R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-11-2010, 07:40 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
Keith Lewis's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kingsport, TN
Posts: 696
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default ESC switch question and Hobbywing Ezrun troubleshooting

I have an Hobbywing Ezrun 80a 1/8 that needs the switch flicked at the base or switched back and forth quickly to turn on. After it is on, it will cut out after a big landing. Can I replace this switch with a Losi or Novak esc replacement switch? They both have on/off and a set button but not sure on compatibility.

I also have another Ezrun that just makes the motor twitch a little but no full revolution of the pinion. At first I thought I cooked the motor after a 15 minute main it was at 190F. I have since added a fan for my stock Fusion motors. I have tried two motors and same response. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Keith Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 08:35 PM   #2
Tech Lord
 
SuperEk4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 10,326
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coachlewis View Post
I have an Hobbywing Ezrun 80a 1/8 that needs the switch flicked at the base or switched back and forth quickly to turn on. After it is on, it will cut out after a big landing. Can I replace this switch with a Losi or Novak esc replacement switch? They both have on/off and a set button but not sure on compatibility.

I also have another Ezrun that just makes the motor twitch a little but no full revolution of the pinion. At first I thought I cooked the motor after a 15 minute main it was at 190F. I have since added a fan for my stock Fusion motors. I have tried two motors and same response. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Do u need the switches? I cut them off after it's damage n soulder the 2 wires together.

Btw are u using the fusion or old hobbywing motors? They run hot n will eventually spoil as they are 2 pole n not good with heat.

I suggest u try the new hobbywing motors if buggy is 4168 if truggy is 4274.
__________________
Hobbywing-Acorn Racing-ManiaRC-UpgradeRC-Hong nor-Rc monster-Blackbeard-Rc-MoosDesign-SweepRacing-Boca bearings-Tresrey USA-Velociti raceware-Tekno Rc-Team J-JPL Models-SNR Graphite (RETIRED)
SuperEk4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 12:13 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
Keith Lewis's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kingsport, TN
Posts: 696
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I thought about soldering the wires together but wouldn't I lose the set function that I need to calibrate throttle? I have a 3 wire switch.
Keith Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 12:35 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
onemilekyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Temecula
Posts: 257
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I would like to know about this as well.

Will be helpful when that cheap switch fails.
onemilekyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 01:07 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Krawl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nitropia
Posts: 387
Default

Been there...try this cheap big switch:



Mount it horizontally and you're good to go...
__________________
HPI Blitz EZRUN 60A + 6000kv + 2S + 4000mAh 25C
Jammin SCRT10 XERUN 120A + SP Silver Arrow V10 3.5R + 2S + 5800mAh 25C
Krawl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 01:13 PM   #6
Tech Lord
 
SuperEk4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 10,326
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Shortcircuit the RED and WHITE wires of the switch, and let the Black wire of the switch free (that means you just cut the Black wire and do NOT connect the black wire with anything. )

In such a way you can use the ESC but you cannot set the programmable items any more.

But if u need to set again just let the 3 wires touch again. It's rarely u need to do the throttle thingy
__________________
Hobbywing-Acorn Racing-ManiaRC-UpgradeRC-Hong nor-Rc monster-Blackbeard-Rc-MoosDesign-SweepRacing-Boca bearings-Tresrey USA-Velociti raceware-Tekno Rc-Team J-JPL Models-SNR Graphite (RETIRED)
SuperEk4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 01:36 PM   #7
Tech Addict
 
Keith Lewis's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kingsport, TN
Posts: 696
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Thanks I will solder them together.

I have 2 Fusion and 2 Hobbywing motors but all came on my Casters. I still don't know what is wrong with that other EZrun where it just twitches the motor with no full revolution.
Keith Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 01:52 PM   #8
Tech Lord
 
SuperEk4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 10,326
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coachlewis View Post
Thanks I will solder them together.

I have 2 Fusion and 2 Hobbywing motors but all came on my Casters. I still don't know what is wrong with that other EZrun where it just twitches the motor with no full revolution.
Could it be the motor has burnt? Any burning smell on esc or motor?

Btw your hobbywing motors are the old version right since u use the ezrun? They burn easily.

The new 4168 n 4274 is alot better.
__________________
Hobbywing-Acorn Racing-ManiaRC-UpgradeRC-Hong nor-Rc monster-Blackbeard-Rc-MoosDesign-SweepRacing-Boca bearings-Tresrey USA-Velociti raceware-Tekno Rc-Team J-JPL Models-SNR Graphite (RETIRED)
SuperEk4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 02:41 PM   #9
Tech Addict
 
Keith Lewis's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kingsport, TN
Posts: 696
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperEk4 View Post
Could it be the motor has burnt? Any burning smell on esc or motor?

