R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-09-2010, 11:06 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
Armaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,149
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default Which Turnigy LiPo for RC10B4 - RC10T4?

Turnigy 5200mAh 2S 30C Hard-Case Car Lipo Pack - http://hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store...dProduct=10277


Turnigy 5000mAh 2S2P 7.4v 40C hardcase pack - http://hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store...dProduct=11614


Turnigy 5000mAh 2S1P 7.4v 30C hardcase pack - http://hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store...dProduct=11613
Armaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 02:06 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Zerodefect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Underground, Ohio
Posts: 4,305
Default

I'd go with the last one. The b4 and t4 don't need a high C rating.

My 5000mah Zippy's were a tight fit in my b4. Too tall and the carbon strap is hard to fit in. I don't change the batery in my b4 becuase it's a pain, I just levae it in and charge it.

I would actually recommend the smaller 4000mah Turnigy.

Like this:
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=11598

or this Zippy, these are what I'm running and they work great:
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbyking/s...idProduct=9435
Zerodefect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 02:14 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
brickshouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,246
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

You wont be able to run these batteries all the way to the front, youll have to notch the foams to run them periodcause the terminals come out the front of battery. They make some that come out the top, just got some for a frriend of mine. If your running stock your gonna want a high c rating, mod its not as important.
brickshouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 02:32 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Zerodefect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Underground, Ohio
Posts: 4,305
Default

You can just dremel off the bit of chassis that interferes with the wires. I dremeled down my battery box walls to give my buggy more grip via a flexy chassis anyways.
Zerodefect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 02:51 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Armaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,149
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brickshouse View Post
You wont be able to run these batteries all the way to the front, youll have to notch the foams to run them periodcause the terminals come out the front of battery. They make some that come out the top, just got some for a frriend of mine. If your running stock your gonna want a high c rating, mod its not as important.
Dude you are 100% right...I totally glossed over that fact! Thanks...just saved me $100 or so (I was going to order 4).

Thanks!
Armaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 03:19 PM   #6
Tech Apprentice
 
mikeohara's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Gladewater, TX
Posts: 62
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I recently bought a T4.1 Brushless RTR and I paired it up with a Venom 5000mAh battery with a 50c discharge rate. I figured there would be some problems with the Turnigy packs and how they fit in the chassis, that's why I went with the aforementioned (because the battery connections were on top).

Last edited by mikeohara; 06-09-2010 at 03:35 PM. Reason: Forgot to mention the connections were on top.
mikeohara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 04:00 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Armaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,149
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeohara View Post
I recently bought a T4.1 Brushless RTR and I paired it up with a Venom 5000mAh battery with a 50c discharge rate. I figured there would be some problems with the Turnigy packs and how they fit in the chassis, that's why I went with the aforementioned (because the battery connections were on top).
Nice! How you liking the Venom packs?
Armaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 04:16 PM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Redneck13x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 108
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

If you dont mind cutting up the little foam block a little. Put the battery in backwards. That way the battery is far forward, and when the foam is cut for the wires, it will fit.

Just a thought.
Redneck13x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 04:22 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Armaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,149
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redneck13x View Post
If you dont mind cutting up the little foam block a little. Put the battery in backwards. That way the battery is far forward, and when the foam is cut for the wires, it will fit.

Just a thought.
Excellent logic...that's true. Ah, now if they can just get them in stock!
Armaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 04:23 PM   #10
Tech Apprentice
 
mikeohara's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Gladewater, TX
Posts: 62
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Armaan View Post
Nice! How you liking the Venom packs?
The Venom packs for me provide more than enough power to send my T4.1 speeding off in any given direction. Since I'll be eventually racing in the Stock class at my LHS, I figured that a good battery like that would be great for what I'm wanting to do. I eventually want to run Modified, but I'll have to get the parts for everything very slowly.
mikeohara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 04:29 PM   #11
Tech Adept
 
Redneck13x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 108
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Armaan View Post
Excellent logic...that's true. Ah, now if they can just get them in stock!
Im waiting on them too!
Redneck13x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 07:09 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
brickshouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,246
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

you can cut the foam and put them in the front or back...if you leave 1 piece of foam in front of the cut 1, or, on ebay, they got the 5000 20-30c ones I told u about that have the wires coming out of the top. The ones at hobbyking have been on backorder for over a month, no tellin when theyll gettem in. Cost a littlemore though.....
brickshouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 07:44 PM   #13
Tech Adept
 
pdiddy777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 180
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default best ones to use in modified

which lipos have u guys used in modified trucks that worked the best ..in a 2cell ? 4000 5000 5200 ?and what rate? 20 30 thanx
pdiddy777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 08:06 PM   #14
Tech Adept
 
Redneck13x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 108
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Right now im using this one in my mod t4

http://hobbycity.com/hobbyking/store...idProduct=8357
Redneck13x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 08:26 PM   #15
Tech Adept
 
pdiddy777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 180
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default ok

how long does it last and what size esc motor combo u using ? thanx
pdiddy777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:04 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net