Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
What is TOO TECHNICAL for an off road track?? >

What is TOO TECHNICAL for an off road track??

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

What is TOO TECHNICAL for an off road track??

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2008, 08:21 AM
Tech Elite

Two rules in buggy track layout...

1. It should be driveable by an absolute beginner with basic equipment.

2. There should be at least one start/finish straight without obstacles.

Common misperception is that a track needs to be difficult to be challenging for the best drivers. Actually that is competely untrue. Good track layouts are driveable by everyone but still let the best drivers shine. Little tricks like jumps that reward throttle control instead of raw power, and chicanes that have a very fast line for the tidiest drivers, but can be very slow for people that miss the apex.

PS a third rule - sadly not always as obvious to designers as it should be - the track should not be a bona-fide car-breaker. Big air may look like fun but swiftly becomes less fun when half the field are breaking parts, a rutted, bumpy surface that puts cars on the lid for no reason doesn't help either.
Old 11-14-2008, 09:31 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 110 (100%+)

Originally Posted by RCHR
If thats what he said, then stop going to that track if your not having fun. Go elsewhere and enjoy your hobby. And I say this as a track owner myself.
I have to totally agree with this. If the owner listened to you and still doesn't want to do anything about it then you really dont have many options. Either drive a track that you dont like and are not really having much fun (kinda defeats the purpose of having a hobby). Or stop going and stop supporting them.

Since you have another local track I would just go there instead.
Old 11-14-2008, 10:01 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)