R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Old 07-25-2007, 10:50 AM   #1
Tech Regular
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to sloshedmr_bones Send a message via Yahoo to sloshedmr_bones
Default Battery charger

I have done some reading and found nothing on this so i am asking it now. I am using a piranha peak digital charger and have been for a while. I have noticed while the pack is charging the charger gets fairly hot and when its done the battery and charger are both hot is this normal? Additionally the battery I am using is a venom 3000mah and i have been curious about the other features of my charger and i read the manual but tells me nothing. It has a trickle charge on it what exactly is that? It charges my 3000 only up to 2700 mah why is that? My settings when i charge it are 2.5 amps with a 3ma/c with 100mv trickle. Is it something that im doing or is it just the battery pack itself? I am still learning this electric stuff so i am sure thats part of it. The connections to the battery are fine they dont pull out easy, the battery isnt brand new but its fairly new like 6 to 8 months. I want to be able to charge my battery to its full capacity. I want to understand the charge amps, ma/c, mv trickle charge. I know what the abbreviations mean now how do i use them? Any information would be a great help. Thanx
sloshedmr_bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 04:26 PM   #2
Tech Addict
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

it is fairlly normal for a charger and battery to get quite warm, as far as not charging up to the full capacity either there is residual charger left over from the run, and only 2700 of the 3000 need to be put back in. it is also possible that the battery is just warn out.
raceGEEK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 06:50 PM   #3
Tech Fanatic
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)