Wiki Posts
Search

4WD vs 2WD

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2009, 10:44 PM
Tech Initiate

Default 4WD vs 2WD

Hi guys,

I'm new to the racing scene, but before I dive in I want to figure out which class would be best for me.

My history: Ive had 2 Rustler VXLs for about a year now, and an RC18MT before that. I haven't had any race experience, all bashing. My employer has a dirt r/c track that I run my VXL on now and then.

What I'm considering:

T4, B4, B44 (and all variants thereof)

Given that I already have a 2wd stadium truck, I'm hesitant to get another. Why have two vehicles in the same class? That said, I know the T4 would be a much more balanced truck than my Rusty.

My questions are:

Whats the gap in experience between 4wd and 2wd? Is there any reason to get a truck over a buggy? What's the difference between the plain model, the RS, and Factory Team editions? I can't tell any difference just by browsing the Team Associated site.

Thanks guys!
Old 07-06-2009, 10:47 PM
Tech Addict

Personally I find 4wd much more fun to drive, and a lot easier to drive at pace.
Old 07-07-2009, 12:20 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

I would suggest the T4 as your first step.. The Rustler is really no comparison in handling and tuning options. Yes they are both trucks, but the Rustler is a basher vehicle.. the T4 is a race truck..

A 4wd is best with a fast modified or brushless motor system.. given that, it is not for a beginner. With any hot motor, you will break parts a lot more often.. even a 2wd.. so its going to be a lot to handle. Now.. put a stock/17.5 or a superstock/13.5 and it is going to be a lot easier to handle.. still.. there are a lot more parts and more things to take care of.. so again not for a beginner. If you have patients.. and $$$.. go for it!