R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-30-2008, 08:07 AM   #1
Tech Initiate
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 26
Default HYPERIONquestion

Thanks to all that gave advice on chargers.
ive settled on the hyperion for my son.
i dont want him to have all the fun!
so if i race with him am i better off with 2 hyperion chargers or the duo?
we will be racing outdoors and i will be using a honda eu2000 inverter
generator.the only reason im thinking 2 chargers is in case he wants to bash
when im not home. i was also thinking the ac/dc hyperion?
HOWIE BEDELL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2008, 09:45 AM   #2
Tech Master
TwoTone's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,002
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)

All I can give you is my thoughts.

While having the dual charger is nice; I look at it this way,if a key part fails that effects both, you're out 2 chargers.

Based on my experience, it's really nice having the flexibility to charge AC or DC and not need a power supply.

I have the 606i and plan on getting a second one.
TwoTone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2008, 10:01 AM   #3
Tech Elite
K_King's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,129
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to K_King

I just ordered a Duo. Im not worried about it failing at all. If anything Im more worried about ESCs blowing up. It will be nice to save pit space for just 1 charger now thats for sure.
TLR - Spektrum - Pro-Line - Stickit1- Schelle - B-Fast Performance
K_King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2008, 10:36 AM   #4
Tech Elite
kufman's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Elburn, IL
Posts: 3,407
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

The duo is nice, very flexible. I have used it to charge two 12 cell NiMH packs at the same time and it has no trouble at all. You can charge almost anything with it and you don't have to go to low current when the cell count gets high.
kufman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2008, 11:13 AM   #5
Tech Master
Bulldawg RC's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,928
Trader Rating: 64 (98%+)

Many of my customers have ordered the duo and really like it. I think alot of this comes down to personal preference and how you want your setup to be. Good luck with your choice.
Bulldawg R/C Batteries and Products
Nimh and Lipo Batteries and accessories
Team Driver for: Proline, Team Epic/Trinity, Hex Crew, Bulldawg R/C, Speed Demon Hobbies ~~~~TEAM CRUNCHY~~~~
Bulldawg RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2008, 09:48 PM   #6
Tech Master
BISBEE 248's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: so cal
Posts: 1,835
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

i just bought the duo for the reedy race and it was nice,u cant really think well if one blows up i have the other cause then u might as well say if 2 blow up i better have a third,there always maybe but..??
due is nice cause you can charge your packs then i was charging someone
elsis smaller battery at the same time,u can adjust for size of battery..
just my food for though,the extra room on the table is great also..
Brent Bisbee #248 AKA:Captain Red cup racing

Speedtechrc.com: The only way to shop
TLRacing.com / ProlineRacing.com / Airtronics.net / Miponline.com / Rcinsider.com / Bartolone Motors / Home of the "Bisbee no tell motel"-on wheels..
BISBEE 248 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 04:50 AM   #7
Tech Champion
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,127
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to abailey21

I've got the Duo as well and its a great charger, balancing 2 LiPo's at the same time is choice.

I've never once thought what would happen if it failed, its a wasted worry IMO, just get the charger, take care of it and it shouldn't go bad. Look around at the track at the old guy using his Comp Elec Turbo 30 circa 1994 which still to this day works like a champ.

I still have a Novak T4 bought in 1993 (I think), and it still works like it was brand new, point is just take care of your stuff and you shouldn't have to replace anything
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:27 AM.

Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0