Wiki Posts
Search

Lipo overcharge?

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2009, 07:47 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Lipo overcharge?

I am just getting into 1/8 electric and had my lhs make me up a y connector for my 2 2s lipos, and when I made the connections there was a big spark. So I checked my battery voltage on my venom charger and when I tried to recharge both batteries now read over voltage? Does this mean they are ruined since I believe somwhere in the y connector the positive and negative were crossed causing the short/spark? I also tried to dexhare but got the same over voltage responce.
Old 03-10-2009, 07:54 AM
Tech Adept

I meant to say I tried to de-charge the batteries as well. Should I try to run them in my truck to lower the voltage, or will it mess up my mamba max speedo?
Old 03-10-2009, 08:10 AM
Tech Rookie

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

From what you are saying, your batteries can't be overcharged. They never accepted any charge. If anything, they shorted to each other and are both more discharged. That, or your charger got smoked.
Old 03-10-2009, 08:22 AM
Tech Adept

they were both fully charged and placed in the truck. I made the connection while trying to go drive it. My speedo was luckily turned off, so I'm pretty sure it works with my Losi 4s. I don't think the charger has anything to do wit it, besides it worked after the fact with different batteries.
Old 03-10-2009, 08:47 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)

Originally Posted by bosshog64
they were both fully charged and placed in the truck. I made the connection while trying to go drive it. My speedo was luckily turned off, so I'm pretty sure it works with my Losi 4s. I don't think the charger has anything to do wit it, besides it worked after the fact with different batteries.
For some reason the MMM V3 sparks when you plug the plugs together. Every one I have seen do this. Plug it in and go run your car!