R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-08-2009, 12:13 PM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Northern California
Posts: 906
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default servo options

I am driving a team associated B4. I have a Tekin motor and ESC and I was ready to start racing, but a mount on my servo broke and is not holding if I try to glue it. It was the stock servo from AE and I wanted to know what kind should I get for a new one. I do not know very much about servos and if more expensive = better in the servo world. I am not looking to break the bank, but I don't want a piece of junk either. Any ideas would be great. Thanks.
storytyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 12:33 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
xDaRReLLx87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 836
Default

What is the model of your servo?? You can order just the Case of most
servo's depending on brand and model, this would be your CHEAPEST route
for sure If you plan on getting a new servo the HS-985mg Coreless
is a very smooth and fast servo. Esp at 6.9-7.2v, though it's not digital
it is real fast on my XXX-CR which is a buggy I believe its a
$70 Servo A good digital will cost you upwards of 90-140. I'm quite
happy with the performance of this servo but If you give me
the model number I can help you find just a servo case
__________________
Hyper 9E 2000KV T8/RX8- 4S Turnigy 4500 mah
Ko ProPo EX-1 UR 2.4 ghz, Hitec-7950TH
xDaRReLLx87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 01:21 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
maxair45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 702
Trader Rating: 18 (95%+)
Default

hobbypartz.com

I got a coreless digital servo from there with metal gears and an array for servo horns for less than $20 shipped to my door. I've run it for a month now and still works GREAT. http://www.hobbypartz.com/60gexidised2.html

Pick the one that best suits you I went with the D227F for my 1/10 2wd staium truck for racing.
__________________
Sponsor:
Rcbros.com
maxair45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 08:14 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: st. louis
Posts: 845
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to cmain
Default

for the money it is hard to beat ACE/AE servos. I would reccomend the 1313 or 1015 both are great

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...-Digital-Servo

http://www.tiltedrc.com/product_info...c065be1d886f87
cmain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2009, 05:14 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
tacoracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Topeka, KS
Posts: 283
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to tacoracer
Default

Try Team Orion, I've been wanting to get a team orion servo but I'm waiting for my old one to die first. They are digital and are just below the $90 price mark. They appear to be extremely quick and powerful too.

http://www.teamorion.com/Products/Vortex+Digital+Servos
__________________
Associated RC10GT blue chassis w/ brushless conversion
Brushless Revo 3.3
Brushless Jammin X1 CR
tacoracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2009, 05:52 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
ajford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,242
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmain View Post
for the money it is hard to beat ACE/AE servos. I would reccomend the 1313 or 1015 both are great
+1. These are both fantastic servos....you will not be disappointed.
__________________
Castle Hill...... THE Vintage Venue in Sydney www.hillsoffroadrc.com
ajford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2009, 05:53 AM   #7
Tech Addict
 
GSRswapandslow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Taylorsville, NC
Posts: 691
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

ace/ae 1015 is, by far, the best all around offroad servo you can get!

200oz/.10s i mean...that's ideal! they're also cheaper than most of the competition

i, personally, run an HS7985 and like it a lot...but will most likely sell it and get a 1015 for myself.
__________________
Traxxas makes toys,Associated makes champs.
GSRswapandslow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2009, 12:21 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
porkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Niles,Michigan
Posts: 1,007
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tacoracer View Post
Try Team Orion, I've been wanting to get a team orion servo but I'm waiting for my old one to die first. They are digital and are just below the $90 price mark. They appear to be extremely quick and powerful too.

