R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric Off-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-off-road-4/)
-   -   2wd vs 4wd durability? (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-off-road/227799-2wd-vs-4wd-durability.html)

xxbrandnewxx 06-19-2008 03:54 PM

2wd vs 4wd durability?

Sorry i know this has been asked before, but im just getting into racing and i have had several off road cars growing up and im just wondering why people consider 2wd more durable then 4wd. I have a 2wd buggy and i would really like to race in both classes but it just seems everyone has alot more problems with 4wd buggies breaking.
Right now Im looking at the b44... if i dont get a 4wd ill probably pick up a T4 or someother truck to race but id really like to try 4wd with out having to worry about replacing parts all the time. anyways im sorry its definitely vague question but any info or reason i shouldnt go 4wd would be helpful thanks

Nik 06-19-2008 04:24 PM

with 4wd you break more parts because your going so much faster when you fit the wall :lol:

mkiiina 06-19-2008 04:32 PM

It depends. On a buggy you are more likely to break parts if you wreck as they tend to be lighter weight for increased performance, this is regardless of 2wd or 4wd.

On the 4wd vs 2wd front, statistically 4wd has more moving parts so there is more to go wrong and wear over time. It all depends on how hard you drive it.

On my 2wd vs 4wd cars they break about the same consistency so I can't really complain.

ckaspar 06-19-2008 04:33 PM

It probably does not help that there are more parts that can break on a 4wd. Basically you have a rear end in the fron too so...

xxbrandnewxx 06-19-2008 04:38 PM

Thanks I actually was just playing with a buddies b44 and I like it so i think ill look more into them also i noticed the new sx coming out is belt driven as apposed to shaft driven are there any benefits over one or the other?

Nik 06-19-2008 04:44 PM