R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-27-2007, 02:16 PM   #1
Tech Initiate
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 46
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Unhappy GTB install in truck? too many important sides...


In what direction do you all install your novak GTB speed controls into trucks such as the T4 or XXXT? I installed it "wires toward the back" first, but realized you can't see the leds...

Every direction works, but there's always something at a disadvantage.
Wires back=can't see leds
Wires forwards=block airflow and both sets (motor and receiver) of wires are furthest away
Wires inboard=poor airflow and the receiver wires and pins are exposed
Wires out=poor airflow and then the wires seem to take up the whole truck

How did you do it?
AEoffroader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2007, 02:30 PM   #2
Tech Master
JeromeB's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,691
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to JeromeB

Mines in a B4 but its the same chassis config. as the T4. Power wires towards the back, just program it before you mount it.
JeromeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2007, 02:35 PM   #3
Tech Elite
joe of loath's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

can't you tspread them out around the LED so you can see it?
HPI E-Firestorm - Tamiya TA05 racer (carbon chassis, 10.5 brushless etc) - LRP Blast S10 BX - Revo 2.5r truggy conversion (in progress)
joe of loath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2007, 04:33 PM   #4
Tech Master
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,028
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)

or just put the power wires toward the battery and then i zip tie the cap to the motor wires. if done right it looks super clean
Leon McIntosh
PRO-LINE--XRAY--RCAmerica--FX Engines--NitroPro Fuel--Kustom R/C Graphics--Schelle Racing

******* DialedSetups.com ****** Check it out!!!!!
punkracer24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2007, 04:54 PM   #5
Tech Addict
scott54's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 693
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

It's important to mount it with the wires towards the back because you want the air to flow through the heatsink. If you mount it sideways it won't get any airflow and you'll have to use a fan. You'll still be able to see the lights, just leave a little gap. You may have to take your battery out to see the lights but that's the best way to mount it.
TLR Racing - ARCS Speedway - B-Fast Racing - Dialed RC - G-Force
scott54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2007, 05:23 PM   #6
Tech Champion
air8's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutch, KS
Posts: 5,748
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

In my T4 I have tried it two different ways. Wires to the back (currently) and LEDs to the back, which I think puts the wires to the outside of the chassis. Both ways work well. Currently with the led's towards the battery tray, I look at the led's from the other side of the truck. No big deal. I have the ESC set all the way to the outside of the chassis so there is a small gap to view the led's. You can change the position around if you don't like it. Just don't use CA glue (super glue) to mount it. Use the clear 3M double sided tape. That stuff is very good. Much better than the old double sided foam tape.
--Driver...you are cleared into the track.....Smoke On.

--"U Ain't Fast!!"
Chris Pearce
air8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2007, 08:07 PM   #7
Tech Initiate
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 46
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

Thanks...I ended up moving it to the very outside as suggested and can just see the LEDs now.
AEoffroader is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Convert Stick Packs to Side-by-sides? nckmat Radio and Electronics 10 03-24-2008 07:41 AM
6 cell side-by-sides with deans???? T-Rev R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 07-13-2007 12:42 PM
Switching radio sides LogiK Rookie Zone 2 09-30-2006 06:51 PM
:IMPORTANT: OUTLAW MINI RACING!! :IMPORTANT: Big Reg Australian Racing 8 09-28-2006 07:07 AM
how to install a cvd pin? aquito Electric On-Road 3 05-06-2006 06:39 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:41 AM.

Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0