R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Like Tree26Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-26-2012, 02:04 PM   #5581
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3,843
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
Correct.

If you just moved the steering bar to the bottom of the pivot arms, the bar would be far too low, and the it would actually hit the front suspension arms... so it has to be shimmed up just enough to clear the front suspension arms.
Any specific reason you changed rides? Just curious..
__________________
Serpent America/Desoto Racing- www.serpentamerica.com
TrakPower Speed Equipment- www.trakpowerusa.com
B Fast RC Performance- www.bfastrc.com
Futaba | Strictly R/C- Norridge, IL
Thank you all for the help and support!
Jonny5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 02:21 PM   #5582
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonny5 View Post
Any specific reason you changed rides? Just curious..
Car just didn't work for me... i tried, and tried, and tried... I went to the RB5 WC and picked up almost two laps the very first time on the track with it. Couldn't be happier.
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 02:26 PM   #5583
Tech Master
 
BOLISARIO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: S. Corona
Posts: 1,762
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BOLISARIO
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
Correct.

If you just moved the steering bar to the bottom of the pivot arms, the bar would be far too low, and the it would actually hit the front suspension arms... so it has to be shimmed up just enough to clear the front suspension arms.
Thanks for clarifying that for me. Too bad you don't have the 210 anymore.
BOLISARIO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 02:28 PM   #5584
Tech Elite
 
DBL15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 3,171
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
Car just didn't work for me... i tried, and tried, and tried... I went to the RB5 WC and picked up almost two laps the very first time on the track with it. Couldn't be happier.
its weird how some cars suit peoples driving styles and others dont

i have seen this a lot as well with different brands of cars

i tend to agree you keep changeing cars until you find the one that suits your driving style as you say there is time to gain when your 100% in touch with what the cars doing
__________________
C/O Coast2coastrc (www.coast2coastrc.com.au) SMC Lipo
Tekno Rc , Team Tekin , Panther-Rc , De Racing , Upgrade Rc , Team Triton rc , M2C clutches , Nitro X fuels
DBL15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 02:34 PM   #5585
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBL15 View Post
its weird how some cars suit peoples driving styles and others dont

i have seen this a lot as well with different brands of cars

i tend to agree you keep changeing cars until you find the one that suits your driving style as you say there is time to gain when your 100% in touch with what the cars doing
Exactly... im sure there are a ton of people who just "mesh" with the 210, and the car feels good to them. To me, I did nothing but fight and fight. I went from being one of the fast guys, to one of the slow guys. But, from the very moment I put the RB5 back on the track, I knew it was it... Not only did the car feel better, but I was significantly faster with it, and we just "meshed"... It restored the fun in 2wd buggy racing for me And yes, I have owned and raced just about all of them. Here is a list of what I have gone through in the last 2 years

B4
XXX-CR
Cougar
RB5
22
B4.1
210
RB5
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 02:39 PM   #5586
Tech Elite
 
Ray Kindstrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: IL
Posts: 2,056
Trader Rating: 147 (100%+)
Default

For those of you that are running the Tresrey front block-

How many limiters are you running in your front shocks? The Tresrey front block does not have the "wings" so you can not use the droop screw, so you've gotta use the old fashioned method of adding limiters inside your shocks. Jonny5 and I worked on it last night...I left with 4 in each but it still isn't enough.
Ray Kindstrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 02:55 PM   #5587
Tech Master
 
hopsing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 1,169
Trader Rating: 13 (93%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray Kindstrom View Post
For those of you that are running the Tresrey front block-

How many limiters are you running in your front shocks? The Tresrey front block does not have the "wings" so you can not use the droop screw, so you've gotta use the old fashioned method of adding limiters inside your shocks. Jonny5 and I worked on it last night...I left with 4 in each but it still isn't enough.
Which lower shock mount hole are you in? I was pretty sure I put 2mm inside mine (running the Tresrey MOS shocks). I'm middle hole on tower, outside hole in arms and I had to unscrew my shock ends 3 full turns to get the droop needed. Even if I have 4mm inside, it would mean I still had to unscrew my shock ends... at full droop, the "long" part of the arms is about level. Can't see running any less droop unless on super high bite.
__________________
Steve Butts
AKA, TrakPower, Serpent America/Desoto Racing, TrackStar, Futaba, EKD Paints
hopsing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 03:28 PM   #5588
Tech Elite
 
Ray Kindstrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: IL
Posts: 2,056
Trader Rating: 147 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopsing View Post
Which lower shock mount hole are you in? I was pretty sure I put 2mm inside mine (running the Tresrey MOS shocks). I'm middle hole on tower, outside hole in arms and I had to unscrew my shock ends 3 full turns to get the droop needed. Even if I have 4mm inside, it would mean I still had to unscrew my shock ends... at full droop, the "long" part of the arms is about level. Can't see running any less droop unless on super high bite.
What's up stranger? Glad the Dingo has been working for you.

