R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric Off-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-off-road-4/)
-   -   engine break in process (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-off-road/45538-engine-break-process.html)

GReddy 07-19-2004 06:27 PM

engine break in process

hi im new to nitro and i just ordered a KYOSHO INFERNO MP 7.5

SPORTS RTR

and is there some specific way to break in?

like few tanks while being idle

few tanks while going slowly driving in a figure 8

few tanks while goin a little faster and so on?

thats kinda wut i remember what someone saying

cmain 07-19-2004 07:10 PM

Motor break in
this seems to be the most popular method now days.

Try the "Bess" Method (Credit to Stephen Bess)-

From the very 1st time you start your engine, plop the car on the
ground & begin running it in a parking lot in 2-3 minute intervals,
tuned only *slightly rich* getting the temps up in the 200F range on a normal day. Every 2-3 minutes, shut the engine down & let it cool completely with the piston at BDC , and then fire it back up; continue this cycle until you've run 15 min or so, and then bump up to 3-4 minute intervals. Vary the RPM and don't be afraid to get the temps in the 200's. What you want is heat cycling of the components without the incredible stress that comes with breaking an engine in when it's overly rich & cold. After cycling the engine in this manner for about 20-25 total minutes, it'll be ready for the track and race tuning.

GReddy 07-19-2004 07:31 PM

anything i need to make sure? lik the exhaust that is coming out?

Johnnytc3 07-19-2004 08:32 PM

make sure you have smoke coming out of the exhaust

Aaron Waldron 07-19-2004 09:18 PM

Many of today's fuels don't produce much smoke, so using that as a tuning guideline is outdated.

Just don't let the engine get too hot, and don't keep the engine at the same RPM for any length of time.

cmain 07-20-2004 06:24 AM