even if you hook up the programmer it does not tell you what mode you are in???
__________________
Viper RC Solutions TEAM DRIVER
Factory team B4.1
Factory team T4.1
HYPER 9E
Tekin Vintage Mid Buggy & Truck
sst4nbr1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 03:19 PM   #2
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gunnison, CO
Posts: 26
Default

I haven't run it in "sportsman" mode, or no boost mode. From what I heard and what I saw in an email when I got some beta software, is that by the ROAR rules the esc has to have an indication that there is no boost being used. With SP, it is a blinking red light, I'm sure other companies have the same thing. Not sure about how the tuning box would ineract though. I'm guessing it would just not have the boost settings, but as far as not being able to see which mode it's in, I don't know. I hope this helps.
ClaytonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 03:27 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Lax Legend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: MN
Posts: 101
Default

Honestly I've never owned a Speed Passion,but i'm assuming thats what it means.
Lax Legend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 03:30 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
grapejuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,604
Trader Rating: 133 (100%+)
Default

There is a stock no boost firmware available and I would assume it would indicate that it is in that mode since SP is roar approved.
__________________
MHOR RC Raceway / 5280 Raceway
grapejuice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 03:49 PM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
sst4nbr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: CT
Posts: 819
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to sst4nbr1
Default

thanx guys,, i have the race directors approval to use the box as my proof of no boost,, which i found that it does display you last settings,, just want to be ready,,, cause i have this thing silly fast with a 17.5 no boost!! Be sure to check out the new VIPER motors!
__________________
Viper RC Solutions TEAM DRIVER
Factory team B4.1
Factory team T4.1
HYPER 9E
Tekin Vintage Mid Buggy & Truck
sst4nbr1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 03:50 PM   #6
Super Moderator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rochester Hills Michigan
Posts: 7,232
Default

You need the optional LCD programming box, not the LED box that comes with the ESC, to load the no timing firmware. The no timing firmware is “508 no timing” or something close if I remember correctly.

The PC is the best place to confirm the firmware version. But you might be able to see it without, connect the LCD box, turn on the ESC with the RC battery connected, then press OK, the loaded software version will flash briefly, after “connecting esc”. It may not show the full name though.

If loaded correctly the LED in the ESC will flash, which is what tech will look for.
Dave H is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:31 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net