R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Like Tree9Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-16-2011, 01:48 AM   #2446
Tech Addict
 
hayabusafmw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: montreal quebec canada
Posts: 705
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heavyjeffd View Post
I put my ESC on top of the top center plate for better ventilation. No problems with clearance.
if i do that my esc fan screws bang on the body & won't fit at all......

I sure wish i had bought a mamba instead of a NOVAK by now
hayabusafmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 01:52 AM   #2447
Tech Elite
 
heavyjeffd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,805
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Yeah, I'm running an RSPro, 1/8th scale stuff is totally unnecessary for this truck properly geared.

11t pinion with the RSPro and 6.5 is money and I get upwards of ~15-18mins runtime on a 5000mah/20C Reedy pack.
heavyjeffd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 02:49 AM   #2448
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 184
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heavyjeffd View Post
Yeah, I'm running an RSPro, 1/8th scale stuff is totally unnecessary for this truck properly geared.

11t pinion with the RSPro and 6.5 is money and I get upwards of ~15-18mins runtime on a 5000mah/20C Reedy pack.
+1 just that i vouch for 12t pinions, that was my sweet spot.
__________________
Serpent Cobra E RTR, HB VE8, Summit, Vaterra Kemora/Kalahari, XRAY X10, XRAY X12
Buying and selling as tracks open and close
hoousi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 06:59 AM   #2449
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hellas,Athens
Posts: 197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heavyjeffd View Post
I'm running the RSPro and Redline 6.5 (540) and have gobs of power, torque and top end. Running it with an 11t pinion. I still think the 1/8th scale/550 stuff is too big for this truck and messes with balance.

It's not nose heavy so to speak, it's the driveline drag and inertia of the wheels. Over rollers or doubles you need to give it a little continuous throttle, don't just let off or dump it in the air or it will do front flips for sure.
I think drivetrain weight (with STRC spur) is ~280gr(not sure)
I measured it before two months(truck rebuild)
__________________
Hyper Mini STe (with custom chassis - 10TT) Novak 4.5T 550 motor/150A ESC
Phoenix ST
www.youtube.com/TheAL3xGR
AL3xGR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 07:03 AM   #2450
Tech Elite
 
heavyjeffd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,805
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hoousi View Post
+1 just that i vouch for 12t pinions, that was my sweet spot.
Yeah, I actually go back and forth between 11t and 12t depending on the track. Those are definitely my go-to pinions.
heavyjeffd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 11:44 AM   #2451
Tech Addict
 
hayabusafmw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: montreal quebec canada
Posts: 705
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heavyjeffd View Post
I put my ESC on top of the top center plate for better ventilation. No problems with clearance.
do you have a fan on it?

cause my gtb2 has one and because of that it doesn't have clearance at all

got pic?

thanks buddy
hayabusafmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 11:57 AM   #2452
Tech Elite
 
heavyjeffd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,805
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

No, I don't have a fan or a heatsink, I didn't need either for the RSPro, it runs cool enough on it's own. I do have room for a heatsink though, just don't need one.
__________________
Huge thanks to my sponsors!
Team Associated | Pro-line | Avid | VP Powermaster
heavyjeffd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 10:29 PM   #2453
Tech Champion
 
thecman26's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Central Kansas
Posts: 7,753
Trader Rating: 99 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hayabusafmw View Post
do you have a fan on it?

cause my gtb2 has one and because of that it doesn't have clearance at all

got pic?

thanks buddy
I use a Losi Xcelorin ESC and its basically the same size as a GTB and I use the fan too, gits great on top of the steering servo!
__________________
Chris Keen: Viola, Kansas
Kyosho RZ6, TLR 22 3.0, TLR 4.0 SR (soon),& 22T 3.0
"I'm too drunk to taste this chicken!", Col. Sanders
thecman26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 10:33 PM   #2454
Tech Regular
 
Rocketron1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 304
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default esc mounting

here is link on were to mount every thing...http://www.nitrohouse.com/a46/Tim-%2...icle_info.html
Rocketron1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 10:40 PM   #2455
Tech Elite
 
heavyjeffd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,805
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

