R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-29-2007, 11:04 AM   #16
Tech Initiate
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 32

Both still do it. No response from e-mails to Trinity. Very disappointed in product and customer service. Oh well, there are many more companies that make similar products and have exceptional customer service that will get my money (Much More!).
johnnyboydh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2007, 11:15 AM   #17
Tech Elite
K_King's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,127
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to K_King

Yes they never answered mine as well. Instead I purchased the Much More discharger, and it works flawelessy. Its very nice.
TLR - Spektrum - Pro-Line - Stickit1- Schelle - B-Fast Performance
K_King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2007, 05:27 AM   #18
Tech Regular
revsinc's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Perth
Posts: 436
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)

I have just got one and i am having the same problems too,
if you flip the pack over it, it seems fix it and away it goes,
revsinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 01:09 PM   #19
Tech Apprentice
tyreman's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: U.K
Posts: 55

Just a quick follow up on this thread, I had this problem happen to me the other week, and it turned out if you leave the cells for a week, and one cells drops below a certain voltage the unit can't seem to recognise there is a pack in the tray, and asks you to connect the battery.
tyreman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 02:54 PM   #20
Tech Elite
Glowster21's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,471
Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)

I got rid of my DPD for the same reason....It would never read the pack in the tray. I got so annoyed with it saying that there was an error that I boxed it up and shipped it off. New cells, old cells, didn't matter. I would even use a dremel sanding drum on the solder joints before putting it in the tray. 7 out of 10 times it could not read them. Spent a little more money, bought a Much More Discharger, problem solved. Funny though how they were always recognized on my Smart Tray but rarely on the DPD.
Glowster21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2007, 01:14 AM   #21
Tech Regular
GymBeam's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Losi|Novak|MuchMore
Posts: 434
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

^^^ you got rid of a perfectly good working DPD.

the DPD determines the number of cells in the pack by discharging for a millisecond, thats why it shows the IR at startup. If you have a cell which is very very low on voltage or zero voltage, then it thinks that there is no cell in that position. (which isnt a good thing for the IB cells anyway)

therefore you need at least a little bit of charge in the packs for the DPD to recognise that there is a cell there.
GymBeam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2007, 06:35 PM   #22
Tech Master
johnnyboy's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,634
Trader Rating: 28 (97%+)

^^^No way man. I had one that did it and have seen NUMEROUS ones do the same thing. None of us could get them to work consistantly...especially saddle packs.
johnnyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2007, 06:38 AM   #23
Tech Elite
Leodis's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,058
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)

I've had problems with my DPD not reading batteries every once in a while, but I just wipe some motor spray on the battery contacts and that usually fixes the problem. If it doesn't, I throw the pack on the charger for a couple minutes and then the DPD will recognize the battery. Other than that, I'm very happy with my DPD and it's one of those rare RC purchases where I feel like I got my money's worth.
Leodis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2007, 07:27 PM   #24
Tech Elite
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,202
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)

Originally Posted by Leodis View Post
Other than that, I'm very happy with my DPD and it's one of those rare RC purchases where I feel like I got my money's worth.
i hate to say it guys, but i agree with Leodis totally.
and i use it to discharge both saddle and ladder packs.
occassionally it fails to detect the pack, but shifting the packs around the pin always seem to solve it.
wyl03 is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!!! ESC Issue Chris__RC Electric Off-Road 6 08-31-2008 12:31 PM
XXX-S Issue Sweeney921 Electric On-Road 18 01-22-2007 07:07 AM
DPD issue Racingfreak6 Electric On-Road 5 01-01-2007 08:56 AM
Trinity DPD issue jeffbhhs Electric On-Road 10 12-30-2006 01:52 AM
OS .12 5p issue Black_Widow Nitro On-Road 4 12-18-2006 09:19 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:17 PM.

Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0