Wiki Posts
Search

Electric RC gearing

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2008, 12:37 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Electric RC gearing

So i'm sure you all know me by now, i ask a lot of questions! This time it is about proper gearing for electric RCs. So i've been reading quite a bit about this but i'm still a bit confused mostly due to terminology and conventions. Because i am an engineering student i learned it this way: A gear ratio is output over input. Therefore a higher gear ratio would mean there is higher torque output / lower required torque from input / higher output speed. A lower gear ratio would have lower torque output / higher required torque from input / lower output speed. I noticed that on Traxxas' website, specifically in the Rustler VXL page, they show a table for proper gearing for certain voltages used. What i noticed is that they lower the gear ratio as the voltage goes up. Why is this? Voltage ONLY affects the motor's speed and not torque. So to stop the motor from over working shouldn't you increase the gear ratio to make the required torque from input less? My understanding is that since the motor's speed is increased due to an increase in voltage, it will have a harder time reaching peak RPM because the torque stays the same. Therefore, you would need to lower the required torque input by increasing the gear ratio no?

Oh, also on a sidenote... i'm planning on using the Mamba Max SideWinder ESC with the VXL BL motor. Are there any required modifications to the Traxxas Slash, ESC, or VXL BL motor so that they will fit / operate correctly with each other? (ie. correct wires / parts fitting)

Thank you all!
Old 12-01-2008, 12:56 PM
Tech Fanatic

http://www.electricmotors.machinedes.../bdeee1_1.aspx