R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-20-2007, 10:23 PM   #1
Tech Apprentice
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 61
Default Is my Power Supply Big Enough?

I'm running the Integy 10 amp power supply, and the new checkpoint charger (pretty much the same as the ICE.)

I've gone the Lipo direction, charging Orion 3200's at 3.2 amps.

From what I'm told, your power supply should be = or > the total number of amps you're charging at.

So my question, will my 10 amp power supply be able to handle 2 checkpoint chargers both charging at 3.2 amps each?
Eggman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 10:38 PM   #2
Tech Lord
UN4RACING's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,135
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)

Yes. As long as you don't go over 10 amps. I would play it safe and to keep it from getting hot, I would not go over the 6.4 that you are talking. You'll be fine.
The owners manual says 15 amps to cover from surging and stuff. Trying to keep a more consistent voltage to the charger.
UN4RACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 11:47 PM   #3
Tech Elite
Turbo Joe's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)

I charge with two ICE chargers at 4.8 with my N-Power (10A)...done it for a couple years now, never once had a problem.

Chargers for LiPo aren't as sensitive as NiMh chargers. They're not looking for small voltage fluctuations.
Turbo Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 10:25 AM   #4
Tech Master
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,141
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)

You should be fine with 120 watt ps.

A 2s battery is 25 watts each so you won't even be using half the power with 2 chargers.
gulio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 12:22 PM   #5
Tech Fanatic
RC Corral's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Waukesha, Wisconsin
Posts: 777

I also run a 10 amp N power by novak and run an Ice at 4.0 amps and an intellipeak digital at 4.0 amps (or so) and have had no trouble.
If you overtax the power supply, your charger will notify you of the lack if suffient input power. ( if its like the Ice, that is)
RC Corral is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer power supply used for charger power supply? 66Racer Radio and Electronics 7 05-24-2008 11:52 PM
RC BLOW OUT !!!! Ice chargers,novak discharger,power supply,power bridge,integy setup shrum1340 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 07-23-2007 04:37 AM
>>> TEAM NOVAK N-POWER POWER SUPPLY GREAT CONDITION $50 <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 02-06-2007 09:53 PM
turning pc power supply into a rc power supply andy_666 Electric On-Road 20 01-16-2006 04:20 PM
SEC Power Supply vs. Hobbico Power Supply? F1Junkie Electric On-Road 1 06-05-2004 07:52 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:38 PM.

Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0