I was on the inside hole on the arm middle on the tower. The limiters I installed are the AE thin white one. It just didn't "feel" right. Lots more testing to do.
Ray Kindstrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 03:45 PM   #5589
Tech Master
 
hopsing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 1,169
Trader Rating: 13 (93%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray Kindstrom View Post
What's up stranger? Glad the Dingo has been working for you.

I was on the inside hole on the arm middle on the tower. The limiters I installed are the AE thin white one. It just didn't "feel" right. Lots more testing to do.

What up Ray!

So did you not have enough droop, or not enough washers to reduce the droop? I think the droop I have is about perfect for most situations. After I put the Tresery block on, I put my stock shocks back on without any limiters and it was definitely too much droop. Car was definitely not right with that much droop.
__________________
Steve Butts
AKA, TrakPower, Serpent America/Desoto Racing, TrackStar, Futaba, EKD Paints
hopsing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 04:13 PM   #5590
Tech Elite
 
Ray Kindstrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: IL
Posts: 2,056
Trader Rating: 147 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopsing View Post
What up Ray!

So did you not have enough droop, or not enough washers to reduce the droop? I think the droop I have is about perfect for most situations. After I put the Tresery block on, I put my stock shocks back on without any limiters and it was definitely too much droop. Car was definitely not right with that much droop.
Ya know....playn with toy cars.

Yea way too much shock length. But overall the car runs nice. Zippy and Jonny5 strong armed me to jump from my "other" car. My TrakPower shorty arrived in the mail today. So I'll mount up some new kicks and try again soon.
Ray Kindstrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 04:24 PM   #5591
Tech Regular
 
zippygraphix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 257
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray Kindstrom View Post
Ya know....playn with toy cars.

Yea way too much shock length. But overall the car runs nice. Zippy and Jonny5 strong armed me to jump from my "other" car. My TrakPower shorty arrived in the mail today. So I'll mount up some new kicks and try again soon.
haha i did nothing of the sort man..
__________________
Mike "Zippy" Ziolkowski

Team TrakPower, Futaba, B-FAST RC Products,Exotek Racing, Team Boca Bearings, Zippy Graphix, Paint Monster Airbrushing, King Headz, Proline
zippygraphix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 05:29 PM   #5592
Tech Fanatic
 
Konich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 972
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

2mm spacers on my front shocks for high bite and its back to where it was using the standard block and droop screws.
__________________
Tresrey Spec DEX410 - Yaiba Spec B5M
Konich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 06:02 PM   #5593
Tech Elite
 
Ray Kindstrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: IL
Posts: 2,056
Trader Rating: 147 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Konich View Post
2mm spacers on my front shocks for high bite and its back to where it was using the standard block and droop screws.
Super. Thanks
Ray Kindstrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 06:04 PM   #5594
Tech Master
 
BOLISARIO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: S. Corona
Posts: 1,762
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BOLISARIO
Default

Since the 210 is a little bit on the heavy side, has anyone tried or considered using the 8 racing CF chassis? Yeah it's a bit expensive, but for those who have the cajones and $$ to get one, how do you like it and what improvements have you noticed when going with a CF chassis? Too bad no local(U.S.) CF manufacturers have a chassis available.

I think Randy is testing out a composite chassis, but it might be months or longer before they hit the stores. It might be worth it just for the $$ savings alone.
BOLISARIO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 06:05 PM   #5595
Tech Master
 
Slimsh8t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,127
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default Help needed guys

Ok none of my lhs has the Team Durango Caged Race Thrust Bearing in stock & curious if any other manufactures will work.? In need of for this weekend & Amain has them but I wont have it till next week.

Thx,
Kevin
__________________
Kevin Murphy
Associated B5m/Reedy
AP Custom Paint/Kal-Gard/
Slimsh8t is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
St Ives RC Club B4Bandit Australian Racing 16570 09-23-2017 03:48 AM
EPMTs check in here. (a subsidiary of TNT) overtki11 Singapore R/C Racers 55470 05-07-2017 11:57 PM
Team Durango DEX410 ASH93A Australian Racing 925 04-08-2013 09:51 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:12 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net