R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-30-2008, 10:31 AM   #1
Tech Adept
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 159
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default Need 3PK help with recivers

Will a 3PK radio work with an older Futaba R133F fm 75mhz reciever?? I would like to buy a used 3PK for around $100 but all the ones i find have no recievers and i have this old (well a few years old) Futaba R133F reciever but i dont know if it will work with the 3PK - i think i remember when the 3PK's first came out there was something with them that caused them not to work right with Novak xxl's and regular futaba recievers but i cant remember for sure.
smoke229 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 10:52 AM   #2
Tech Elite
badassrevo's Avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Roaming Shores, Ohio
Posts: 3,321
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)

It should work just fine, you just can't use HRS mode.
Doug Lightcap

ARCS Hobbies / Paint Monster Airbrushing / BFast / Tonys Screws
badassrevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 01:45 PM   #3
Tech Lord
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)

Yes, it will work. 3PK runs in one of 3 transmit modes - HRS, PCM and PPM. You select the mode via the various menus in the radio. PPM is the one compatible with the older PPM mode. The Futaba R113ip receivers use PCM and Futaba R203HS uses the HRS mode. HRS requires digitial servos and is not to be used with analog servos.

You will not have the internal low voltage or the loss of signal failsafes when running in the PPM mode - that is one thing the older rxs didn't have. Ebay is a great source for rxs - I but mine there when I need some - I run the R113ip PCM rxs so I can have the failsafes, but I have 18th rcs that use ppm (Novak XXL rx - PPM) cause there is so little room. I also run a FAAST 2.4Ghz in a few rcs as well.

There are other brand receivers that will work with the 3PK, you just have to know what mode they run on.

Make sure you get the manual or go to Futabas site and download it. Its complicated enough that it'll be a royal pia to try and figure out on your own, and it's simple once you've got the manual! Its a great radio, has a ton of features and is very flexible. I've had mine almost 4yrs and run nearly everything I own with it.
Duster_360 is offline   Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:46 PM.

Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0