R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Like Tree4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-01-2011, 05:10 PM   #2521
Tech Adept
 
LDOstrem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 120
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yosh70 View Post
I bought some 1/8th wheel adapters and running buggy wheels....anything bigger looks kind of out of place. Havent really had a chance to run it but I'm starting with the stock 13T pinion anyways.
What adapters are you using and hows the fit. I have two sets of adapters for an sc10 and im thinking of trying to get them to fit since I have 4 of the rears.
__________________
Why doesnt anyone makeing desert buggy cage/body's or do I have to fab my own :/
LDOstrem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 04:18 AM   #2522
Tech Fanatic
 
Boadazofa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 980
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

I raced my tt last night and experimented with tires on our carpet track.

i first used the stock tires and set the suspension to my likings, but still traction rolled if i tried to go around corner to quick.
I then dremel the outer 2 rows of pins of the tires! It felt better but the foams are to soft.
I then put on a set of '2.2" proline striker II truck tires' with a firm insert and no traction comound and the truck was AWESOME!
no more traction rolling, corner speed increased dramatically!

i ended up getting 3rd in the amain which i was stoked with because it was only my second race meet back after a 2yr break!

I have ordered a set of duratrax, speed trac tires to give tham ago. They are very similar to the proline tires just a bit cheaper!
__________________
Lone Wolf
Boadazofa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 06:35 AM   #2523
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Indy
Posts: 50
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Did u race with tt's or buggies?
chadsrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 11:42 AM   #2524
Tech Fanatic
 
frontedge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Granbury, Tx
Posts: 907
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Default

Anybody running the VXL system in the TT what pinion are using.
Thanks
frontedge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 02:19 PM   #2525
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Texas
Posts: 105
Default

I have been running a MMP with a 5700kv Castle motor and can't seem to find a combo that iwll keep my temps down. Ended up smoking the motor yesterday running at 0 timing and an 11 tooth pinion. Any ideas on what I need to do. Obviously one is get a new motor lol. What do ya'll recommend. I am usning 5000mah 40c Lipo's
Keep'N It Cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 02:45 PM   #2526
Tech Initiate
 
kbarn007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The mountains of Western North Carolina
Posts: 49
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keep'N It Cool View Post
I have been running a MMP with a 5700kv Castle motor and can't seem to find a combo that iwll keep my temps down. Ended up smoking the motor yesterday running at 0 timing and an 11 tooth pinion. Any ideas on what I need to do. Obviously one is get a new motor lol. What do ya'll recommend. I am usning 5000mah 40c Lipo's
I use the castle 3800kv 4 pole motor with a MMP and temps are not an issue with either one with a 16T pinion
kbarn007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 02:49 PM   #2527
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 80
Default

Dont know If this helps, Im running a 550, 4.5 4 pole motor with a 14 pinon mmp 2cell lipo 25c No problem with temp. And is way fast.
jdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 05:03 AM   #2528
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hellas,Athens
Posts: 197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdawg View Post
Dont know If this helps, Im running a 550, 4.5 4 pole motor with a 14 pinon mmp 2cell lipo 25c No problem with temp. And is way fast.
Which motor is this?
__________________
Hyper Mini STe (with custom chassis - 10TT) Novak 4.5T 550 motor/150A ESC
Phoenix ST
www.youtube.com/TheAL3xGR
AL3xGR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 08:49 AM   #2529
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Texas
Posts: 105
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdawg View Post
Dont know If this helps, Im running a 550, 4.5 4 pole motor with a 14 pinon mmp 2cell lipo 25c No problem with temp. And is way fast.
Yeah 4pole is going to have more torque, so it can handle a higher load, plus a smaller KV motor.
Keep'N It Cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 10:03 AM   #2530
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AL3xGR View Post
Which motor is this?
Its the Fantom sc fusion2 550 pro mod 4.5, 4 pole ,14 tooth pinon gear, and stock sper runs like a raped ape.
jdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 10:32 AM   #2531
Tech Regular
 
jaybird95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bellflower,CA(B-Town)
Posts: 269
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keep'N It Cool View Post
I have been running a MMP with a 5700kv Castle motor and can't seem to find a combo that iwll keep my temps down. Ended up smoking the motor yesterday running at 0 timing and an 11 tooth pinion. Any ideas on what I need to do. Obviously one is get a new motor lol. What do ya'll recommend. I am usning 5000mah 40c Lipo's
My buddy has been running this same combo for months. He uses a 13t pinion and runs a fan on the motor. I dont think running the battery to the end would be a good idea. Check temps every 5 min. or so.
P.S. This is a fast combo, on the track he has the throttle end point turned down.
__________________
SC10 4x4 / Tekin RX8 / XP1015 / Pro 4
RC8be / Tekin RX8 / XP1015 / Tekin 1900 Airtronics M11x
jaybird95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 06:23 PM   #2532
Tech Master
 
Yosh70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sask. Canada
Posts: 1,620
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LDOstrem View Post
What adapters are you using and hows the fit. I have two sets of adapters for an sc10 and im thinking of trying to get them to fit since I have 4 of the rears.
Using AKA adapters meant for Slash 4X4....they fit ok but had to be "washered" up to take out all the slop. Haven't had a chance to run it outside yet but hopefully pretty soon.

The Ofna kit would've been my 1st choice http://www.nitrohouse.com/p23506/CNC...duct_info.html
but found it a little too late.
__________________
TLR 8T 1.5, AE SC10, TLR 22SCT
Yosh70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 06:31 PM   #2533
Tech Master
 
Yosh70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sask. Canada
Posts: 1,620
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keep'N It Cool View Post
I have been running a MMP with a 5700kv Castle motor and can't seem to find a combo that iwll keep my temps down. Ended up smoking the motor yesterday running at 0 timing and an 11 tooth pinion. Any ideas on what I need to do. Obviously one is get a new motor lol. What do ya'll recommend. I am using 5000mah 40c Lipo's
Hows the ESC and battery for temps? If they're on the cool side, it sounds like its undergeared.
__________________
TLR 8T 1.5, AE SC10, TLR 22SCT
Yosh70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 06:51 PM   #2534
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,231
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rifraf Send a message via Skype™ to rifraf
Default

Hyper tt newby with a question,I am currently running a Tekin RS with a 6.5 540 motor,and thinkin of going to a larger Tekin R-8 ESC, what KV 1/8 motor would I need to be equivalent to a 540 6.5 motor? I'm guessing,the larger KV in 1/8 systems the faster the motor? I do race my Hyper off-road..

Thanks for your help..
rifraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 06:58 PM   #2535
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Texas
Posts: 105
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaybird95 View Post
My buddy has been running this same combo for months. He uses a 13t pinion and runs a fan on the motor. I dont think running the battery to the end would be a good idea. Check temps every 5 min. or so.
P.S. This is a fast combo, on the track he has the throttle end point turned down.
Yeah it is fast, I have the end point all the way out. We run 5 min heats with 8 min mains.

I guess I don't quite get the under geared scenario. You could take that motor off the truck and run it with out it overheating. Current(Load) creates heat not rpm's.
Keep'N It Cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:40 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net