Community
Wiki Posts
Search

2wd v 4wd Buggy

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2007, 10:21 AM
Tech Rookie

Default 2wd v 4wd Buggy

this has probably been asked time after time i bet but doing a search on the forums hasnt brought up any results..

basically im new to the whole buggy scene. i want to buy my first electric Tamiya buggy. BUT i am totally confused and cant decide wether to get a 2wd or a 4wd buggy...

i dont want to race or compete. i just want to have a mess around at the park and do things with it like skids, spins and tricks..
i have heard that 4wd buggies tend to break eaier than 2wd..

any advice lads?
Old 05-16-2007, 11:28 AM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

I don't think you'll regret buying either. Just make sure that parts are readily available for whatever you buy. I have plenty of fun with 2wd buggies and trucks, but the surface you run on and type of tires will determine the traction available. The 4wd will definately get more traction and be easier to handle on loose stuff.

Personally I'd see what parts are carried at the local shops and buy based on that. An Associated or Losi buggy will be a lot of fun, and you should consider them as well. 1/10 Stadium trucks are great too.
Old 05-16-2007, 03:09 PM
Tech Legend

Trader Rating: 294 (100%+)

If you are set on a buggy, for bashing I probably would go with a 4wd buggy. Its true there are more moving parts, so more stuff going on, but the handling is much better.

One way to look at it, take a truck and go offroading, would you prefer to have a 2wd truck, or one with 4wd?

I did the bashing thing with a 4wd buggy before, with my first XX-4, was quite fun, more so than the RC10T3 I picked up next do to the 4wd being there.

For a tamiya, the Dark impact doesn't look to bad.

You could also look at the Academy sb V2 sport.
Old 05-16-2007, 03:12 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)