Btw your hobbywing motors are the old version right since u use the ezrun? They burn easily.

The new 4168 n 4274 is alot better.
I have tried 2 different motors and same thing, so I assume it has to be the ESC. I thought it was a fried motor first until I put the esc on my truggy and same thing happened. That is when I realized it was not the motor.
Keith Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 02:54 PM   #10
JSR
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,035
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Can you short the Red and Black wires together while leaving the White wire intact? When you close the power switch, that shorts the Red and Black wires. If this works, it would leave the setting capability in place. In case the setting switch needs the return wire in place, you might want to try removing a bit of insulation on the Black wire and soldering the Red wire to the Black wire while leaving the Black wire still attached to the switch box.
JSR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 03:15 PM   #11
Tech Lord
 
SuperEk4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 10,326
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coachlewis View Post
I have tried 2 different motors and same thing, so I assume it has to be the ESC. I thought it was a fried motor first until I put the esc on my truggy and same thing happened. That is when I realized it was not the motor.

Send the esc mayb the fets has burnt
__________________
Hobbywing-Acorn Racing-ManiaRC-UpgradeRC-Hong nor-Rc monster-Blackbeard-Rc-MoosDesign-SweepRacing-Boca bearings-Tresrey USA-Velociti raceware-Tekno Rc-Team J-JPL Models-SNR Graphite (RETIRED)
SuperEk4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 05:23 PM   #12
Tech Addict
 
Keith Lewis's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kingsport, TN
Posts: 696
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSR View Post
Can you short the Red and Black wires together while leaving the White wire intact? When you close the power switch, that shorts the Red and Black wires. If this works, it would leave the setting capability in place. In case the setting switch needs the return wire in place, you might want to try removing a bit of insulation on the Black wire and soldering the Red wire to the Black wire while leaving the Black wire still attached to the switch box.
That is a good idea but I have already soldered the red and white together. I will just have to never buy a new radio now.

Thanks for the advice SuperEK shorting out the switch wires has fixed 2 of my Ezruns now.
Keith Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 06:37 PM   #13
Tech Lord
 
SuperEk4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 10,326
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coachlewis View Post
That is a good idea but I have already soldered the red and white together. I will just have to never buy a new radio now.

Thanks for the advice SuperEK shorting out the switch wires has fixed 2 of my Ezruns now.
Sure no problem
__________________
Hobbywing-Acorn Racing-ManiaRC-UpgradeRC-Hong nor-Rc monster-Blackbeard-Rc-MoosDesign-SweepRacing-Boca bearings-Tresrey USA-Velociti raceware-Tekno Rc-Team J-JPL Models-SNR Graphite (RETIRED)
SuperEk4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 05:05 AM   #14
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 22
Default 80a ESC switch issue

Hey guys...

New to the forum...but greatful that this forum has come across this issue...as I just experienced my 80a EZRun switch turning off and on in the field.

I'm pretty good with a soldering gun but I'm not sure what you guys mean by short circuit the wires??

Can someone explain to me the best way to keep the throttle setting capability intact? Do I need to cut the switch straight off and then solder wires together? Do I then replace the old switch with a new one?

I'm running the stock E-maxx tq tx and when I have the money will upgrade to a 2.4ghz.

Thanks in advance!
syncronized is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 05:26 AM   #15
Tech Lord
 
SuperEk4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 10,326
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

If u intend to keep the throttle range best is soulder another switch wire to wire.

Quote:
Originally Posted by syncronized View Post
Hey guys...

New to the forum...but greatful that this forum has come across this issue...as I just experienced my 80a EZRun switch turning off and on in the field.

I'm pretty good with a soldering gun but I'm not sure what you guys mean by short circuit the wires??

Can someone explain to me the best way to keep the throttle setting capability intact? Do I need to cut the switch straight off and then solder wires together? Do I then replace the old switch with a new one?

I'm running the stock E-maxx tq tx and when I have the money will upgrade to a 2.4ghz.

Thanks in advance!
__________________
Hobbywing-Acorn Racing-ManiaRC-UpgradeRC-Hong nor-Rc monster-Blackbeard-Rc-MoosDesign-SweepRacing-Boca bearings-Tresrey USA-Velociti raceware-Tekno Rc-Team J-JPL Models-SNR Graphite (RETIRED)
SuperEk4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT -8. It is currently 04:11 AM.



SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0