R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-26-2008, 08:23 AM   #1
Tech Initiate
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ticino,Switzerland
Posts: 28
Default lipo:3s or 2s???

hi guys,little question:

if i want more runtime,is better a 3s lipo or a 2s lipo???

or everything depends on how much ampere has the battery???? type +ampere=+runtime????


p.s. sorry for my english
lumpy_91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2008, 09:07 AM   #2
Tech Addict
trickedyfz450's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 692
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

A three cell lipo is going to have a higher voltage then a two cell lipo I wouldn't say that your going to get more run time though out of a three cell vs a two cell that all depends on the mah. becareful though you may end up burning up your speed control or motor if its not rated to handle 3 cell lipos.
trickedyfz450 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2008, 09:14 AM   #3
Tech Fanatic
jmcvicker's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SE Pennsylvania
Posts: 814
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

Runtime equates to mAh numbers.

Runtime of 2S 4000mAh is lower than 2S 5400mAh.

The "h" is "hour" - think time. MilliAmp Hour. Amps over time is runtime.

Now, 3S is higher voltage - if you went from 2S 3800 to 3S 5400 - you get more runtime and some insane speed vs. the 2S. You may get less runtime - because you'll run faster and may break A-arms, easier Also, some ESCs will not allow higher voltage of 3S vs. 2S. More likely, you should stick with 2S and go as high as you can afford with the mAh numbers.
jmcvicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2008, 04:16 AM   #4
Tech Initiate
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ticino,Switzerland
Posts: 28

ok,thanks to all for the answers
lumpy_91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2008, 06:24 AM   #5
Tech Regular
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 265

In very general terms, total battery power capacity is its capacity (mAh) times voltage (# of cells).

In that sense, a 2S 4500mAh is equivalent to a 3S 3000mAh.

However, that's only true if you change the motor kV to compensate for higher voltage to keep the same RPM.

For example, to get the same speed and runtime you'd want either a 2S 4500mAh Lipo with a 5700kV motor, or a 3S 3000mAh Lipo with a 3800kV motor.

If you keep the same motor, and plug in a higher voltage battery, you will get more speed and shorter runtime.

(Also, if supported by your ESC/motor, a higher voltage setup *may* be a *little* more efficient overall, but this usually matters more at high-cell counts like 4S vs. 6S.)

Edit: In your case, if you're already using a 2S Lipo, and you want longer runtime, it will be a lot easier to change to another 2S Lipo with a higher capacity (mAh rating), since that way you will not need to change the motor or ESC.
shurcooL is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RC FLIGHT brading Manila Racers 23110 12-24-2015 06:23 PM
NORTH AMERICAN MINI CHAMPIONSHIPS duneland Micro and Mini Scales 202 03-06-2009 01:28 PM
Cheep Lipo's DHC6 Electric Off-Road 59 01-25-2009 12:29 PM
brushless help for a Losi xxx-cr(Novak XBR 10.5 any good) pwnzor Electric Off-Road 12 09-15-2008 12:23 PM
OK ANOTHER DUMB QUESTION.... NEVADAGARY Radio and Electronics 8 09-03-2008 03:24 PM
Lithium batteries - LiPo LiMn etc sim600 Malaysian R/C Racers 158 03-24-2008 10:49 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:23 AM.

Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0