R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-10-2009, 07:38 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 114
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default Hotwire Help

ok soi just got thetekin hot wire and rx8 yesterday. i took it home and installed the software on my laptop and hooked up the rx8 to it to just check it out. then the computer would not bring it up. the lights are flashing correctly and everything. so i swaped out for my rs that has been previously programed and it came up but i got a LONG error message i hit continue and it went to the setup portion. so what is up with my RX8? i reset the computer, uninstalled the software and reinstalled. but i havent hooked up the esc wires yet or did the inital radio setup will that do it? anyhelp ould be great,
poncec23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2009, 04:09 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
fullsyzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Reno, Nevada
Posts: 1,574
Trader Rating: 103 (100%+)
Default

I had similar issues. My first problem was using a PC with Vista 64....that won't work. 2nd issue was not using the latest Hotwire software from Tekin's site. The disk that came with my Hotwire was an old version and wouldn't recognize the RX8. It would work with the FXR in my crawler but not the RX8. Try installing the latest version of software from Tekin.
fullsyzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2009, 04:28 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
rwhisen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: TX
Posts: 442
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by poncec23 View Post
ok soi just got thetekin hot wire and rx8 yesterday. i took it home and installed the software on my laptop and hooked up the rx8 to it to just check it out. then the computer would not bring it up. the lights are flashing correctly and everything. so i swaped out for my rs that has been previously programed and it came up but i got a LONG error message i hit continue and it went to the setup portion. so what is up with my RX8? i reset the computer, uninstalled the software and reinstalled. but i havent hooked up the esc wires yet or did the inital radio setup will that do it? anyhelp ould be great,
Make sure your ESC is plugged into the Hotwire otherwise it won't work. Install the latest version of the program downloaded from the Tekin site.
__________________
There = The car is over there. Break = Take a break.
Their = That is their car. Brake = Your brake isn't working
They're = They're not racing that car.
Your = That is your car.
You're = You're not driving it.
rwhisen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2009, 04:57 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
xDaRReLLx87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 836
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rwhisen View Post
Make sure your ESC is plugged into the Hotwire otherwise it won't work. Install the latest version of the program downloaded from the Tekin site.
I thought the program had a check for updates function?
__________________
Hyper 9E 2000KV T8/RX8- 4S Turnigy 4500 mah
Ko ProPo EX-1 UR 2.4 ghz, Hitec-7950TH
xDaRReLLx87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2009, 05:00 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
rwhisen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: TX
Posts: 442
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

It does however if it never gets to that point it won't do it....

The program starts, looks for the ESC then checks for updates.
__________________
There = The car is over there. Break = Take a break.
Their = That is their car. Brake = Your brake isn't working
They're = They're not racing that car.
Your = That is your car.
You're = You're not driving it.
rwhisen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2009, 09:02 PM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
xDaRReLLx87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 836
Default

Mine says no new updates found!!

First you load the program.
Then you can hit check for updates
it looks up site with a graphic similar
to the design of the RS ESC
then says no new updates found

then later it says can't find hot wire connection

I just did it
__________________
Hyper 9E 2000KV T8/RX8- 4S Turnigy 4500 mah
Ko ProPo EX-1 UR 2.4 ghz, Hitec-7950TH
xDaRReLLx87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2009, 09:16 PM   #7
Tech Champion
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 7,377
Trader Rating: 520 (100%+)
Default

you can check what version you are running, you may already have the current version, that may be why you get "no new updates found" ?
flame56mx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2009, 09:22 PM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
xDaRReLLx87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 836
Default

I have the new version, I can assure you
__________________
Hyper 9E 2000KV T8/RX8- 4S Turnigy 4500 mah
Ko ProPo EX-1 UR 2.4 ghz, Hitec-7950TH
xDaRReLLx87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 04:02 AM   #9
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Logan
Posts: 128
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

I had to manually download and install the latest. It wouldnt auto update, it just said it had the latest software. It wouldnt recognise the RX8 but would program an RSpro. After I did it manually it was all go.

Tekin is great gear, I love mine, runs excellent.
BAMBAM cheapsk8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 05:44 AM   #10
Tech Fanatic
 
xDaRReLLx87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 836
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BAMBAM cheapsk8 View Post
I had to manually download and install the latest. It wouldnt auto update, it just said it had the latest software. It wouldnt recognise the RX8 but would program an RSpro. After I did it manually it was all go.

Tekin is great gear, I love mine, runs excellent.
Yes, but even the download said that
__________________
Hyper 9E 2000KV T8/RX8- 4S Turnigy 4500 mah
Ko ProPo EX-1 UR 2.4 ghz, Hitec-7950TH
xDaRReLLx87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hotwire software??? Jstall7543 Electric Off-Road 7 08-01-2009 08:39 PM
Tekin Hotwire Software? ChadRacing Georgia Racing 9 02-09-2009 06:23 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:09 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net