Wiki Posts
Search

Help new guy setup Losi XXX-T

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-2007, 07:34 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default Help new guy setup Losi XXX-T

Hey guys, I am just getting into R/C cars and I really like them. The thing is I am getting discouraged since I am having trouble setting it up and right now I dont feel it handles well at all. It pushes through the turns like crazy and has very low traction. I have tried 5 different sets of tires but the problem is setup related.

I bought the car used. It is a Team Losi XXX-T MF1. The track I ride at is a very hard packed, wet clay like surface. Tight and fairly smooth. (It is Long Island Raceway. I see a lot of people post here from the area.)The best tires I have found so far are the Pro Line Holeshots. I have Losi Directionals in the front but I still need to try out the Pro Line Blades which may be better.

Anyway I am not new to chassis/suspension setup. I know about camber, caster, toe, ackerman effect, spring rates, damping, oil weights, and other setup parameters and their effects. I am just not familiar with R/C cars and what specific setups they require.

Right now the car has yellow/flourescent yellow springs in the rear and red springs in the front if that makes any difference.

I looked up some of the setups of Matt Francis and other drivers and tried to half emulate their setup and that made things worse. First off because I am not a good driver yet and because I didnt go all the way through with their settings.

I think what I will do is redo all four shocks with different oil and spring rates and change their position on the shock towers. Then change all 4 wheels settings for camber and toe.

What would be a good starting point to put the car at? What toe, camber, shock setup ect...

I see the blank setups sheets like this...

http://www.losiboard.com/pdf/xxxt_LB.pdf

It would be nice if someone could somehow fill that out but I understand thats asking for a lot.