Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Any friendly advice

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2015, 02:38 AM
Tech Rookie

Post Any friendly advice

Hey, I am relatively new to rc cars and I have found myself in a bit of a pickle and am hoping for some friendly advice from some more experienced people.

I am Australian so I will use Aud.

Note that my nearest LHS is over 150km away and the next best thing I have on hand is a Leading Edge Electronics store but they just sell RTR.

Ok so I bought the BSR BZ-444 from hobbyking in rtr, along with a battery and charger, thinking that it would be a decent first step into rc cars. Long story short the spur gear is chewed up and the rear left wheel has snapped off at the axle (sorry, don’t know terminology yet) and there is a plethora of other more minor problems I noticed. All this has happened within 45min of running it on my lawn. I am definitely noticing that I got what I paid for.

Now I have a few questions:

1. The plastic spur gears on hobbyking seem to be backordered and there are no metal ones I can find, the only other option is a kevlar spur gear, can anyone tell me whether this material is any good?

2. I would like to buy another higher quality car, is it worth salvaging what I can from this car and building another car from a kit with the electronics or am I better off fixing this car and getting a better quality RTR model?

Either way I'm setting myself a budget of around 450$ish aud (325$ish usd) but I'm willing to go over if I need to.

I will be running on about 30% on road asphalt/concrete, 20% bike dirt tracks and 50% well-kept grass, parks and lawns etc. But it will all just be bashing, no racing. Although if people recommend against anything I am open to suggestions. it can be 4wd or 2wd, I don't mind. I don't mind getting anything a sct, buggy, truggy or stadium truck just not a monster truck or rock crawler, I would like to make durability a priority over speed but decent speeds are always nice.