R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Like Tree26Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-23-2016, 12:32 PM   #17086
Tech Addict
 
Kremzeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Mt. Horeb, WI
Posts: 673
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

More pictures of Travis' car:

http://events.redrc.net/2016/01/chas...vis-amezcua-2/
Kremzeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2016, 12:35 PM   #17087
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 665
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Woulvesbaine View Post
Travis' car looks nicely setup, but it's baffling that Hobbico didn't engineer the v3 chassis to permit horizontal batter placement.

I ran the v1 on clay and it was pretty nice with the alum chassis. Anyway, here's a pic of the mod that Travis did. Doesn't look too crazy:

Noticed that Travis took out even more if the sidepods to get the battery further back than the original pictures of JP's. TD must be working on an update for this. Would be easy upgrade for all of us and not too expensive. They must have some heavy duty Velcro under those batteries. If the sidepods were designe properly you will be able to get the battery even lower without the up curve is the sidepods now.
WallyRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2016, 03:07 PM   #17088
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 28,770
Trader Rating: 234 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kremzeek View Post
I like that rear hanger. It's probably a lot easier to adjust toe in/out that way.
+1 . Maybe they just do the toe on the hangar and leave a set pill in the hub carrier to not fight with getting them out?


As for the layouts shown with the shorty sideways, I notice the motor is on the opposite side versus what I pic of the plan B setup looks like (and what I did too).



curious what advantage there is to that, or, if they are using say 4 gear versus 3 gear. (using 3 here).

Also, what wire gauge do you guys recommend? I have always used 12 guage but I wonder if some weight savings could be found there by going to say 14 guage or 13 guage?
__________________
Member - Red River Radio/Control Car Club
< Tekno SCT410.3 x 2 |HB Racing D413 x 2 | Tekno EB48SL x 2 | Yokomo YZ-2 DTM x 2>
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2016, 07:57 PM   #17089
Tech Master
 
Woulvesbaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,257
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

12 guage is generally not needed. I use 13 guage even on my 4wd mod, which has a 6.5 motor. TQ13 guage wire is specifically what I use, though obviously lots of good brands out there.
__________________
|| Team C TM4 || OCRC || SCVRC || Facebook: Squid Ink Paint
Woulvesbaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2016, 09:56 AM   #17090
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 665
Default Motor on wrong side

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cain View Post
+1 . Maybe they just do the toe on the hangar and leave a set pill in the hub carrier to not fight with getting them out?


As for the layouts shown with the shorty sideways, I notice the motor is on the opposite side versus what I pic of the plan B setup looks like (and what I did too).





curious what advantage there is to that, or, if they are using say 4 gear versus 3 gear. (using 3 here).

Also, what wire gauge do you guys recommend? I have always used 12 guage but I wonder if some weight savings could be found there by going to say 14 guage or 13 guage?
Cain. Plan B Chasis and car looks great but I have bad news for you. If you have your car setup in 3 gear you have your motor on the wrong side. You have it on the side for 4 gear. Defeating the whole purpose and your motor must be running in reverse. You need to switch the motor plate to the other side. Make sure to switch the bearing for the lays shaft so they offset the pressure.
I usually use 12 gauge.
Have fun. Should run better.

Last edited by WallyRC; 01-24-2016 at 09:57 AM. Reason: Typo
WallyRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2016, 01:24 PM   #17091
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Georgia
Posts: 116
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cain View Post
lol thats funny fred!

congrats emerilnut!

Honestly unless there is something "special" about the 12mm setup with the v3 as a performance gain at least on the rear, you can just get the exotek 12mm hexes and have them in the pit box. thats what I did.

And then just convert the front end if you want.

Or, hit me up and I have tons of the durango wheels for the front in yellow, and other parts too I won't use.
I don't think I want to do anything to the front. But I do want to convert the rear to 12 mm so that I can get any wheel I want. That's how it works, right?

So I can just order the v3 hexes and install them straight on to the v1 hub?
__________________
In and out of the hobby over the last 30 years

VINTAGE: Proud owner of an RC10 CE purchased waaay back in '92.
SORTA OLD: HPI RSR4 3 Evo nitro (hasn't been run in a long time).
MODERN: Durango DEX210v1. Rustler RTR purchased Feb '16 for my 5 yr-old daughter.
emerilnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2016, 04:29 PM   #17092
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 665
Default

Just get the exotek rear 12mm hex for the Dex.
WallyRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2016, 04:42 PM   #17093
Tech Regular
 
Pittster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Newcastle NSW
Posts: 400
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Well after seeing JP and Travis convert there cars for sideways shorty's and having a rained out race day, decided to change the 2wd and ST still have electronics to go will be interesting to see the changes.



