Wiki Posts
Search

First buggy "Need Help"

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2006, 04:58 PM
Tech Rookie

Default First buggy "Need Help"

Hey guys,

I'm looking to buy my first entry level off road buggy, I've been looking around now for a week and I’m having trouble deciding between "GS Avenger RTR w/B03D & TG3" and the "XTM XT2 (X-Terminator 2) 1/8 RTR".

I can get both of these for the same price "$400 Aus"; however my lack of knowledge is making it hard for me to choose one. I’ve found a lot of good reviews on both of the pro versions of the 2, however nothing on these models in particular.

Any information or advice you could give me would be a great help.

Cheers,

Centy
Old 10-06-2006, 04:03 PM
Tech Adept

I'm in a similar boat to you as well. Thinking about getting back into nitro for the occasional bash and these two seem to be the cheapest way in. Like you I haven't been able to find too much info on either. I'm no expert on the topic but this is what I've found so far.

There is a review of the XTM at rcuniverse.com. But keep in mind this is the american version which I think comes with a different engine. In Oz, the XTM comes with a Force branded motor which depending on who you talk to is a good value entry level motor, or a completely unreliable waste of money.

You can also download the manual from http://oos.modelengines.com.au/comma...key=meng&f_id=[INVALID%20FORM%20VAR]&itemid=GV-XT2

I think the XTM has threaded shocks (so you can adjust ride height) and has a bit more ground clearance than the GS which I like. However the one thing that I don't like about it is that it has a planetary gear diff which looks a bit weak compared to the normal spider gear diff you find in pretty much everything else (personally a bit wary of diff problems after previously having a HPI MT2).