I guess if you are running an 1/8th scale speedo you have to mount it there. Not really necessary though IMO...
__________________
Huge thanks to my sponsors!
Team Associated | Pro-line | Avid | VP Powermaster
heavyjeffd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 10:53 PM   #2456
Tech Champion
 
thecman26's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Central Kansas
Posts: 7,753
Trader Rating: 99 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heavyjeffd View Post
I guess if you are running an 1/8th scale speedo you have to mount it there. Not really necessary though IMO...
Got a 1/10th scale speedo in mine, in that same spot. fits perfect!
__________________
Chris Keen: Viola, Kansas
Kyosho RZ6, TLR 22 3.0, TLR 4.0 SR (soon),& 22T 3.0
"I'm too drunk to taste this chicken!", Col. Sanders
thecman26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 10:55 PM   #2457
Tech Elite
 
heavyjeffd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,805
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

I put mine up top just for ventilation and easier to wire up. The RSPro is really about the same size as my RX anyway, lol.
__________________
Huge thanks to my sponsors!
Team Associated | Pro-line | Avid | VP Powermaster
heavyjeffd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 10:54 AM   #2458
Tech Initiate
 
HyperRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pakk View Post
First day out with the TT was decent. I ran a 6.5 540 can and rx8 in sensorless mode. The top end was good, but I could use a little more torque. I have a 550 5.5 coming. Got a few questions...

What pinions are you guys running with 550 5.5 ballistic?

I don't have enough steering. I haven't measured it, but it seems like in it's stock setup, there isn't enough throw. Any tips here?

THe car is nose heavy. I knew this beforehand, but I had no idea it would be to this extent. I think I could get use to it, but are you guys doing anything for this?
With the 550 motors I would recommend starting with a 14-15T pinion. With the new ackerman bar you should have plenty of steering. Would almost recommend purchasing the new bar to make sure you have the latest one. Part #OFN21168.

As for being nose heavy, suspension can definitely help this. The stock orange springs are quite soft. Stand up your front shocks, this will stiffen up the front. You can also get the blue or white hyper 10sc short course springs although you will have to shorten the front springs. (takes a little engineering to get right!) The blues are medium the white are firm. I also run the battery to the back of the battery box.
__________________
NitroHouse.com, REDS Racing Engines
Kyosho MP9 TKI3, REDS TE2
TLR 8 3.0, REDS TE2
MBX7e, TEKIN RX8/2050
KO Eurus
HyperRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 11:55 AM   #2459
Tech Elite
 
-R2-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: So Cal.
Posts: 2,268
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hayabusafmw View Post
I having a bad time installing everythin

i have 550 novak with a GTB2 Esc but.... the servo arm seem to push against the esc , i tried to put it further but it only connects to half velcro,,,

on top it's impossible EXEPT if i remove the fan.......
but i dunno what you guys manage to do to even get it running so war im just trying to fit stuff around in a very fit ca

PS: like squirell said even the servo mount against the shell..... thats kind of a issue too
I moved the bat tray forward and have the room to put my esc, car handles well with bat moved.
__________________
SOAR SEIKI 998,Truggy, Buggy and Electric
Flashpoint Fuel/Savox/
-R2- PAINTS/PRO-LINE RACING/AIRTRONICS
-R2- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 06:30 PM   #2460
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wapwallopen Pa
Posts: 316
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

whats the battery tray dimensions?
__________________
Chris
Jammin X2 CRT Pro - Tekno, Xerun 150a & Tekin 2250kv
Jammin X2 CR Pro - Tekno, MMP & 2050kv Tekin
Jammin SCRT10 - MMP & Tekin SC4X 6.5 | Ofna JL10e - Novak Havoc 3s & 8.5 SS Pro
HPI Cyber 10b - Novak Havoc 3s & 8.5 SS Pro | HPI Baja 5B SS - 26cc Fuelie
drummin89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:56 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net