R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Old 12-23-2007, 06:28 PM   #1
Tech Elite
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default 1/8 Conversion Advice Needed

So I have decided my next project is going to be a 1/8th buggy conversion. I am pretty new to RC, so I am looking for some advice from the Jedi electric conversion guys as to the best set up for this project. I don't have any significant budgetary constraints, so I am trying to find out what the most reliable set up is. I know I have three choices - fast, reliable, and cheap. I can only pick two. I am looking for reliable and fast.

In other words, if money isn't an object what motor, esc, and other parts (mounts) would you pick for a car that is lightly raced on a track and then used for up to 60 mph speed runs? I am assuming I need a 4s setup for the track and then 5s/6s maybe for tooling around the neighborhood with taller gearing.

From my research thus far, it seems Neu motors are the way to go, but I still don't know what ESC I am supposed to use. I am also a little confused about the sizes. I know I need 1512 and some say 1515, but I don't know if I need 2y or 1.5d, etc for my purposes.

Finally, which car converts the easiest? I am leaning towards an RC8 or 8ight. I also like the X-Ray. My main concern is having easy access to replacement parts. I am a new driver, so I am probably not going to notice the subtle difference in handling necessarily. I want durability and ease of replacing busted parts.

Cars I've Owned: Tekno EB48 & SCT410, AE 8.2e, AE SC10 4x4, MBX6e Tekno V4, Xray 808e, Xray 8Te, Losi 810e, Losi SCTE 4x4, Losi 22, Hot Bodies Ve8, Losi 8te, and plenty of Traxxas

Sponsors: Visa, Mastercard, Amex, and my wife's bank account.
Edumakated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2007, 07:18 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)

Start here:

RC Product Designs
SCTE and 22T
Lovin' the Barn!
Doing the "League" at DirtBurners!