http://www.teamorion.com/Products/Vortex+Digital+Servos
Love there servos. There fast lot of tourqe in them and durable.
__________________
AE T4: 8.5 AE B4: 10.5 AE B44: 7.5
www.michianabuildingsupplies.com(Sponsor)
www.embassyrcraceway.com
www.michianarc.com
www.steelmx.com(Sponsor)
porkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2009, 01:01 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
kufman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Elburn, IL
Posts: 3,424
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Unless you are doing super competitive racing, you will be fine running some of the cheaper servos out there like the JR Z590M, Hitech 625MG, or the Futaba 3305. A super high speed servo will probably cause you more problems that they are worth if you haven't raced before.
__________________
Brushes? We don't need no stinking brushes!!!
kufman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2009, 01:12 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
rcman1993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 1,005
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

dont get a super fast servo, going from that stock servo to a fast one is hard because you have to get used to it. i would get something with .14 transit and 140 oz of torque, perfect for you.
__________________
X-Factory X-6 Squared w/17.5 Duo 2, Tekin RS Pro, 3PK
AE, X-Factory, Tekin, Trinity, Futaba, Proline, JConcepts, Team Orion
AMS Raceway, Larrys RC
rcman1993 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2009, 02:02 PM   #11
Tech Prophet
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,705
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Spektrum has a new servo coming out which has some pretty impressive specs. all titanium gears, .08 speed and 167 oz of torque. All for $79.99. Only problem is they are not out yet. Supposed to be end of this month though.

http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products...odID=SPMSH6040
__________________
TLR/Losi Team Driver
TLR/Losi | Tekin | DE Racing | Spektrum | Exotek | JBRL | Kolor Koncepts | OC/RC |Sticky Kicks | Imagine It Graphics | Casper-RC.com
TLR 22 4.0 SR, TLR 22SCT 3.0, TLR 22-4 2.0, TLR Ten-SCTE 3.0, Spektrum DX6R

WWW.CASPER-RC.COM TLR and Tekin setups
Casper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2009, 02:11 PM   #12
Tech Fanatic
 
xDaRReLLx87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 836
Default

About time Spektrum will make a good servo lol
always trusted JR, and hitec, Orion look good
as well. Very nice specs wonder what type of
voltage it could take, I like to use 6.8v

It is made for helicopters though and for that
those stats are mandatory for both speed and'
strength.

One problem however, that servo
horn will not work with most cars!!
You would have to cut 2 of the arms off
and rig it up, unless it comes with some
extra horns, but stand warned helicopters
use much larger horns, many of which are
the large circle disc type, my father
has been flying heli's for 30 years now
__________________
Hyper 9E 2000KV T8/RX8- 4S Turnigy 4500 mah
Ko ProPo EX-1 UR 2.4 ghz, Hitec-7950TH
xDaRReLLx87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2009, 02:43 PM   #13
Tech Prophet
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,705
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Dude-- You just use the right horn that comes with your kit. I will either be 23-25 spline and you can put it in your car. We used to use an airtronics "helicopter" servo in our cars since it centered better. I can't remeber the number anymore but the case size is the same and that is what really matters.
__________________
TLR/Losi Team Driver
TLR/Losi | Tekin | DE Racing | Spektrum | Exotek | JBRL | Kolor Koncepts | OC/RC |Sticky Kicks | Imagine It Graphics | Casper-RC.com
TLR 22 4.0 SR, TLR 22SCT 3.0, TLR 22-4 2.0, TLR Ten-SCTE 3.0, Spektrum DX6R

WWW.CASPER-RC.COM TLR and Tekin setups
Casper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2009, 03:08 PM   #14
Tech Fanatic
 
xDaRReLLx87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 836
Default

well I wasn't meaning that the horns teeth are different from
heli's to cars, I was talking about the brand as a whole
but im sure it will have the same teeth count as an
already existing brand horn in a kit, as Spektrum
is technically a JR 23T you would have to use
the JR horn. Earlier I was meaning that the
horns that come with the servo itself
are made for helicoptors and planes
and will be bigger than you need
but your car kit should have the correct horn

Keep in mind if you use the servo Casper selected
you will just have to use the JR horn in your car kit
__________________
Hyper 9E 2000KV T8/RX8- 4S Turnigy 4500 mah
Ko ProPo EX-1 UR 2.4 ghz, Hitec-7950TH

Last edited by xDaRReLLx87; 09-09-2009 at 03:33 PM.
xDaRReLLx87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XRay T2 '007 EU with options, spares and tools qwkpony R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 06-06-2007 06:02 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone W/LOTS of Spares/Options and 9550 servo dway100 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 18 07-06-2006 09:44 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:15 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net