__________________
Team Associated B6D, Speed Passion Reventon Pro 1.0, Hobbywing V10 7.5t
Team Associated B64D, Speed Passion Reventon Pro 1.1, Hobbywing V10 G2 6.5t
Team Associated B5M CE, Tekin Rs Gen2, Fleta ZX 17.5t
Pittster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2016, 04:46 PM   #17094
Tech Master
 
Laker67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,840
Trader Rating: 62 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pittster View Post
Well after seeing JP and Travis convert there cars for sideways shorty's and having a rained out race day, decided to change the 2wd and ST still have electronics to go will be interesting to see the changes.

Looks good! I'll have to try this out when the V3 becomes just a dirt car.
__________________
Thanks to my sponsors: Maclan Racing, Addiction RC, Exotek, Jconcepts, Futaba, and Trakpower
Brian Jenkins
Local track: Addiction RC in Ogden, UT - AddictionRC.net
Laker67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2016, 05:16 PM   #17095
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 665
Default

Let us know how it handles. We might all be doing it soon.
Thanks
WallyRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 06:32 AM   #17096
Tech Regular
 
Pittster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Newcastle NSW
Posts: 400
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WallyRC View Post
Let us know how it handles. We might all be doing it soon.
Thanks
Well I unfortunately dont have the talent available to truly know if its a better or worse change, but our outdoor track consist's of loose dirt medium grip so any additional rear grip will be welcome.

Both cars done with electronics, now to just wait for the next race meet to try them out. I do also agree the 210 v3 should of have the ability to do this maybe the v4 will have it ?

2wd


ST
__________________
Team Associated B6D, Speed Passion Reventon Pro 1.0, Hobbywing V10 7.5t
Team Associated B64D, Speed Passion Reventon Pro 1.1, Hobbywing V10 G2 6.5t
Team Associated B5M CE, Tekin Rs Gen2, Fleta ZX 17.5t
Pittster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 08:11 AM   #17097
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 28,770
Trader Rating: 234 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WallyRC View Post
Cain. Plan B Chasis and car looks great but I have bad news for you. If you have your car setup in 3 gear you have your motor on the wrong side. You have it on the side for 4 gear. Defeating the whole purpose and your motor must be running in reverse. You need to switch the motor plate to the other side. Make sure to switch the bearing for the lays shaft so they offset the pressure.
I usually use 12 gauge.
Have fun. Should run better.
ah okay, so it should look like how the durango pros cars look for motor location. Car runs great now, so excited to see if it runs better.

Maybe I read the directions wrong in the manual ...
__________________
Member - Red River Radio/Control Car Club
< Tekno SCT410.3 x 2 |HB Racing D413 x 2 | Tekno EB48SL x 2 | Yokomo YZ-2 DTM x 2>
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 08:20 AM   #17098
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Georgia
Posts: 116
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cain View Post
ah okay, so it should look like how the durango pros cars look for motor location. Car runs great now, so excited to see if it runs better.

Maybe I read the directions wrong in the manual ...
Yes, for 3-gear MM my plate is on the right side of centerline, and the wire terminals for the motor are on the left side of centerline.

For the ESC you sold me, I had to use the progauge and set the motor rotation from normal to reverse to spin the wheels the right direction.
__________________
In and out of the hobby over the last 30 years

VINTAGE: Proud owner of an RC10 CE purchased waaay back in '92.
SORTA OLD: HPI RSR4 3 Evo nitro (hasn't been run in a long time).
MODERN: Durango DEX210v1. Rustler RTR purchased Feb '16 for my 5 yr-old daughter.
emerilnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 08:55 AM   #17099
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 28,770
Trader Rating: 234 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emerilnut View Post
Yes, for 3-gear MM my plate is on the right side of centerline, and the wire terminals for the motor are on the left side of centerline.

For the ESC you sold me, I had to use the progauge and set the motor rotation from normal to reverse to spin the wheels the right direction.
yup thats what I did to basically which on the Hobbywing Esc I am using had a special software I had to download to do that.
__________________
Member - Red River Radio/Control Car Club
< Tekno SCT410.3 x 2 |HB Racing D413 x 2 | Tekno EB48SL x 2 | Yokomo YZ-2 DTM x 2>
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 08:59 AM   #17100
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Georgia
Posts: 116
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cain View Post
yup thats what I did to basically which on the Hobbywing Esc I am using had a special software I had to download to do that.
Check that. I had to change it from reverse to normal.
__________________
In and out of the hobby over the last 30 years

VINTAGE: Proud owner of an RC10 CE purchased waaay back in '92.
SORTA OLD: HPI RSR4 3 Evo nitro (hasn't been run in a long time).
MODERN: Durango DEX210v1. Rustler RTR purchased Feb '16 for my 5 yr-old daughter.
emerilnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
St Ives RC Club B4Bandit Australian Racing 16570 Today 03:48 AM
EPMTs check in here. (a subsidiary of TNT) overtki11 Singapore R/C Racers 55470 05-07-2017 11:57 PM
Team Durango DEX410 ASH93A Australian Racing 925 04-08-2013 09:51 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:45 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net